We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21485 NW - 27 Avenue, Miami Gardens, FL 33056   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save Up to 50%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miami Gardens
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was exactly what we wanted for our stay in the North Miami area. We chose this hotel for the price, location, and overall customer satisfaction for the hotel. The staff was very friendly, parking was not a problem, and we had a wonderful experience. We would gladly choose this hotel again for our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the nice response and expressing your good experience you had at our hotel. We are grateful for the review and look forward to your return. It was our pleasure having you.

Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    62
    45
    25
    52
See reviews for
67
58
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Double Oak, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was in room 612 for BCS champ weekend. Our stay was excellent. The
room was nice for my brother and I and the walk was great to the
stadium. Everything was "as advertised". I made my reservation back in
April since I was not affiliated with either of the teams. The walk to Sun Life took 22 minutes. Walk to casino took about 6 minutes. On BCS weekend, this hotel was the hub of local activity (not including the stadium parking lots, of course). StubHub pickup table was set up in hotel driveway starting early morning on game day. Live band followed and overall a great game day atmosphere. Loved the 9th floor sports bar. The staff was EXCELLENT. Yes, it's an older hotel and I must say my shower drained slower than I would have liked. Not much around if you don't have a car (KFC was a 10 minute walk). No other food places close. But AC worked great, view from balcony was awesome, and facility was aged but up to par. I was concerned looking at some of the reviews. But with some people so picky and others quick to complain, you have to wonder. I'll just say this: If you are going to an event at Sun Life, you don't want to drive, you enjoy playing slots and you want an excellent sports bar on site, stay here. Cab fare was $41 back to FLL airport....about 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
It is a pleasure to read your review and have you express such true things. Your review hits things head on and is most helpful for future guests to be educated. We thank you for taking the time to post and we hope you visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

All if the above and even provided a shuttle to and from the game at a reasonable price! I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to attend a game at Sun Life Stadium. You also ate in walking distance to the casino and horse race track . Great experience and a great time. ROLL TIDE!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Great! Great! and Great!! This is what we like to hear. Sincere thanks from the entire El Palacio Staff. We love to hear of this success. Hope to see you visit us again.

Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A friend & I stayed here while in town for the BCS National Championship. We chose this hotel based on proximity to Sun Life Stadium. When we arrived we saw fans of both teams everywhere. There was live music in the drop off area. We were given a welcome package of oranges, postcards, chocolate, honey, & a sun visor. There was a vendor in the lobby selling game merchandise & drinks were also available. Right away just a fun, welcoming atmosphere. The rooms were basic hotel rooms but certainly had everything we needed & were clean. The bathroom was well stocked with namebrand toiletries. We did not go to the breakfast area. Legends Sports Bar was nice to grab a drink & enjoy the view but food service was slow. The pool area was clean & relaxing. The minigolf area is nicely landscaped & just on the other side of palm trees from the pool. It is a very short drive to the stadium. When we returned from the game it was very late. We were pleased to see security both in the parking lot & in the elevator. The staff at the El Palacio was very friendly & helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for all the great compliments. The staff enjoyed the many guests. We had a great time for the BCS Championship game and we look forward to future games. It was our pleasure having you here at El Palacio Sports Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I returned home (Fort Lauderdale) from a two nights stay for the BCS Championship game. I booked this room a few months ago, not knowing at the time if Notre Dame would be invited to the BCS game. I wanted a place to stay as close to the Sun Life Stadium as possible and your hotel was selected after my Google search. After reading the reviews of the hotel, I was scared for my life, as well as my friends, that also stayed with you from South Bend, Indiana. Reviewers said they were robbed, the hotel was dirty and needed a face-lift; we talked to numerous people that live here who have stayed with you – all with negative remarks. Nothing could have been further from the truth.

Our room was wonderful (#108) and the excitement with StubHub and the Police being right across the hall from our room was incredible. The hot tub was the deciding factor after viewing the room selection and the fact that we could get a ground floor smoking room with a terrace was made to order. The staff was so patient and friendly and even tried to boost our spirits as we were leaving, knowing we were the losing team. I can’t say enough good things about El Palacio.

I am a Hampton Inn lover; these were the best three days we’ve had at a hotel that wasn’t a Hampton. I highly recommend El Palacio.

