We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheaper alternative to Fontainebleu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Roc Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Roc Miami Beach to your Saves list
Eden Roc Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4525 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Savings: $120 Daily Value
Ranked #60 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A cheaper alternative to Fontainebleu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We called a week before our trip to see if we can get an early check-in guarantee, but the hotel staff said they wouldn't know until the day of. We arrived at the hotel early in the morning (8:00am), and was lucky to get an early check-in. The lobby only have valet service for your vehicles ($28/day, you can take your car out as many times as you want without an extra charge). Valet staff was really friendly, helped us with our luggage. The lobby looked really spacious and had a nice scent.

Location
- Fontainebleu was next to the hotel (which in my opinion had more restaurant options)
- Less than 10 minute drive to Lincoln Road Mall

Pro
- Rooms were spacious and clean.
- Bathrooms were clean, had double sink, an enclosed area for the toilet.
- Pools were beautiful, hotel had their own exclusive section of the beach. (Umbrellas were on rental for $18-whole day)

P.S: I had a bad sore throat during my stay. When we ordered room service breakfast for the first time, I ordered lemon and honey with hot water. They gave me two bottles of honey. On our second order of room service, I requested hot water, and the the hotel staff who took our order remember I had a sore throat, and gave me 6 bottles of honey and lemon. PROPS! :)

Con
- The restaurant in the hotel "15 Steps Restaurant" -My boyfriend, myself and two other hotel guests were waiting outside the restaurant (not knowing it wasn't opened yet for lunch). Receptionist stepped out after 5 minutes of waiting, had an unfriendly and cold attitude telling us that lunch isn't served for another 15 minutes. Given that the hotel did not have a wide selection of restaurants, and we wanted to eat close to the hotel, we went back after 15 minutes.

Overall, our stay was pleasant, hotel amenities were great except not a lot of dining options. I would recommend to anyone looking for cheaper alternative from Fontainebleau.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your very detailed review of the Eden Roc Miami Beach, and especially for those great pictures! We are so happy that our In Room Dining Staff were attentive to your needs and we hope you are feeling better! Thank you also for addressing the "con" you experienced - we will be sure to share this with our staff. Please come back soon, we would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    801
    363
    138
    111
See reviews for
532
705
76
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
228 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
503 helpful votes 503 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised. We had two adjoining rooms in the ocean tower. It was a low floor with a limited view but they don't have lots of connecting rooms in this new tower. Also, there are only 3 elevators for this 20 floor tower and it is not enough, so a low floor at least means less of a wait on the elevator. The rooms were fine. The hotel facilities are really good -- the gym is great; the spa was really good. Ivan was great at massage. The various pools were nice and warm water and the jacuzzi -- the kids liked them. Food and beverage was uniformly excellent. The buffet breakfast is one of the best of any hotels in the US -- 5 star or otherwise. Appeals to those with foreign and refined tastes and everything was fresh and interesting. Lunch at the beachfront cafe was also excellent and the interesting menu lived up to its promise. I asked for and got a late checkout at a nominal price. We would definitely return with kids.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the awesome review of the Eden Roc Miami Beach! It is awesome to hear that we have one of the best breakfast buffets in the US - what a compliment from such a well-traveled person! We can't wait to have you back, and we will be sure to tell Ivan you loved your massage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went in and was personally greeted by Mr. Riley Phillips.
Was there a previous time and our experience was a bit below average.
I mentioned this to Mr. Phillips on our way out and he invited us back, we had the most incredible experience!! The service was great our server was very knowledgeable and explained everything on the menu and chose great selections for us from the chefs tasting menu!!
Let me just say that we will definitely be back, the attention that Mr. Riley gave us we felt like V.I.P's and my wife had the best time the food and drinks we original and delicious!!
we give it 5 stars!! Thank you Mr. Riley Phillips for making our night so special!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review of 15 Steps at Eden Roc Miami Beach! We are so glad that you loved Riley! He truly is a super star! We hope you and your wife will join us again for another amazing experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach, fl.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

just got back from staying at the Edenrock with a friend. The hotel is large, contemporary and the room was very big. We stayed on the 14th floor so the view was lovely of the ocean. I am not a fan of glass in bathrooms...but it worked okay. I thought the shower/tub situation was wierd as there was no door on it and when you used the shower, everything got wet. Poor design! The beds were comfortable and the staff did seem pleasant. Went to the Fountainbleu next door and glad we were at the Edenrock which was much quieter and not as crowded...totally relaxing vs. being at the FB...different crowd. We had spa treatments which were nice also. I would stay there again for sure

Room Tip: we had room 1445 which had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your Miami getaway review of the Eden Roc Miami Beach. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and friendly staff. We can't wait until you are back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was at this hotel this past weekend and spent one of the days on the beach. Our server on the beach was Ashley and she did a wonderful job serving us. We had drinks and food and she was very accommodating and prompt with her service. She was also very congenial which made our beach day wonderful!! A++++ Service to Ashley!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
So happy you had a great beach day! We will make sure to let Ashley know how much you enjoyed her friendly attitude and helpful service! Thank you for your review of Eden Roc Miami Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Eden Roc is a beautiful property that is suffering from a change in management. The facilities are great, but the service is lacking.

I have stayed at this property a number of times and always thought very highly of the service. Now that Marriott is no longer handling the property everything has taken a step back.

The service from the valets, to the front desk, to the housekeeping teams is apathetic.

The restaurant staff is also struggling.

I understand that changing management is difficult, but this is ridiculous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not experience the luxury service that we do offer. We strive to be the best, and will be sure to share this information with our staff in hopes of getting better each day. We do hope you will return and enjoy our beautiful hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

In prior stays the hotel was run by Marriott. Stay was always pleasant and the hotel and staff was remarkable. This was our first stay since the hotel was no longer run by Marriott. Checked into room with one of the two bathroom lights and room refrigerator not working. Windows were filthy. Towels and other supplies were not sufficiently replenished. In the restaurants, servers were wonderful, but food was overpriced, menu was limited, and selection was poor. There was no place to get a quick, reasonably priced snack or drink. Work was being done to hotel, but it seemed interest was more around conventions than vacationers. Probably won't return. Took multiple calls to have things fixed or replaced. Just not a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Eden Roc Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear of some of your frustrations during your stay with us. Surely this does not meet our expectations and we will be sure to address these issues in a training environment. We do hope you decide to stay with us again and please feel free to contact me directly at jmauer@destinationhotels.com to assist with any reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Roc Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Roc Miami Beach

Address: 4525 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Roc Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront on Miami Beach, Eden Roc's captivating vibe pulses with a dynamic convergence of modern and classic, delivering the unexpected with a sophisticated and memorable experience. Beginning with the juxtaposition of the historic Legendary Tower with an ultramodern Ocean Tower, Eden Roc inventively merges the best aspects of yesterday with today, taking all to a daring new level of intensity. Located on Collins Ave. This resort flawlessly blends iconic Miami style with fabled glamour, offering 631 spacious guest rooms and suites, four exclusive pools, an iconic Lobby Bar and 70,000 sq. Ft. Of stylish indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. The Spa at Eden Roc, boasts a bevy of indulgent, luxurious treatments and signature services in a perfect harmony of style, service and serenity. Tempting all to come out and play, the revived Eden Roc ethos is ultra-now, pushing the envelope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Eden Roc Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance Miami Beach
Miami Beach Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Roc Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.