We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, Average, Average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average, Average, Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Average.

Booked a last minute trip to South Beach and the Plaza was offering discounted rooms.

Nothing really to write home about; basic rooms, basic service, continental (small) breakfast but in a nice location close to beach and night life of South Beach.

Would like to try something with a bit more life on next visit to Miami.

Room Tip: Presidential suites are not really 'presidential'. A bit too dour for my liking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. The hotel is not listed as luxury. However we work tirelessly to give the best rooms and service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    89
    103
    41
    79
See reviews for
33
124
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
krakow
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

/'ve spent many, many days and nights in Beach Plaza Hotel with my wife.
Great location in centre of Art Deco district, cleaned and safe area just one block from
heautiful beaches and from Rodeo Drive.... where movie " Some like it hot" was directed".
Hotel is very nice and comfortable, staff is also polite and helpfull especially one guy-Sebastian, front officer who is very, very capable, willing and ready to solve any problem.
Very good place for reasonable price.
For sure I'll be back again.
Juric P.

Room Tip: go there and check
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We thank you for your review. Come and visit with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed many times there and i always enjoy it!!!! This hotel is excelente for young people! It's close to every nice bars and good restaurant!! People working there are very polite and helpfull!!! Sebastian gave us so much information about good places to visit in Miami! Good hospitality! We appreciate the gesture!!!!It was a pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Your review is appreciated. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

First off when we made it to the hotel it was raining. When we got to our room it was raining in the room water flowing from the windows.. So i contacted the front desk the guy told me he was sending someone up to my room . When the man came to my room he proceeded to put paper tape on the windows were water was still coming in . The TV did not work he brought another TV form another room to replace it . We asked for another room the hotel refused to gives us one and told us we could leave but could not get a refund for the room plus he had one of the the nastiest attitude ever... The place is out dated , rooms are small and horrible a lot of updating is needed . The room pictures did not the website Another thing i paid 26 dollars a day for parking with 24 hr access to my car . When I asked for my car the front desk guy told me it will be quicker if I go get my own And that staff would not feel like going to get my car and parking it back .He ended up calling someone to get my car but had an attitude when doing it. The only good thing about this hotel is the bar 5 dollar shots and the bartenders they had good attitudes and plus the beach was a block away When the n\manger was contacted by me she was very rude and did not want to hear about the rude staff and poor service we got during our stay.....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We appreciate this review. We are very familair with this situation and fully expected to be addressing it via this medium. We attempted to resolve all issues with this guest. There was a lightning storm that hit the hotel puttng out some televisions out of service. The television was replaced as soon as possible with a new television. The water came in the window because it was opened. Maintenance addressed this situation on the spot. The guests were not given a room change seeing all issues were resolved on the spot and the hotel was full to capacity. All cars in valet are picked up and dropped off via runners and not by our guests. Hence the term valet. There were numerous complaints from maintenance, reservation, housekeeping, breakfast service and front desk concerning these guests as they were impossible to serve. Nevetheless all guests are appreciated and we are saddened by any hiccups addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

First off, this is not a five star hotel. It is at best a two and half star hotel which makes tries really hard to mask its flaws. Please, do not go there expecting to spend lazy days in your room. There is nary a luxurious feature anywhere. Starting with...
a. The reception. It is tiny and crowded. The receptionists were helpful, save for one, whom I shall refer to as "nicely-kept beard." More on him later.
b. The elevator. It will take three, no more. And you better all be from the same family
c. The carpeting. It has never been changed since it was installed maybe in the 70s
d. The room. Well, don't expect much. There's not even a refrigerator. I singed my fingers trying to figure out how to turn off the beside lamp. The cord snaked back behind the bed.

"Nuff said. So, why would you book this hotel?
First off, it is really close to the beach. To get closer to the beach you'd be on Ocean Drive. Unless you are a party-animal, don't stay on Ocean Drive. It is loud music all through the night.

You get a very decent continental breakfast. The lady at the counter is sweet and helpful.

Between 5 and 6 p.m, you get a free glass of wine. This is new for me. It is a nice gesture, and from all indications, they don't press the time issue. So, you could be late by a few minutes, and you'd still get a glass of wine and chat with the friendly bartender.

The price is decent. We booked in June and stayed in July.

You get free Wi Fi.

The staff is really helpful. But "well-kept beard" admonished my wife (he referred to her as "that lady in your room") for having the temerity to touch the thermostat. He actually said, :"please do not touch it." So, even if you were freezing, you couldn't alter the temperature. You've been warned.

Room Tip: None. The hotel is too small to worry about that. I will add that there was a lot of noise on Collin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We appreciate the review. The elevator is historic and cannot be changed. However it is well-maintained and certified. The carpets are changed every 3.5 years and are cleaned weekly due to extreme heavy traffic. They are being upgraded. We have full refrigerators in all our suites. Standard rooms do not have refrigerators.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

let me start of with what irritated me the most. the server at the front desk, who is technically the face of the hotel, was arrogant and not sympathetic at all. in his policy phone calls are taken before face to face contact. which concludes that you have to wait for like 15 minutes at the desk while he answers at least 6 phone calls. then there is the parking system. you pay 26 dollars a day for the hotel parking serves. this means they park your car 2 blocks away and promise to get it whenever you want within 10 minutes max. the waiting time is actually more like 30 minutes, combine that with the time you have to wait at the front desk and you get a total waiting time of 45 minutes. this just to get your car which is only a 5 minutes walk away from you. if you complain about this you get a arrogant reaction and they deny the problem.
my advice find an other hotel in Miami.

Room Tip: we stayed at this hotel for two nights. the first night we stayed at a regular room. my advice don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Based on this review it appears that the main issue revolves around the wait time at the desk and for valet service. We do apologize for the long wait. Unfortunately most businesses rely on valet services in South Beach seeing the city was not designed for this much traffic. As with any front desk, the ability to multi-task can be overwhelming at times and this seemed to have been the case in this situation. Again we regret the unnecessary wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Went for the long weekend with my boyfriend a couple of friends. Overall, low cost & great location. Room was enough for 4 people, bathroom was a bit small. Very clean - luckily the room and hotel was better in person then what it appeared on their website. Right in the heart of South Beach, walking distance to numerous clubs, restaurants, bars and the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Your feedback is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.