We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resigned to mediocrity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Roc Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Roc Miami Beach to your Saves list
Eden Roc Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4525 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Resigned to mediocrity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

For $400 a night (inc. tax and fees) for the most basic room, you'd generally expect to be wowed by your hotel. Not so at the Eden Roc, where the resort seems to have resigned itself to being mediocre. Refurbished portions of the grounds are juxtaposed with older infrastructure, giving you the sense that the hotel had progressed part-way through a renovation, only to decide "this is good enough for now."

At a luxury hotel, it's the details that matter - you don't expect to be woken every morning by housekeeping staff talking in the corridor, to have your knees bashed by the poorly-fitted bed-boxes (several inches bigger than the mattress), or to go scavenging for soap for your bathroom. All relatively minor grumbles, but they add up to a 'meh' experience. My friend's room wasn't even made up one day, despite being out of her room by noon. A burger in the beachside cabana included one very dodgy looking piece of lettuce, which staff didn't pick up on, despite it being extracted and left on a separate plate.

Poolside is big - but a lot of concrete, with the shading from nearby buildings meaning that many areas don't get sun in the afternoon. A beachside bar area, complete with fireplaces and hammocks, promised to be a nice place to spend the evening - but was closed, even on a Friday night.

To the hotel's credit, the spa was quite possibly the best $25 I spent in my time in Miami - great facilities, with a fantastic 'VIP' terrace overlooking the pool area proving to be a nice place to retreat to during the day.

All-in-all though, not worth the $400 / night we paid. But the sad thing is that compared to other hotels in Miami, this is probably reflects a fair market price. That $400 only gets you this much in Miami is a sad reflection on the city as a holiday destination - I'd be far more inclined to visit another city in future, and get much more bang for my buck.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to par. We really appreciate the feedback because it is partners like yourself who truly help us improve each day. I will be sure to share this with the team, and if I can ever assist you with another reservation please feel free to email me at jmauer@destinationhotels.com - we would love to show you what a great hotel we really are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    822
    375
    144
    116
See reviews for
548
726
78
500
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I've stated in Miami and/or South Beach over ten times. I've stayed at 5,4, and 3 star hotels. Eden Roc was my absolute favorite. For starters, it's a resort ...big in size, but easy to navigate with soup to nuts service. It's bright, clean, and right on the beach. The lobby is gorgeous! I stayed in the ocean tower (newer) and I highly recommend it. The spa was beautiful.. A must! The food and drinks were really good. The staff at this hotel is top notch. All employees have positive attitudes and aim to please. The staff member that stood out to me the most was Sumaya, at the front desk (who was kind, helpful, and ensured I was a satisfied guest). She was wonderful and accommodating. Carlos, the waiter at the pool area, worked hard as well to ensure the guests were satisfied as well. Great job, Eden Roc! I will be back!

Room Tip: Stay in the newer tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
WOW! Favorite hotel in Miami, thank you! We really appreciate the kind words, especially from such a well-traveled person like yourself! I will make sure to let Sumaya and Carlos know how special you made their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

It's my 2nd time in Eden Roc Miami Beach (1st time was in 2011).
The Hotel has a good location, very friendly staff, clean and comfort room, great facilities (swimming pools, bar), direct access to the beach.
The atmosphere is great, the staff are all friendly and welcoming.
The only problem is that it is expenssive... i upgraded the room to an ocean view one with a balcony + parking + all the taxes and fees, it all came out to almost $500 per night.
Overall, i'm pretty sure that i will return to this hotel the next time i'm in Miami Beach !

