We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perplexing and inconsistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Roc Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Eden Roc Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Eden Roc Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4525 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Escape - 25% Off!
Ranked #45 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perplexing and inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The renovation of this hotel is magnificent, better in my opinion than that of the Fontainebleau next door. The staff was unfailingly polite and responsive. Our room in the Ocean Tower was beautiful with modern decor. We had an alcove where the desk was located. Most rooms in this tower don't have that alcove and are a bit crowded. There were two small closets but for some mysterious reason there was a hanging bar in only one of them. Combined with the existence of only two deep drawers, this was inadequate for a couple staying a week.

The most bizarre aspect of our stay was the housekeeping. We tip housekeeping staff generously and on a daily basis, so they usually like to work in our room. We got turn-down service the first night but not the second. We called the housekeeping supervisor and requested nightly service, a request that was repeated. Unfortunately we only ended up having turndown on 3 of our 7 nights.

Every Marriott in the US I have ever stayed at (we have been Gold for years) leaves newspapers at our door (usually choices of USA Today, local, and WSJ). We have local AND WSJ in our profile. We received one local paper and one USA Today in our seven days.

This hotel seems to have a very successful convention/trade show business. The meeting rooms are on the lobby level of the Ocean Tower so we were constantly darting in and out of human traffic to get to our room. The parking valet ($35/day) was excellent with in and out privileges and great service.

The only casual restaurant is outdoors (but covered) close to the beach.

I would have rated this hotel higher if it was a "work in progress" but the renovations are no longer new and it has been a Marriott property for several years. They should do a better job here.

But the room, the view, and the accomodating manner of the staff make up for a lot of sins, so I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean Tower has newer rooms, balconies with ocean view. The first room on the left after the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    815
    631
    264
    107
    77
See reviews for
384
535
61
385
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great service, clean, feels new, good value for this area. Impressed with the staff, beds were comfortable ....coffee tea in room...no complaints. Will return here in a good location also. Pool area is very nice also....directly on beach

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I went to the Eden Roc for a nice relaxing getaway to go with my wife, and i couldn't of chosen a better place! the rooms in the new tower are new looking and modern with a breathtaking view, the pools are well maintained and super clean, the staff there are friendly and welcoming and the lobby is a good place to enjoy a drink, there are lots of Sofas to sit on indoors and outdoors, i felt really good and will defiantly be back on my next visit to miami!!

Room Tip: If your in Miami beach make sure you get a ocean front view (not partial view and not bay view) it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here end of October beginning of November 2012 and was never disappointed. We had a double/king room that came with all the amenities that you expect in this kind of hotel: TV, aircon, room service, safe, coffee maker, iron, hairdryer, toiletries etc. Only disappointment was that there was no fridge/minibar. The bed was really comfortable, shower had good pressure and lots of hot water; there was also a bath! The room was really quiet too and we slept very well. If i had to complain about one thing, the room got very dark early and the lamps just weren't bright enough to do make up and hair etc

In general terms, the hotel has an amazing lobby (the decor is very impressive) with a hotel bar at its centre (prices are, needless to say, expensive); it has a formal restaurant (I only had breakfast here, which was delicious); it also has an outdoor bar (this is where we spent most of our time as it was less formal and the burgers were fantastic) and it has 3 outdoor pools with loungers. The hotel leads onto the beach and you can charge loungers and umbrellas to your room. There's also a Starbucks on site and a gift shop.

All staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. I was having trouble checking in my flight and the gentleman at reception really helped me, even speaking Spanish for me over the telephone. We also used the concierge to plan a trip to the Everglades and she was especially organised and helpful in her service.

The location is quite far away from the popular South Beach, but you can get busses for $2 from the bus stop across the road from the hotel.

