We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night and thought it was better than expected as it was not our chosen hotel but Travel Republic emailed the day before and canceled our original hotel and put us in this one.
We were put out when we arrived by all the building work and roadworks outside ( not the hotels fault ) but the guy in reception made us feel very welcome and was very pleasant and we found all the staff helpful.
The rooms were basic but clean and had everything we needed and the continental breakfast was ok. Overall the hotel was super for the price and we would stay again.
The bar area was pleasant with a complimentary wine in the afternoon and the seating in the garden area was nice to breakfast in.
We had a great time in South Beach and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Your kind review is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    91
    36
    77
See reviews for
29
108
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night, booked with Hotwire. Room was huge and newly renovated included a king bed, hida-bed and a kitchen. Furnishings were old and dated. From talking with other guests it sounds that the quality of rooms vastly depends on which building you are in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are in the process of upgrading our hotel and so room types vary. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Booked a 'standard triple' through an agent. They only have rooms with one or two very small 'double' beds that I wouldn't be able to sleep in with my wife, let alone a friend.

The rooms are old and decrepit and the staff are unhelpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your response. We appreciate this review as it gives us an opportunity to clarify your reservation details. If you booked a triple room, it is for three persons and not three beds. This is a description used by many travel agents and not by the hotel. This hotel has suites, double beds and rooms with king beds. We have never advertised or sold a room indicating three beds. We do apologize for this misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel in my life ,the breakfast is horrible the people who works there treat you so bad ,it doesent have swiming pool ,looks very old and dirty ,everything in the rooms is broken ,the windows,the bathrooms doors etc ,no promotors for clubs definately not going back there ,shitest hotel in the world

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your feedback. It would be very helpful if the review had more specifics in order to provide a better response. Nevertheless we consider all reviews vital for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great location near the beach. Yes, it's older and a little scruffy, but it's clean. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but it fills you up and you can sit in the pleasant patio while eating. The staff was friendly and helpful. You really can't expect much more of hotels at this price point.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for a pleasant review. We endeavor to offer excellent service to our guests. Come and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beach Plaza Hotel is perfectly located just off Ocean Drive and walking distance to anywhere you wanna be or be seen - including the beautiful beach. The hotel is Art Deco old but has a European flair with wooden floors and stucko walls. The staff was exemplary of a 5 star hotel. From front desk clerk to bartender to concierge - they were all friendly and helpful for any of our questions. Granted, the morning breakfast was just yogurt, bagels, bananas and coffee, but what do you expect for prices one half to one third of other comparable hotels just a block or so away. The beach and clubs and restaurants are all so close by you don't need to drive. Park in the public parking deck a block away and walk everywhere. The only drawback was the car noise on Collins Ave which is more an indictment on an inconsiderate society blaring music at 3am and less so on the sound deadening properties of the windows - but bring earplugs for deep sleep. Otherwise the hotel is a nice place to hang out in the middle of all the South Beach action at a reasonable price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your review. Yes Collins Avenue can get quite loud depending on the time of year. Come and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were looking for a convenient hotel for one night in south Beach. Price, location and parking were the things we were searching for. We have been to Miami before and were therefore looking for a hotel close to the beach, the shopping area and restaurants. The hotel is easy to access from the Airport and has a value parking which makes your stay so much easier. Good service and fast check in/check out. A baggage room for storage. We did not eat breakfast there as we like to enjoy a good breakfast outside when we are on hollidays. Again, it is a 3 minutes walk to the beach and a short walk to the main shopping street. The rooms are okay, but maybe not a place I would stay if i was going to spend a lot of time inside the hotel. This is a hotel were you drop you bags of and enjoy Miami outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.