We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night, booked with Hotwire. Room was huge and newly renovated included a king bed, hida-bed and a kitchen. Furnishings were old and dated. From talking with other guests it sounds that the quality of rooms vastly depends on which building you are in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are in the process of upgrading our hotel and so room types vary. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked a 'standard triple' through an agent. They only have rooms with one or two very small 'double' beds that I wouldn't be able to sleep in with my wife, let alone a friend.

The rooms are old and decrepit and the staff are unhelpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobbyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your response. We appreciate this review as it gives us an opportunity to clarify your reservation details. If you booked a triple room, it is for three persons and not three beds. This is a description used by many travel agents and not by the hotel. This hotel has suites, double beds and rooms with king beds. We have never advertised or sold a room indicating three beds. We do apologize for this misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel in my life ,the breakfast is horrible the people who works there treat you so bad ,it doesent have swiming pool ,looks very old and dirty ,everything in the rooms is broken ,the windows,the bathrooms doors etc ,no promotors for clubs definately not going back there ,shitest hotel in the world

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. It would be very helpful if the review had more specifics in order to provide a better response. Nevertheless we consider all reviews vital for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great location near the beach. Yes, it's older and a little scruffy, but it's clean. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but it fills you up and you can sit in the pleasant patio while eating. The staff was friendly and helpful. You really can't expect much more of hotels at this price point.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guitarman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for a pleasant review. We endeavor to offer excellent service to our guests. Come and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Beach Plaza Hotel is perfectly located just off Ocean Drive and walking distance to anywhere you wanna be or be seen - including the beautiful beach. The hotel is Art Deco old but has a European flair with wooden floors and stucko walls. The staff was exemplary of a 5 star hotel. From front desk clerk to bartender to concierge - they were all friendly and helpful for any of our questions. Granted, the morning breakfast was just yogurt, bagels, bananas and coffee, but what do you expect for prices one half to one third of other comparable hotels just a block or so away. The beach and clubs and restaurants are all so close by you don't need to drive. Park in the public parking deck a block away and walk everywhere. The only drawback was the car noise on Collins Ave which is more an indictment on an inconsiderate society blaring music at 3am and less so on the sound deadening properties of the windows - but bring earplugs for deep sleep. Otherwise the hotel is a nice place to hang out in the middle of all the South Beach action at a reasonable price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeyanchovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate your review. Yes Collins Avenue can get quite loud depending on the time of year. Come and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were looking for a convenient hotel for one night in south Beach. Price, location and parking were the things we were searching for. We have been to Miami before and were therefore looking for a hotel close to the beach, the shopping area and restaurants. The hotel is easy to access from the Airport and has a value parking which makes your stay so much easier. Good service and fast check in/check out. A baggage room for storage. We did not eat breakfast there as we like to enjoy a good breakfast outside when we are on hollidays. Again, it is a 3 minutes walk to the beach and a short walk to the main shopping street. The rooms are okay, but maybe not a place I would stay if i was going to spend a lot of time inside the hotel. This is a hotel were you drop you bags of and enjoy Miami outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivaparaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The worst hotel I have ever stepped foot into!!!! Starting with the element they allow to hang out in front by entrance smoking hookahs and more!!! The room was small and that was the good thing about it!! The blanket was sewn together sheets to make a blanket the bedskirt was nasty stained I could not even bring myself to look at the mattresses!!! The room smelled like old moldy fabric!! The noise from everywhere and everyone was too much!!! Paying $25 to park god knows where was ridiculous and the fact of not knowing or having access to your vehicle is not acceptable to us!!! My son is in the Navy and he was being transferred to Key West and all his important paper work and belongings were in the vehicle so not knowing where it was going was unacceptable!! Needless to say we were there maybe an hour and left now we are having to try and get our money back cause they charged our card anyway which is BAD BUSINESS too!!!!!! So unless you're a college student that likes the party element around and that is your only desire to party then that is the place for you!!! Even then I'd be leery!!! YUKKKKK!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianeH6222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,373 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#100 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Edgewater South Beach
#18 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,472 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#143 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing