We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THE QUALITY THEY OFFER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvano

Sylvano
1925 Liberty Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (West Avenue)
(305) 673-3959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 829 restaurants in Miami Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: West Avenue
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THE QUALITY THEY OFFER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The pastas are indicent, way too much sauce and over cooked. The veal tastes like beef. The desserts are always the same, don't order the strudel!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    74
    34
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Sylvano's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent Memorial Day week in Miami with friends. We stayed at the Riviera Suites Hotel (which was amazing). Our balcony overlooked this hidden gem in Miami. I visit Miami every year and we are always looking for a great place to eat, off Ocean Drive where all the noise and $27 drinks are. I will just say this. Go to Sylvano's. I will be back year after year for sure! Food was amazing, people/staff were so friendly, service was great! I am Italian, I take pride in an Italian dinner... this was by far, one of the best meals I have had out. And I have been to Rome, Naples and the Amalfi coast. I felt like I took a trip to Italy inside Sylvano's. Thank you for a great meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food, Off the Beaten Path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel staff recommended this restaurant which is a block to the west of Collins Ave. and three and one-half blocks north of Lincoln Road without the Lincoln Road or Beach Drive prices. Because of the humidity, we sat inside rather than eating outside. We each had a different dish which included pasta and a type of fish. The food was excellent and the service friendly and timely. We had cocktails and shared a bottle of wine which was the perfect accompaniment to the meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beware....Pay ONLY with cash”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My advice to anyone considering dining at this restaurant is to PAY WITH CASH. We payed our bill with a credit card and left our server a +20% cash tip. It wasn't until we returned home and I jumped online to do a quick reconciliation of our debit charges, that I realized our card was run though a second time adding $20.00 on to our total. This is incredibly disappointing to me as we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, and we left a very generous CASH tip. Had this not occurred, this review would have been very different. Needless to say, we will not be returning to or recommending Sylvano's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Locals or Tourists.....all are welcome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was staying across the street and attending an exhibition so it was the perfect solution after a busy day on your feet when you wanted good quality food at reasonable prices.
I had 3 meals in 6 days and I have to say I was not disappointed once either by the quality of the food, the service or the bill.
I feel that I have to counter the previous review by saying that as a tourist I did not feel unwelcome in fact the opposite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvano also viewed

 

Been to Sylvano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.