We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Costumer Service of Sebastian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent Costumer Service of Sebastian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First time at the property and he was great with information and very welcoming.
excellent experience!!!
highly recommended
He gave a lot of innformation of restaurants., activities and in a very friendly manner.
When you go to a place for the first time it is very important to get this type of c=good service.
That is what we expect as a guest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
It is refreshing to hear from you. We are even more appreciative that you took the time to highlight our staff member. Come and visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    95
    114
    44
    82
See reviews for
36
143
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I went to South Beach Plaza on September, was so good, Sebastian did the check in, I WILL COMING BACK. CLEAN HOTEL, NEAR EVERITHING!!! The Hotel have nice garden, nice bar, just one block form Ocean Dr, the beach and three blocks from LIncolnd Rd.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated. Thank you for highlighting our staff member. Looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Beach Plaza Hotel was amazing! A gentlemen named Sebastian was very helpful to me and made sure all of my needs were met, the next time I stay in Miami, I will definately stay here and suggest it to all of my friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We especially appreciate the feedback on our staff member. This encouraging on all ends. Come and see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an older property which could probably do with updating, however, I found it very good value for money considering the location, which is one block from Ocean Drive. Check-in(and check-out) was very easy, friendly and professional, I had a corner room on the ground floor (1st floor US), which was super spacious, it had a separate "walk-in" wardrobe. The room had a safe, A/C (loud but very effective) old-style TV (no flatscreen), desk and chair. There was no fridge or coffee-making facilities. The bathroom was small but had a powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Both room and bathroom were very clean, although housekeeping didn't clean the room until 5 p.m., which wasn't that great. Breakfast and free WIFI are included with the daily resort fee which is payable separately.

Breakfast was a bit of a sorry affair, the buffet was arranged in the bar, which is really narrow and there tended to be a long queue. Breakfast itself was taken in the lobby, again, not the cosiest of environment, however, there were also tables outside. It's all plastic and styrofoam cups and plates and really only serves as getting something in one's stomach rather than a pleasant experience. Breakfast items were fruit, yoghurts, muffins, bagels, etc.

This is definitely a budget hotel - there was a musty smell in the lobby, hallway and carpets are really due an update, however, I would not have been able to find another hotel in the same location at that price and for the time I actually spent there, it did me perfectly well. I would stay there again if I got a good price, however, I would hesitate to pay more than I did.

Room Tip: My corner room faced onto an alley and garbage trucks did come by at 7 a.m. to empty the dumpsters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed response. Like most hotels a historic building and is Art Deco and with that the hotel is an older building. We work to our utmost to ensure that it is updated frequently. More than 80% of our rooms have flat-screen tvs and we are constantly changing the remaining ones. We do have suites with kitchenettes. We are also very flexible in our housekeeping service hours. Some guests require early service while others prefer service at a later time. Unfortunately, all the hotels from 1st to 14th street on Collins have alleys and this area is used for deliveries and garbage pick-up. This is just the design of the city. Once again your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been comoing to this hotel for 5+ years and every time its improving. the staf are real friendly the rooms are fresh, clean beds and confteble.
My bar tender was great. make sure to get a mojito or try the margaritas....
Front desk makew sure to ask for Sebastian and if you want the friendlyest bartender Mazena is great.

Room Tip: go for the vila's if you are a cople.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. We even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am a frequent world-wide traveller therefore you can trust what I am writing here ;-)
The South Beach Plaza Hotel has the perfect location, just between Lincoln Road (pedestrian zone with many shops and restaurants) and famous Ocean Drive. Our room was bigger than I expected with a comfy king size bed, new wooden floor, wardrobe and an ok-sized bathroom. It was always clean and tidy. Even though the location is right in the middle of everything, it was always quiet in the room, so you get enough sleep. If you need beach chairs or an umbrella just go down to the reception. They are all very helpful and friendly. What I found great is the courtyard which you don't see very often in hotels (and I've been several times to South Beach). You can sit down and chill, have a chat.. in the background music is being played (but not too loud).
Its just one block from the beach and near Starbucks. Definitely would recommend this place !!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forwarding to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Delores
The Delores
#133 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Ocean Reef Suites
#154 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#101 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#99 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.