We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Football game weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21485 NW - 27 Avenue, Miami Gardens, FL 33056   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miami Gardens
Navarre, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Football game weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to Sun Life Stadium since we were going to the NE Patriots v Miami Dolphins game on Sunday 12/1. We arrived mid-afternoon Saturday and checked in fairly quickly. Since we had a while to wait before meeting friends for supper, we went to "Legends", the sports bar/grill on the 9th floor for a couple of appetizers to tide us over. The prices were within reason and the food we had was decent "pub-grub" fare. In the morning, the continental breakfast was minimal - small Danish pastries, toast and bagels.

The room was standard, nothing special, but certainly not awful. Nice view of the racetrack and we enjoyed watching the horses exercise early on Sunday morning. There is a shuttle to and from the stadium for $15.00 per person r/t. We decided to walk - be advised there are no sidewalks, which could be a problem if you are not wearing sturdy shoes, or if you are trying to walk there with young children.

Overall, for the location and convenience, our stay at the El Palacio was good value for money, and we would stay again the next time we go to a game at Sun Life Stadium.

Room Tip: We liked the racetrack view and enjoyed watching the horses in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Football Guests,
Thank you for posting a review on the experience you had at our hotel. During our busy football seasons we do our best to accommodate the heavy crowds and guests concerns. We are glad over all your experience was a good one and hope to see you back next year for more football fun.

Thank you
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    54
    41
    21
    50
See reviews for
69
61
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
islands9
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the El Palacio Hotel Nov.10th and Nov.11th, 2012. We generally take this weekend getaway every Fall so that we can attend both a Calder Racetrack meet as well as a Miami Dolphins football game. We've always loved these yearly stays, and this one was no different. Check- in was a breeze, and our trackside room was perfect. (Thanks to Joanie Ross, the sales manager,for accommodating our room choice!) We so enjoyed watching the horses working out in the mornings and viewing the Sun Life Stadium's lights and action in the evenings.
Each night, after a fun-filled day, we ambled upstairs to the hotel's top floor Legend Sports Bar/Restaurant where we could relax and socialize with the other guests while enjoying the picturesque views of the Miami skyline, the Sunlife Stadium, and the Calder Racetrack. We also caught up on the other sports' events and scores on the number of TV's in the area. The welcoming Legends' staff made us feel at home and served excellent drinks and food.
We will definitely return next year..... The El Palacio deserves the name of "Sports Hotel"; It's a 10 minute walk to the track , and the ride to the stadium is 10 minutes as well. (The hotel sponsors a shuttle service to and from the game.....HOW CONVENIENT!)
Terry and Brenda T

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guests(Terry & Brenda),
Thank you so much for the great review and all the kind words you have expressed with our hotel staff. It is our pleasure to have you two visit our hotel and look forward to many more fun times.

Sincerely
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Front desk staff was absurd! We had to wait until the kid at the front desk was finished doing something on his phone before he began our check in process. When he was finished with our paperwork, he sat back down and picked up his phone. We had to ask him if he was finished with us. He did not direct us to our room or thank us...nothing! It was absolutely ridiculous. The hotel bar, Legends, was a joke. The drinks were way overpriced and the service was terrible. After tipping 20% on the first night there, we noticed the following night that a 15% gratuity was added. After questioning the manager as to why a gratuity was added on a party of 3, her response was: "A lot of Europeans travel here and they don't tip, so it's a policy in Miami to do that." Bull...there is no such policy, I've lived in Miami for 15 years and I've never seen this anywhere else! And every establishment I've ever been in that DID add gratuity, there were signs posted to make me aware of it. I asked the front desk clerk if she by chance knew the hours of operation and the Calder Casion, and her response was: "no, you'll have to look it up." For a hotel that boasts being so close to this attraction, you would think they would make an effort to be able to answer a question like that...very poor hospitality!! Rooms were dirty...the towels had hair that CLEARLY was not mine all over them. One of the biggest reasons we booked this hotel was so that our large party could take the FREE shuttle from the hotel to the stadium (as advertised)...however, there was no FREE shuttle, it was $15 PER person. We ended up having to drive 3 vehicles and pay $25 per car for parking. Overall, a horrible experience at this hotel. Will never go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Guest,
The hotel apologizes for the terrible things you have expressed. We take any and all problems serious and move forward to fix them. I would like to clarify that we do not advertise free shuttle anywhere on the websites. It says shuttle service with a fee.

