We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Roc Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Eden Roc Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eden Roc Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4525 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off!
Ranked #53 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Englewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Just came back from our weekend getaway. Arrived on Friday and stayed through the weekend. I have stayed at the Eden Roc Hotel about 5-6 years ago with my 2 teenage daughters and liked the hotel. Came back this time with hubby. Perfect time of year to visit - spring break crowds have already dispersed. The hotel has been renovated - all rooms are quite sleek and modern, even the old tower rooms. They have 2 or 3 heated pools in the lower area and one adult pool at their beachside bar and restaurant's rooftop. Currently undergoing construction - I believe its for their spa. OVerall a wonderful experience. A lot of people have complained about getting nickled and dimed but this is the general theme throughout Miami Beach. You typically just pay for your hotel room now - all the rest come at a price (Beach/pool towels however are still free!) - all these hotels also add on the gratuoity which ranges from 15-20% - so be careful of that. The same applies to SoBe restaurants too. My husband made a good observation when he said that the breakfast buffet really is the best deal - we paid more at some restaurants just for an appetizer, salad (shared) and a couple of drinks. SIgn of the times..... Glad we stayed at this hotel - would come back. Fitness cetner was a little cramped - hopefully they are moving the fitness center to the new Spa building thats under construcion... with ocean views perhaps??? One suggestion, check travel sites to get good deals. I got mine through Priceline - 3rd night was free. Another suggestion - you have to go to the Pelican Hotel's restaurant - minimal menu items but truly great food!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    905
    679
    296
    107
    88
See reviews for
436
588
64
412
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Our stay at the Eden Roc - April 21st - 25th was fabulous! Our room - on the 15th floor in the Ocean Tower was perfect! There was a nice lounge for 2 on the balcony where we enjoyed watching the sunrise, along with amazing views of the beach. There are 4 pools at this resort which meant we generally didn't have a problem getting a couple of lounges. All of the hotel staff we encountered were very nice. The location of the hotel is within the 45 block of Collins Ave so it is a significant walk if you wish to visit South Beach however, the bus service is fairly regular and inexpensive @ $2.00 per person. The boardwalk that runs between the hotels and the beach is great for a leisurely stroll or jogging. We loved our Eden Roc experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embarrass, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed over a long weekend from Thursday - Monday. I have nothing but good things to say about the Eden Roc. The service was exceptionally good. Even though I consider myself somewhat of a backwoods girl and I am easily intimidated by places like this, I never found myself in that situation at the Eden Roc when I encountered any staff. Everyone was very nice and Lucille, the concierge, was especially helpful. The pools were nice, lots of room to get a chair in the sun. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The Balconies were spacious with many good views. Gia restaurant breakfast brunch was delicious. My only complaint is that the rooms are just too spendy for me so I most likely won't be back....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

This is must be one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had:

Room:
Cleanliness not acceptable. At checkin room had leftover med pills from the previous guest on a chair, surfaces had spots, and visible dust. Bathroom ventilator not working. Furniture scruffed and dirty, stains on walls

Day cleaning insufficient. No cleaning on surfaces, incl bathroom ex. water spots mirrors, soap... just was dried not cleaned, no vacuuming..... ridicolous.

Service:

Bar staff was a joke. Uniforms all over the place. Everywhere you go staff is chewing gum. Front Desk, Restaurant, Pool. Its almost funny. Tatoos, pink fingernails, some
people shirts tucked in some not, some dirty, some clean. Staff is having a great time but guests get no service.

Asked for an adaptor over Hsk line. 12 rings, and the answer was: I would have to
check and get back to you. what????? isnt that the most common request in a hotel?
hsk called back: sorry we dont have one. Called back two minutes later: oh, if you want to get one you could go to ...name of store... and buy it for 35$. No names used ever no greeting. Just funny.

Front drive: Gave the ticket for the car to the doorman, answer: " you see this guy over there? go to him, he will hook you up?"
This is a true joke.

I am going to check out.Cant take it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Overall had a great stay at the Eden Roc. Some minor problems upon check in but they fixed the main one immediately, unfortunately the other could not be remedied, but was not a deal breaker. Loved the new layout of the pool and grounds, service at the pool bar was awesome food was great and a really good time was had by all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Very happy with service! Nice room with nice ocean view! The staff very friendly!!! Daily cleaning! Miami Beach.....excellent location! Amenities very trendy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Like another reviewer, my family was at the hotel during the Winter Music Festival. The pool was overrun with drunk, loud, cursing, inappropriately clad people. While the hotel can't help that its guest act this way, the setup of public events contributed to the problem. Tickets were sold at the hotel end of the pool area, and the music festival was at the other end, causing a constant parade of people throughout the pool area, many of whom were not guests and some of whom the hotel staff seemed to be inable to control. For our entire stay, significant public areas (pool, poolside garden, outdoor seating areas, etc.) were reserved for the conference. The lobby was unusable because of the loud music.

Another guest told me that a guy by the pool had his pants pulled down by a friend , exposing her 3 daughters to full frontal nudity. My husband saw a girl remove her top to be photographed poolside. I realize there are topless sunbathers in Miami, but this was lewd behavior. I expect a Marriott to have some control of its facility and standards of decorum for guests.

The staff was amazingly resiliant, in spite of the hotel being overrun and having deafening music in all public areas for all waking hours. The concierge, pool, security and desk staff tried very hard to accommodate us. I felt sorry for them all.


The public spaces in the building were dirty - the same scraps of paper, etc. were in the elevator lobby of the floor of our room for the entire 3 days. The rooms were not very well cleaned either.

It seemed as though many of the room amenities had been removed. Our room had a coffee table, but no chairs except a broken desk chair. Amenities listed on the web site had been removed from the room (smart thinking, given the crowd.)

Our door keys demagnetized over and over. All elevators failed in the middle of one day. The hot water went off for about 30 minutes one evening.

The spa construction taking place poolside added to the noise and general melee.

I'm disappointed that the hotel would book such an intrusive event and not warn the other guests.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Roc Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Roc Miami Beach

Address: 4525 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Roc Miami Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the world-renowned Miami Beach, Eden Roc Miami Beach embraces its role as a timeless treasure, yet welcomes guests with a gracious, new contemporary spirit. Guests can luxuriate in spacious rooms & suites, bask in the sun at one of four refreshing pools or claim a chaise lounge on the beach to watch the waves roll by. Enjoy 1500 Degrees, dine beachside in Cabana Beach Club, seen and be seen at the Lobby Bar and grab a little pick me up at Starbucks. Discover our sanctuary for your senses with the first ever ELLE SPA at this premier Miami Beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Eden Roc Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Resort And Spa
Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Renaissance Miami Beach
Miami Beach Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Roc Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.