All in all, I had a great stay, however, it's exactly what you expect and pay for. I've stayed in much cheaper places that have a bit more of a wow-factor and more impressive personal touches, but then again this is a major chain hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I liked this place more than I expected. I would have given it a 4.5 score if it existed. I stayed one night on the top floor of the older tower--corner suite 1403. I booked the room because of the location (close to, but not IN SOBE, and near some nightlife) and price. $459+ extras for this room was reasonable for the quality and space of this room. It has a spacious, wraparound, ceiling-less balcony with amazing 300-degree view. 2 walls of the main room are all floor to ceiling windows--the scenery is gorgeous day and night. I loved the mod, minimalistic decor and ample space. The main "parlor" is sunken, 2 steps below the galley kitchen, broad entrance hallway, and huge bathroom. My only complaint about the furnishings was the galley kitchen--it was painfully sparse--just a set of cabinets and sink. That tiny space desperately needs a mirror or SOMETHING. Bed was good--t.v. was huge. Slept with the heavy glass balcony door wedged open and listened to the waves all night while the whispy curtains moved in the breeze. Saw the sunrise from my bed--yumm. Was looking forward to breakfast but they missed a few things--wrong type tea, waffle was cold and there was no butter, coffee pot leaked all over the bed. Mgmt made better by giving us a yummy bowl of fruit. Don't miss a soak in that deep tub for two. Beach was clean and well organized. Pool area was gorgeous. Lobby was modern, clean, and period-eclectic. I took a lot of pics of the lobby because it was very cool. Park in the public lot next store and save $35/day for valet. We didn't use our drink tickets because we left them in the room--but mgmt comped us before we checked out when we presented the un-used tickets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

the ocean tower rooms are beautiful, spacious and very comfortable. the pool area and lobby are also very nice. however, this hotel needs to work on better service. First, the elevators were out of service for over 3 hours. with a room on the 12th floor you can imagine the inconvenience of walking up 12 Flights of stairs with wet swimwear on. The next day, the fire alarms went off throughout the entire hotel. Again, unexpected annoyance at this hotel. Finally, at checkout we had to deal with a rude, abrasive african american lady at the front desk who had no regard for the billing errors on our statement. her "how dare you question our bill" attitude was very unbecoming of a marriott employee. For $300 a night, this was not the marriott service i am accustomed to or expect to receive. with soooo many nice places to stay in miami beach...like the fountainbleu, the loews and the diplomat, i dont anticipate staying at this property ever again.

Room Tip: ocean view tower......defintely worth when compared to the older, original tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Eden Roc this past weekend for just a little getaway for some sun and relaxation, which is exactly what we got! The beach area is really nice as well is the pool area. They have like 3 different pools, including an adult area which is nice and quiet and get the sun the longest. We ate lunch at their restaurant by the beach, food and service was really good. We also ate at 1500 degrees for dinner and had a great meal. Service was just ok, but the food was really good. The rooms were great... nice and spacious bathroom as well as bed area. This hotel has a resort feel just like Fountainbleau (minus a few restaurants and a night club) but the rooms are a considerable amount bigger. This hotel does charge a $25 resort fee, but has a decent value to it. Free wifi, beach chairs, bottled water in room, fitness classes, and welcome cocktails. I felt it was worth it. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Miami beach!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden Roc Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Roc Miami Beach

Also Known As:
Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Resort And Spa
Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Hotel
Renaissance Miami Beach
Miami Beach Renaissance
Address: 4525 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Eden Roc, a Renaissance Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Roc Miami Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the world-renowned Miami Beach, Eden Roc Miami Beach embraces its role as a timeless treasure, yet welcomes guests with a gracious, new contemporary spirit. Guests can luxuriate in spacious rooms & suites, bask in the sun at one of four refreshing pools or claim a chaise lounge on the beach to watch the waves roll by. Enjoy 1500 Degrees, dine beachside in Cabana Beach Club, seen and be seen at the Lobby Bar and grab a little pick me up at Starbucks. Discover our sanctuary for your senses with the first ever ELLE SPA at this premier Miami Beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , HotelTravel.com, Amex, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Eden Roc Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Roc Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.