Thank you
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Gardens hotels

East Hampton, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the El Palacio on November 10th & 11th of this month. It was awful. We had been there about 10 years ago and it's obvious that the place is being run down to the ground. In actuality, this "hotel" is now a low rent housing complex that gives low/no priority to hotel guests. One tenant expressed annoyance at the few guests there for the football game who slowed down the elevator process. Getting someone on the phone for anything was impossible. The room had a poorly written letter "greeting" the "guests" and complaining that their "guests" are leaving cigarette butts everywhere. The "continental" breakfast was so lame that I was embarassed to try what litle was there. The Sports Bar on th 9th floor was so un-inspiring (on Game Day!!!) simply because there are no hotel guests staying there. This from the "hotel" closest to the stadium is a travesty. The one positive note was that the female bartender was friendly, efficient and available. Too bad she was working with a depleting stock (no Kahlua, no Baily's, etc.) Shame on the owner of this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Guest,
Sorry for the aweful time you have expressed during a busy football weekend. Our hotel is well maintained and been owned and operated this way for over 8 years. I do not feel we are run down however do feel that there are always room for improvements. With our economy suffering we have offered and maintain several long term guests. We really feel it is a great help to people that just cant afford housing. With that said it has not affected our hotel guests in any negative way. The 9th floor is an awesome view overlooking the stadium and race track and feel people express how much great fun and food we have to offer. Continental breakfast is offered complimentary to our guests. Sorry you feel nothing was up to your standards and apologize again for the uncomfortable stay expressed.

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Called front desk and housekeeping to get more than two tiny towels. 20 minutes on hold never answered. Hair dryer blew up smoke and all and could not get anyone. We stayed here a few years ago under different management and it was great. It's been an hour on hold Nd it just keeps looping. This place is not safe. I always try to work it out before giving any negative review. But apparently that's impossible

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
After viewing and investigating the complaints I first would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. The hairdryer in the room was looked at but not found to be "blown Up" and during the time here there were two desk agents working to assist the phone and guest issues and needs. We have been under the same owners/management for over 8 years. Again sorry for the problems you have expressed.

Sincerely
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you are looking for friendly service, clean atmosphere and spacious rooms, then El Palacio Sports Hotel is the one for you. I have stayed at this hotel on 3 separate occasions and have been pleased with each return. My stay at El Palacio was a great one. I met friendly staff and a warm welcoming atmosphere. The room and surroundings were clean and welcoming. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
A sincere thanks for the kind response you have posted. We look forward to your future visits.
The staff enjoys to hear these kind encouraging words.

Sincere Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for the Dolphins/Rams game in october.Never again. Rude reception staff,highly skilled at deflecting any complaint whatsoever.We had originally booked a 'radecourse view'room but were put on the noisy motorway side of the hotel.Becase we had"broken the seal"on the room they told us we would have to put up with it.How else were we going to find out we had the wrong room,if we didn't enter it??? Anyway we rise the next morning,giving the paltry looking breakfast a wide berth,and head off to the game.Seven77777 hours later we return to an unmade room.I attend reception to in form them--they say the maid is on that floor cleaning the rooms-i scoured the floor level for the maid only to find her coming out of the lift from another floor--she informs me that she had been instructed NOT to clean that particular room by reception.Me back to reception.They hand me the passcard to another room so we could move there because it was too late now for the room to be made-up.And the cheeky B*****D on reception informs me i only have ten mins to give my approval for the new room or the offer will be withdrawn!!! It's no doubt,a great location for dolphins games(There is nowhere else) but i think they could try so much harder to make their customers welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William21485, General Manager at El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Coventry wanderer,
I have tried to find your name and room number to better understand your complaint. I will apologize right away for the inconveniences you have expressed. I do however wish I could have solved the problem when you were here and properly handled your complaints. I want to stress that the only reason a housekeeper will not clean a room is if a DND sign is placed on the door. As far as breaking a seal in a room I am not sure how to respond to that because there are no seals to break. We use key cards. I didn’t understand what a cheeky B*****D is?? Please except our apology for the inconveniences you have expressed.

Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 21485 NW - 27 Avenue, Miami Gardens, FL 33056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miami Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palacio Sports Hotel is The Very Best Among Miami Budget Hotels El Palacio Sports Hotel and Conference Center is the closest Hotel To Calder Casino & Race Course and Sun Life Stadium in the City of Miami Gardens, Florida. Our Miami Gardens hotel is a mile from Sun Life Stadium, which hosts sporting, music and entertainment events all year long. From your room you can look right down onto the Calder Casino & Race Course. If you're searching for Miami hotel accommodations that are as close as possible to the sports you like, look no further. El Palacio Sports Hotel and Conference Center is the only name you need to know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Sports Hotel And Conference Center
El Palacio Sports Hotel Miami Gardens
El Palacio Sports Miami
El Palacio Hotel
Hotel El Palacio Sports

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palacio Sports Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.