We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temple of noise and smoke” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Miccosukee Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Miccosukee Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 SW 177 Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33194   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Temple of noise and smoke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Since all hotels in the Miami Area were booked, we ended up in this awful casino hotel. You enter a huge hall with loads of slot machines, a horrible permanent noise, people drinking and smoking everywhere in a place that hasn't seen much remodeling since it started out in the 1970's. The reception staff did not seem to be very happy with their job, the only friendly staff was the female manager, the rest of the crew were very unwilling.
We had rooms on the 7th and 8th floor, which were updated, with a new bath room and a good comfortable bed. WiFi was included, but to retrieve username and password was solely possible through very unfriendly reception staff.
The inside pool was closed and the gym consisted of a treadmill, one cross trainer and a weight tower. Though in southern Florida they did not have an outside pool.
The Hotel is in the middle of nowhere and a car is a must since there is no infrastructure whatsoever around.
You want to go there only for gambling, smoking and drinking. Horrible place.

Room Tip: 7th and 8th floors only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    40
    17
    26
See reviews for
24
41
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Miccosukee because it was close to the Everglades and seemed to get the best rating in the area. Stay away! The smoke is awful everywhere. Our room was a non-smoking room but you could still smell it in the room and on the pillows. Every common area allows smoking, so the martini bar is smoke-filled. They boast 5 restaurants- all are awful except for maybe the most expensive one. The rooms are very worn- don't look too closely at the bathroom door or doorjams. The elevator carpets are stained too. Our coffee maker still had something (we were afraid to look) in it. One of the worst things was the sheets- we had a king sized bed and the there were no fitted sheets. They used a flat sheet that didn't even fit the mattress on the bottom, so my feet were touching the mattress pad all night. I think the sheets were for a queen sized bed. The wireless internet is also not free and you have to call the desk and sign up for it every 24 hrs. The only redeeming quality other than the location and proximity to the Everglades, was the staff, who were all very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Miccosukee Resort and Conference Center is actual a gaming hotel. All you will ever experience is hundreds of geeky machines for gaming enthusiasts. That is gaming like Vegas, not like video games.

When you enter the reception area, the first thing you will notice is the smell of cigarette smoke. It’s just like being back to a 90s party. The next thing you will notice is the tivoli-like sound from the machines. There must be a huge squad of security “guards” in the hotel. At the back side of the building I noticed eight (!) police cars.

We travelled with kids at headed straight for the pool. Three guards told us to keep the kids at the correct side of a line. If the kids made a short cut through the gaming zone, they would almost be arrested. No worries, the kids did fine and are still alive.

The room was standard and okay. We didn’t expect a hotel with charm, and we didn’t get that either.

The world of gaming is an unknown world for me, but it was interesting to observe the players. I would never have guessed this is where the old ladies with purple hair would be.

Parking facilities are great, and it is easy to locate the hotel. We arrived late and left early next morning. It was a practical and user-friendly stay in a strange little world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The only real redeeming quality is the rooms, which are nice if you get Exec level and up. Slots are Class 2 which means not real Vegas style so not nearly as exciting. Restaurant food was barely edible. Service was curt at best, borderline rude. Officers and security watching you everywhere, also a bit off putting. Would not stay here again, find something else.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel was ideally placed for our purposes; having arrived on a transatlantic cruise and wanted to see the Alligators in the Everglades, the hotel was ideally placed.
I will be quite honest with my review:
1. Value for money - overpriced by at least $30 for the room (no breakfast).
2. The hotel is in essence a casino and you have to walk through it entering or exiting the hotel and it smells horribly of smoke as almost everyone is smoking in the casino.
3. Rooms clean, large and very functional, but tired.
4. Facilities- very good, pool, hot tub, gym and sauna - tired but again clean and functional.
5. Staff - excellent and welcoming. Nothing too much trouble.
6. Food - in one of the restaurants - A la Carte. Food Ok but served a little cold, but all round good value for money
Overall hotel needs updating and maybe smoking ban.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Me and my to children was on vacation from providenciales we had the best time of are life the room was so beautiful the kids love that the room had two beds in it and they love the clud egret fun and games and the daycare we got to see the famous alligator we visited the museum the airboat ride was lots of fun we ate at the empeeka aya it have tasty bites for the children open 24 hours cafe hammcckperfect a love the sea food and the empeeke aaweeke buffet is delicious i loe the lobster the night enterainment well you can dance the night away i did play a little jackpot games the staff was very nice

Room Tip: get room on the south side it quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My best friend's sisters were visiting from Texas and wanted to go to a nice hotel and gamble and also take in an airboat ride. We were able to do all of the above. We stayed in the Presidential Suite and it was beautiful. The airboat ride out at the reservation and the alligator wrestling was a lot of fun. Then we had the best lobster for a really really cheap price in one of their 3 restaurants. The day was finished off with gambling in the casino. It was a great getaway if you live in the South Florida area. It is a little known area because of the Seminole Hard Rock which offers the same accomodations for triple the price advertises more and is closer to the city. This place was extremely affordable. Be warned though if you do not like cigarette smoke you won't be happy.

Room Tip: Always upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miccosukee Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miccosukee Resort and Conference Center

Address: 500 SW 177 Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33194
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miccosukee Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel incorporating Art Deco & Miccosukee Indian styling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miccosukee Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miccosukee Hotel Miami Beach
Miccosukee Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miccosukee Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.