We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A con” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A con”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Booked a 'standard triple' through an agent. They only have rooms with one or two very small 'double' beds that I wouldn't be able to sleep in with my wife, let alone a friend.

The rooms are old and decrepit and the staff are unhelpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your response. We appreciate this review as it gives us an opportunity to clarify your reservation details. If you booked a triple room, it is for three persons and not three beds. This is a description used by many travel agents and not by the hotel. This hotel has suites, double beds and rooms with king beds. We have never advertised or sold a room indicating three beds. We do apologize for this misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    79
    94
    37
    78
See reviews for
31
111
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel in my life ,the breakfast is horrible the people who works there treat you so bad ,it doesent have swiming pool ,looks very old and dirty ,everything in the rooms is broken ,the windows,the bathrooms doors etc ,no promotors for clubs definately not going back there ,shitest hotel in the world

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. It would be very helpful if the review had more specifics in order to provide a better response. Nevertheless we consider all reviews vital for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great location near the beach. Yes, it's older and a little scruffy, but it's clean. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but it fills you up and you can sit in the pleasant patio while eating. The staff was friendly and helpful. You really can't expect much more of hotels at this price point.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for a pleasant review. We endeavor to offer excellent service to our guests. Come and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beach Plaza Hotel is perfectly located just off Ocean Drive and walking distance to anywhere you wanna be or be seen - including the beautiful beach. The hotel is Art Deco old but has a European flair with wooden floors and stucko walls. The staff was exemplary of a 5 star hotel. From front desk clerk to bartender to concierge - they were all friendly and helpful for any of our questions. Granted, the morning breakfast was just yogurt, bagels, bananas and coffee, but what do you expect for prices one half to one third of other comparable hotels just a block or so away. The beach and clubs and restaurants are all so close by you don't need to drive. Park in the public parking deck a block away and walk everywhere. The only drawback was the car noise on Collins Ave which is more an indictment on an inconsiderate society blaring music at 3am and less so on the sound deadening properties of the windows - but bring earplugs for deep sleep. Otherwise the hotel is a nice place to hang out in the middle of all the South Beach action at a reasonable price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate your review. Yes Collins Avenue can get quite loud depending on the time of year. Come and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were looking for a convenient hotel for one night in south Beach. Price, location and parking were the things we were searching for. We have been to Miami before and were therefore looking for a hotel close to the beach, the shopping area and restaurants. The hotel is easy to access from the Airport and has a value parking which makes your stay so much easier. Good service and fast check in/check out. A baggage room for storage. We did not eat breakfast there as we like to enjoy a good breakfast outside when we are on hollidays. Again, it is a 3 minutes walk to the beach and a short walk to the main shopping street. The rooms are okay, but maybe not a place I would stay if i was going to spend a lot of time inside the hotel. This is a hotel were you drop you bags of and enjoy Miami outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The worst hotel I have ever stepped foot into!!!! Starting with the element they allow to hang out in front by entrance smoking hookahs and more!!! The room was small and that was the good thing about it!! The blanket was sewn together sheets to make a blanket the bedskirt was nasty stained I could not even bring myself to look at the mattresses!!! The room smelled like old moldy fabric!! The noise from everywhere and everyone was too much!!! Paying $25 to park god knows where was ridiculous and the fact of not knowing or having access to your vehicle is not acceptable to us!!! My son is in the Navy and he was being transferred to Key West and all his important paper work and belongings were in the vehicle so not knowing where it was going was unacceptable!! Needless to say we were there maybe an hour and left now we are having to try and get our money back cause they charged our card anyway which is BAD BUSINESS too!!!!!! So unless you're a college student that likes the party element around and that is your only desire to party then that is the place for you!!! Even then I'd be leery!!! YUKKKKK!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you again for your feedback. We are saddened that your stay was not as pleasant as you had anticipated. The visitors to South Beach vary depending on what time of year you visit. If you visit during Spring Break, you will encounter more college students on Spring Break and as such the noise level will be much higher than at other times. This is simply the cyclical nature of the business. The Housekeeping service in our hotel always receives rave reviews however your points are well taken and will be kept in mind. All rooms are equipped with extra pillows and blankets and as such is not typically an issue with our guests. Now we regret that you departed earlier than usual. However, depending on how your room was booked your card could have been charged in advance and therefore it would take some time to see any adjustment in your credit card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

First off it was very uncomfortable just walking into this place with all the young loud foul mouthed people hanging out front on patio smoking hookahs and more!!! Not having any parking is not a thing we were happy with, my son is in the Navy and was transferring stations to Key West and all his important paper work and belongings were in his vehicle and had no idea where it was being taken to with no access to his vehicle!! Then we could barely fit in the elevator with our luggage then could barely get into door to the room, door barely got past bed!! The room smelled terrible like old moldy fabric! Then upon inspecting the bed well let's just say the bedskirt was stained and the blankets weren't even blankets they seemed to be sheets sewn together to make a blanket! Granted it was nighttime when we got there but the place does not look like the pic online!!! The noise level in the room was ridiculous you could hear everyone outside and in other rooms!!! We left after just being there an hour was not a comfortable place in our opinion it's more for the college students on spring break! Now I am having to try and get my money back cause they charged my card anyway to me that is BAD BUSINESS!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened that your stay was not as pleasant as you had anticipated. The visitors to South Beach vary depending on what time of year you visit. If you visit during Spring Break, you will encounter more college students on Spring Break and as such the noise level will be much higher than at other times. This is simply the cyclical nature of the business. The Housekeeping service in our hotel always receives rave reviews however your points are well taken and will be kept in mind. All rooms are equipped with extra pillows and blankets and as such is not typically an issue with our guests. Now we regret that you departed earlier than usual. However, depending on how your room was booked your card could have been charged in advance and therefore it would take some time to see any adjustment in your credit card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.