We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21485 NW - 27 Avenue, Miami Gardens, FL 33056   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miami Gardens
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Fun stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A friend & I stayed here while in town for the BCS National Championship. We chose this hotel based on proximity to Sun Life Stadium. When we arrived we saw fans of both teams everywhere. There was live music in the drop off area. We were given a welcome package of oranges, postcards, chocolate, honey, & a sun visor. There was a vendor in the lobby selling game merchandise & drinks were also available. Right away just a fun, welcoming atmosphere. The rooms were basic hotel rooms but certainly had everything we needed & were clean. The bathroom was well stocked with namebrand toiletries. We did not go to the breakfast area. Legends Sports Bar was nice to grab a drink & enjoy the view but food service was slow. The pool area was clean & relaxing. The minigolf area is nicely landscaped & just on the other side of palm trees from the pool. It is a very short drive to the stadium. When we returned from the game it was very late. We were pleased to see security both in the parking lot & in the elevator. The staff at the El Palacio was very friendly & helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for all the great compliments. The staff enjoyed the many guests. We had a great time for the BCS Championship game and we look forward to future games. It was our pleasure having you here at El Palacio Sports Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    52
    29
    57
See reviews for
84
69
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I returned home (Fort Lauderdale) from a two nights stay for the BCS Championship game. I booked this room a few months ago, not knowing at the time if Notre Dame would be invited to the BCS game. I wanted a place to stay as close to the Sun Life Stadium as possible and your hotel was selected after my Google search. After reading the reviews of the hotel, I was scared for my life, as well as my friends, that also stayed with you from South Bend, Indiana. Reviewers said they were robbed, the hotel was dirty and needed a face-lift; we talked to numerous people that live here who have stayed with you – all with negative remarks. Nothing could have been further from the truth.

Our room was wonderful (#108) and the excitement with StubHub and the Police being right across the hall from our room was incredible. The hot tub was the deciding factor after viewing the room selection and the fact that we could get a ground floor smoking room with a terrace was made to order. The staff was so patient and friendly and even tried to boost our spirits as we were leaving, knowing we were the losing team. I can’t say enough good things about El Palacio.

I am a Hampton Inn lover; these were the best three days we’ve had at a hotel that wasn’t a Hampton. I highly recommend El Palacio.

Room Tip: Ground floor w/terrace, hot tube in room for smokers - made to order!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for this great review. The staff appreciates your kind words. We are glad to see what an awesome time you had and that we met your needs. We look forward to your return visits.

Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews, but we had a great 3-day stay at this hotel for the Orange Bowl. We had a standard double room. It was a bit outdated (old furniture, no flat-screen TV, etc.) but our room was very clean and had the basic amenities (TV, HBO, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, iron, alarm). There was plenty of space to hand clothes, but that area is open, with no doors, so anyone who enters sees all the clothing. My biggest disappointment was that I couldn't get the wi-fi to work, even after calling the front desk, and other guests said they had the same problem. It seemed like the cleaning crews were waiting to get clean linens and towels from the laundry, but they were good about bringing more towels to the room when they were ready (still warm from the dryer!).

Some of the common areas are a bit worn-down, for example, there were stains on the hallway carpets. But everything was clean, and there seemed to be plenty of help on hand. The manager was very active, checking in with his workers, staying on top of a busy game day weekend, and talking with guests. Two people were in the breakfast area, keeping everything stocked and clean. I found all the hotel workers to be very friendly and helpful, which is a bit unusual in Miami for the most part. The continental breakfast was above average... there was yogurt and whole fruit in addition to the usual breads & cereals. Plus... real orange juice... not watered down punch.

The hotel charged a "resort fee" which seemed a little silly... there's a standard pool, a couple of basketball courts and a few holes of miniature golf. They also charged extra for the safe in the room, even though they didn't ask whether or not you wanted one.