Room Tip: Ground floor w/terrace, hot tube in room for smokers - made to order!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for this great review. The staff appreciates your kind words. We are glad to see what an awesome time you had and that we met your needs. We look forward to your return visits.

Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews, but we had a great 3-day stay at this hotel for the Orange Bowl. We had a standard double room. It was a bit outdated (old furniture, no flat-screen TV, etc.) but our room was very clean and had the basic amenities (TV, HBO, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, iron, alarm). There was plenty of space to hand clothes, but that area is open, with no doors, so anyone who enters sees all the clothing. My biggest disappointment was that I couldn't get the wi-fi to work, even after calling the front desk, and other guests said they had the same problem. It seemed like the cleaning crews were waiting to get clean linens and towels from the laundry, but they were good about bringing more towels to the room when they were ready (still warm from the dryer!).

Some of the common areas are a bit worn-down, for example, there were stains on the hallway carpets. But everything was clean, and there seemed to be plenty of help on hand. The manager was very active, checking in with his workers, staying on top of a busy game day weekend, and talking with guests. Two people were in the breakfast area, keeping everything stocked and clean. I found all the hotel workers to be very friendly and helpful, which is a bit unusual in Miami for the most part. The continental breakfast was above average... there was yogurt and whole fruit in addition to the usual breads & cereals. Plus... real orange juice... not watered down punch.

The hotel charged a "resort fee" which seemed a little silly... there's a standard pool, a couple of basketball courts and a few holes of miniature golf. They also charged extra for the safe in the room, even though they didn't ask whether or not you wanted one.

We didn't eat or drink in the sports bar, but we checked out the great view of the Calder horsetrack. We didn't want to mess with parking or traffic, so we walked to the Orange Bowl in Sun LIfe stadium. It was a long walk.. took us 20-30 minutes ... along a busy road without sidewalks in some parts, but to me it was worth it to avoid paying to park and getting stuck in the post-game exit rush. The neighborhood was just a bit iffy to walk through after dark, but we felt safe because there were so many cars and people around due to the game.

Room Tip: Standard rooms overlook the parking lot, while upgraded rooms overlook the pool and racetrack. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
From all the staff here at El Palacio Sports Hotel we are delighted that your stay was a success and thank you for this great review. It is our pleasure to serve you and hope to see you back in the near future. BCS was a blast and we all enjoyed the guests and festivities.

Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I brought out my business part from San Diego, CA on short notice and placed him here off of past experience of my friends staying with no problem. But on this business venture, after a night of hard work, my business partner went to go sleep and there were roaches in the room. Even though they moved him, there should be no reason to have any infestation in the rooms if you could get your parking lot repainted. The rooms should be the main priority, because that is where the customers are sleeping. My business partner did not receive any sleep due to the fact that he had to wake up out of his sleep with roaches all around him, and that cause us time, potiential business business owners, and money. I felt extremely awful after waking up in my house to hear that my business partner did not receive the same rest. Thank you for the short stay. We will never book here again.

Room Tip: Ask if they are infested, how clean the room really is, etc. They most likely would not tell you the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
This review is absolutley rediculous. Our facility is cleaned, exterminated, and well maintained. We have a weekly pest control service. We are not infested and it is insulting when untrue reviews as your is posted. Bugs exist. A roach could of been seen. Roaches, ants, mosquitos, and other insects do exists in the real world. We apologize for the uncomfortable stay because you saw a cockroach in South Florida. By all means your room was not infested.

Sincerely
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 21485 NW - 27 Avenue, Miami Gardens, FL 33056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miami Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palacio Sports Hotel is The Very Best Among Miami Budget Hotels El Palacio Sports Hotel and Conference Center is the closest Hotel To Calder Casino & Race Course and Sun Life Stadium in the City of Miami Gardens, Florida. Our Miami Gardens hotel is a mile from Sun Life Stadium, which hosts sporting, music and entertainment events all year long. From your room you can look right down onto the Calder Casino & Race Course. If you're searching for Miami hotel accommodations that are as close as possible to the sports you like, look no further. El Palacio Sports Hotel and Conference Center is the only name you need to know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Sports Hotel Miami Gardens
El Palacio Sports Hotel And Conference Center
El Palacio Sports Miami
El Palacio Hotel
Hotel El Palacio Sports

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.