We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Thun, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My Sister and I stayed there for 8 days. We also booked the breakfast, but that was a big mistake. The bagels on the breakfasttable were still half frozen, and the fruits weren't fresh. The room was fine and clean. The location of the hotel was perfect.
Another advantage was, that we could book tours and stuff in our hotel. (We visited the alligator farm). But a big con was that there was this one guy working in our hotel, who was really rude and disrespectful towards us, the other staff were all really nice and funny, but he was so weird.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that your stay was pleasant. We wish there was a more specific description of the individual who was less than pleasant. This way we could directly address this matter. Nevertheless we will address it in general terms to ensure that this behavior is not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    82
    96
    37
    78
See reviews for
31
114
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My friend and I decided to leave the Keys and hit South Beach for a couple of nights before leaving Florida. We did not have any reservations as this was a spur-of-the moment decision. When we arrived in South Beach we checked with about 6 hotels in the proximity of Ocean Drive (where all the action is) and Espanola Way (ethnic restaurants). While this was not the cheapest, it was certainly affordable compared to the others and provides excellent accommodation for the budget traveler. The Check-in agent, Sebastion, was very, very helpful with storing our bags before and after checkin/out, giving directions and suggestions regarding transportation that saved us a lot of money (Tip: share a cab to the airport vs the shuttle). The room was clean, two double beds, flat screen TV, bathroom, hardwood floors; There is a private, secure outdoor patio area and your fee includes a nice continental breakfast in the morning (no pool or gym). Lot of construction going on out front, but there is construction all over South Beach at the moment. Ocean drive (where all the partying happens - don't miss the Clevelander) and the beach is a couple of blocks one way and Espanola Way, which has some amazing (but pricey) ethnic restaurants is a couple of blocks the other way with a lot of fun places in between. Lincoln Plaza is a mile or so walk in another direction. Within walking distance of pretty much everything you want to do/see in South Beach so you save a ton on cab fare. One note: There is no parking so you will have to pay about $12-16/day at one of the parking garages a few blocks away if you have a car - we turned ours in and just walked everywhere after the first night. We were on the 3rd floor - street side - main building (some reviewers say it makes a difference, so you might want to ask)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I really don't know what everyone else is expecting for such a low cost on South Beach but anyhow, here are my two cents. Both my partner and I work for a luxury brand of hotel so I guess our expectations are quite high. However, we found the Beach Plaza to be adequate. Yes, rooms are old, but this is an Art Deco building and not a modern state of the art hotel. In our room, nothing was peeling, moldy or terribly old - but then again, we think the decor gives it character. Room was clean, large (we had a corner room), away from noise (request 2nd or 3d floor but be careful, there is construction on Collins), king bed comfortable, very few amenities (no coffee machine for example). In opposition to what others have said about housekeeping not cleaning their room, I suggest this may be their fault. We found our room perfectly cleaned everyday, unless the DND sign was up of course. Wifi is crap, if that's something you really need. Rooms can be noisy but that is to be expected anywhere really. Front desk staff friendly. The lady who attends the breakfast in the morning was very friendly! Breakfast was decent (bagels, oranges, coffee, yogourt) although it is not "free" since it's incorporated in the resort fee. Good place to rest your head for cheap, close to the beach. I will say however that the "concierge" service is absolutely horrible. I am a concierge myself and could not believe that they had the nerve to call themselves concierges. Recommended a restaurant that I, as a tourist, had already noticed was closed for business earlier in the week. They are only interested in pushing tours and transportation, from which they take big commissions. When asking anything unrelated to tours, they were not interested, often avoiding looking at us when answering, dismissing our question.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd or 3d floors, away from lobby. Also watch out for construction on Collins Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate your kind feedback. The concierge desk is actually an independent tour company. However we will be certain to address this with this company to guarantee a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night and thought it was better than expected as it was not our chosen hotel but Travel Republic emailed the day before and canceled our original hotel and put us in this one.
We were put out when we arrived by all the building work and roadworks outside ( not the hotels fault ) but the guy in reception made us feel very welcome and was very pleasant and we found all the staff helpful.
The rooms were basic but clean and had everything we needed and the continental breakfast was ok. Overall the hotel was super for the price and we would stay again.
The bar area was pleasant with a complimentary wine in the afternoon and the seating in the garden area was nice to breakfast in.
We had a great time in South Beach and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Your kind review is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night, booked with Hotwire. Room was huge and newly renovated included a king bed, hida-bed and a kitchen. Furnishings were old and dated. From talking with other guests it sounds that the quality of rooms vastly depends on which building you are in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are in the process of upgrading our hotel and so room types vary. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Booked a 'standard triple' through an agent. They only have rooms with one or two very small 'double' beds that I wouldn't be able to sleep in with my wife, let alone a friend.

The rooms are old and decrepit and the staff are unhelpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your response. We appreciate this review as it gives us an opportunity to clarify your reservation details. If you booked a triple room, it is for three persons and not three beds. This is a description used by many travel agents and not by the hotel. This hotel has suites, double beds and rooms with king beds. We have never advertised or sold a room indicating three beds. We do apologize for this misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel in my life ,the breakfast is horrible the people who works there treat you so bad ,it doesent have swiming pool ,looks very old and dirty ,everything in the rooms is broken ,the windows,the bathrooms doors etc ,no promotors for clubs definately not going back there ,shitest hotel in the world

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. It would be very helpful if the review had more specifics in order to provide a better response. Nevertheless we consider all reviews vital for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.