We didn't eat or drink in the sports bar, but we checked out the great view of the Calder horsetrack. We didn't want to mess with parking or traffic, so we walked to the Orange Bowl in Sun LIfe stadium. It was a long walk.. took us 20-30 minutes ... along a busy road without sidewalks in some parts, but to me it was worth it to avoid paying to park and getting stuck in the post-game exit rush. The neighborhood was just a bit iffy to walk through after dark, but we felt safe because there were so many cars and people around due to the game.

Room Tip: Standard rooms overlook the parking lot, while upgraded rooms overlook the pool and racetrack. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
From all the staff here at El Palacio Sports Hotel we are delighted that your stay was a success and thank you for this great review. It is our pleasure to serve you and hope to see you back in the near future. BCS was a blast and we all enjoyed the guests and festivities.

Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I brought out my business part from San Diego, CA on short notice and placed him here off of past experience of my friends staying with no problem. But on this business venture, after a night of hard work, my business partner went to go sleep and there were roaches in the room. Even though they moved him, there should be no reason to have any infestation in the rooms if you could get your parking lot repainted. The rooms should be the main priority, because that is where the customers are sleeping. My business partner did not receive any sleep due to the fact that he had to wake up out of his sleep with roaches all around him, and that cause us time, potiential business business owners, and money. I felt extremely awful after waking up in my house to hear that my business partner did not receive the same rest. Thank you for the short stay. We will never book here again.

Room Tip: Ask if they are infested, how clean the room really is, etc. They most likely would not tell you the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
This review is absolutley rediculous. Our facility is cleaned, exterminated, and well maintained. We have a weekly pest control service. We are not infested and it is insulting when untrue reviews as your is posted. Bugs exist. A roach could of been seen. Roaches, ants, mosquitos, and other insects do exists in the real world. We apologize for the uncomfortable stay because you saw a cockroach in South Florida. By all means your room was not infested.

Sincerely
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

It was ok if your in Miami for shopping didn't spend much time in room but loved location easy access to the shopping areas friendly staff loved the continental breakfast and free wifi checking in and out was no hassle so it was ok for my first time in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your experience at our hotel. We get lots of shoppers that enjoy this location because it is convenient and easy to access the 2 major highways right out our back door. We appreciate the comments on our breakfast as well. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I read alot of reviews before we decided on this one. Location was perfect.. We went to a Miami game. Had a great view from the balcony . Staff was helpful and friendly. The bed was not that great but i must say...everything else was!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Guest,
We are thrilled to hear you got past some of these bad reviews and came to experience our hotel for yourself. We are thankful for the review you have posted. We have awesome views of the track, stadium, and also from our 9th floor balcony at Legends Grill. Thanks again for your kind words and expressing your experience. We look forward to your future return.

Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My experience with this hotel put me off of being in Miami. After only one day of having housekeeping come to my room, I had all of my medications, which were left out, disappear. Upon reporting this to management, I was told that none of the housekeeping staff had entered the room (even though the beds were made up and the towels had been replaced). Management was not helpful at all, the hotel had a musty odor, the bedspreads were from the 70's, and the room was just had a raunchy feel to it. I would not recommend this hotel at all and hope that it falls into ruin.

Room Tip: Never go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
After investigating your claims and following up with housekeeping management we have not been able to validate any medications were stolen. We do apologize for the expressed horrible stay and horrible management and will move forward in correcting these issues you have written.

Sincerely
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 21485 NW - 27 Avenue, Miami Gardens, FL 33056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miami Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palacio Sports Hotel is The Very Best Among Miami Budget Hotels El Palacio Sports Hotel and Conference Center is the closest Hotel To Calder Casino & Race Course and Sun Life Stadium in the City of Miami Gardens, Florida. Our Miami Gardens hotel is a mile from Sun Life Stadium, which hosts sporting, music and entertainment events all year long. From your room you can look right down onto the Calder Casino & Race Course. If you're searching for Miami hotel accommodations that are as close as possible to the sports you like, look no further. El Palacio Sports Hotel and Conference Center is the only name you need to know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Sports Hotel Miami Gardens
El Palacio Sports Hotel And Conference Center
El Palacio Sports Miami
El Palacio Hotel
Hotel El Palacio Sports

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.