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony !! It makes a big difference !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
So happy to hear that you will return! Thank you very much for the review of the Eden Roc Miami Beach and for letting us know how friendly and welcoming our staff are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Nice place, haven't been here since the recent renovations. Loved the room, directly on the ocean. Elevators were still old, but can't do much about them. Lobby bar was a great place to hang out. Service was good, everyone was very helpful went out of there way to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. Great place to stay for the brokerage show, boats directly across the street with bus stops available outside the front doors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Eden Roc Miami Beach. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us, especially for the Boat Show - perfect location! And yes, we still have the original elevators from when the hotel opened in 1956, some fun history! Hopefully we see you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has two towers, one new and one old. My room was in the old tower, not great but not bad. Everything but the TV seemed aged - not new but everything worked. The room was clean, fairly quiet, and the A/C made my teeth chatter before I turned it off. If you are looking for a hotel to attend a conference then this place is great. If you are looking to just relax in peace and quiet find another hotel. Many times several conferences are going on simultaneously. Conferences mean loads of people chattering, filling up the elevators and events at night where the music can be loud and play late into the night. This place has great pools and easy access to the beach which is wonderful. The staff in general was friendly enough, which is not the same as friendly. However, I found this to be the case in Miami period. The valet guys on the sidewalk and the maids had better mannerisms than the rest of the staff. If staying on business don't think twice. One more thing the cabs in Miami Beach only take cash, no credit cards, no Uber and no taxi magic.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Service: The desk was friendly at check-in, they upgraded us, which was nice, and probably made our experience what it was (for the better). The staff was very friendly and they really deserved an applause for a job well done.
Value: not great. The rooms are expensive, that's how it is, but the restaurant is also expensive, and the food is very average, nothing special at all. You also get charged $38/day for parking, which isn't advertised. It should be part of the resort fee. You pay a resort fee of 20ish$ which includes 2 bottles of water and beach chairs each day (no umbrella, that's extra$). So, essentially, if you use only the pools, you pay $10 for 2 bottles of water each day. The drinks are very expensive as well. My husband and I got a beer and mixed drink at the pool each day and it was $25 with tip. Be forewarned, they add tip to all bills. So, if your service was terrible, doesn't matter, they get their money either way.
Sleep quality/Rooms: beds were average, pillows smelled like someone's sweaty head, i couldn't use them. Fireworks went off at 1am one night and woke me out of a sound sleep. No warning from the hotel about that one. Definitely go for the new tower, if you don't mind paying extra money. It's closer to the beach, if you want a view. However, the rooms are very stale, nothing special.

When we arrived at lunchtime, there was a large crowd in the outside bar/restaurant and they actually told us that they could not seat us or accommodate us for lunch. Wow, what a first impression, a hotel that can't handle a crowd. We had a car, so luckily we could drive somewhere. If you are without a car there, you are very limited. Nothing within walking distance, other than more hotels.

On the positive side, they have 4 pools, no fighting for pool chairs, and plenty of options. The beach is nice as well. There is a lap pool if you enjoy doing some laps for exercise. They also have a nice fitness room, it has the essentials, and they have limited group classes/spinning. The boardwalk begins just past the hotel and takes you out to South Beach. We enjoyed running on it each morning. It turns into a cement sidewalk after a while but there are plenty of runners and walkers on it each morning and it goes on for a ways.

Overall, not sure we would stay here again. There are plenty of options in the area.

Room Tip: Ocean tower, facing the beach. Higher rooms have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My family (wife, almost 3 year old, and 9 month old) and I visited Eden Roc during the week of the Miami international boat show. Our visit was arranged by a AAA travel agent in a quick manner after we had to change our travel plans from Tampa due to inclement weather who recommended the hotel after she had some family members stay at the hotel.

Overall, we had a very nice time. Everything we would want in a resort was available to us, from nice pools, nice beach, and multiple food options. The hotel staff were helpful and professional in all matters. Our room was spacious, had nice linens, and was maintained well. A crib was provided to us without issue, and the empty mini fridge was very helpful to us with our kids.

I only have few issues with our stay, some of which we did not anticipate as we had not fully investigated the hotel or area. The food and drinks at the resort were more expensive than we were used to. This is likely the truth for us, as a young family, in most of Miami Beach however. One of the nights at the hotel there was an outdoor social occasion with loud music that lasted until after 11pm, which altered our sleep plans with young children. The location of the resort is also somewhat isolated in that there are not many other food, shopping, or other activity options within walking distance of the resort. Of the four pools at the resort, only one is sunny into the afternoon, which is the adult only pool.

I would to return to the resort for another vacation, but probably not with young kids.

Room Tip: Ocean tower rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Roc Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Roc Miami Beach

Address: 4525 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Roc Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront on Miami Beach, Eden Roc's captivating vibe pulses with a dynamic convergence of modern and classic, delivering the unexpected with a sophisticated and memorable experience. Beginning with the juxtaposition of the historic Legendary Tower with an ultramodern Ocean Tower, Eden Roc inventively merges the best aspects of yesterday with today, taking all to a daring new level of intensity. Located on Collins Ave. This resort flawlessly blends iconic Miami style with fabled glamour, offering 631 spacious guest rooms and suites, four exclusive pools, an iconic Lobby Bar and 70,000 sq. Ft. Of stylish indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. The Spa at Eden Roc, boasts a bevy of indulgent, luxurious treatments and signature services in a perfect harmony of style, service and serenity. Tempting all to come out and play, the revived Eden Roc ethos is ultra-now, pushing the envelope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Eden Roc Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance Miami Beach
Miami Beach Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Roc Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.