We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel... few steps awey from the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great hotel... few steps awey from the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been comoing to this hotel for 5+ years and every time its improving. the staf are real friendly the rooms are fresh, clean beds and confteble.
My bar tender was great. make sure to get a mojito or try the margaritas....
Front desk makew sure to ask for Sebastian and if you want the friendlyest bartender Mazena is great.

Room Tip: go for the vila's if you are a cople.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. We even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    86
    97
    43
    76
See reviews for
22
106
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am a frequent world-wide traveller therefore you can trust what I am writing here ;-)
The South Beach Plaza Hotel has the perfect location, just between Lincoln Road (pedestrian zone with many shops and restaurants) and famous Ocean Drive. Our room was bigger than I expected with a comfy king size bed, new wooden floor, wardrobe and an ok-sized bathroom. It was always clean and tidy. Even though the location is right in the middle of everything, it was always quiet in the room, so you get enough sleep. If you need beach chairs or an umbrella just go down to the reception. They are all very helpful and friendly. What I found great is the courtyard which you don't see very often in hotels (and I've been several times to South Beach). You can sit down and chill, have a chat.. in the background music is being played (but not too loud).
Its just one block from the beach and near Starbucks. Definitely would recommend this place !!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forwarding to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here in July of 2012 with my friends for a summer vaca... and we definately enjoyed our stay here. Hotel rooms were clean and updated with good wifi. Definately will be staying here next time we are in South Beach Miami

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. Kudos to our housekeeping team! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Where do I start.. Ok I love MIA I have ben down there many times & I have stayed @ many hotels down there.. I must say [SOUTH BEACH PLAZA] was the WORST hotel OF MY LIFE!!! The rooms are like sleeping in a box there old drity, nothing is up to date.. They only have 2 people that works the desk and they done work @ the same time one in witch I will never forget his name SEBASTIAN! very rude!!! Next breakfast was from 7am-8am Seriously!! This MIA you party till 5am maybe 6am. anyway they said buffet, with no choices only fruit!!
Next happy hour was more like sad hour people fighting the wine was terrible!! needless to say we only stayed here for 2days in our trip was for 4nites and 5days... we were so over this hotel by day 2day we left in got a better room in witch had 2 bebrooms inside the room very nice in we payed less... Next the people who they have cleaning the rooms look like they just walked in out the street who tryed to get into our room all morning by opening the door with there key why we were in there trying to sleep in get dress at one time!!!Seriously!! I guess they love to clean.. we didnt feel safe to leave our money or credits in our rooms.... I would NEVER NEVER in my LIFE stay at this hotel!!!!!!! I wouldnt care if they said it was FREE 2 stay here it was the WORST 2DAY of my trip!!!

Room Tip: Any place but South Beach Plaza!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. This review is unfortunately loaded with many many inaccuracies. Breakfast starts at 8am, not 7am. We have at least one person at the desk 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If both individuals left at the same time, there would be no person on the desk. This has never happened. We have never had anyone fighting for wine. Certainly no need for such a thing. The breakfast is continental with obviously many more choices than fruits. We are unsure as to what this review means by "they look like they walked off the street". The individuals who clean your rooms are all in uniforms with name tags.The policy is to knock three times before entering a room for service. If after the third knock, no one answers, the housekeeper will enter the room in an attempt to clean it. All rooms are equipped with safes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Inn, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was my first time to south beach miami. This hotel was in a great location, in the middle of south beach. The price was great for the location and was better than i expected. The only thing to watch for is the resort fees daily and its 27.00 for you to park your car and that is charged daily and you pay when you check out. The elevator is very very small.but other than that we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms had been updated with a modern look and was very clean. They do offer a continentak breakfast which was ok nothing spectacular, if you like bagels and muffins. The hotel was across the street from beach access. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for a kind review. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is crappy! Iv booked hotels in many different areas and i dont have to pay for it way in advaced and then do a security deposit. So stupid then i asked if they had a parking garage and the guy is like no you need to pay $25 for valet parking!!!! Seriously other hotels in the area had parking for guest what a rip odd and then $130 for one night with a crappy breakfast with signs saying "1 per person" we can only get 1 piece of something and all they had was bagels, banana, yogurts, oatmeal, and juice or coffee!!!!! Total crap, on another note housekepping does a good job in cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Let us take some time to clarify some of the points mentioned in this review. If you book through a third party eg., Travelocity, Expedia, etc, you will indeed have to pay in advance. If you book directly with the hotel, you will be charged the 1st night's room and tax as a guarantee. Of course this will be credited to your entire stay once you have checked in the hotel. It is very common to request a deposit against incidentals. This is a common hotel practice. Majority of the hotels in South Beach do not have parking available. We depend on a hired valet service. This is because when the city was built, no accommodation was made for parking. Free parking in South Beach is a myth. The valet fee charged by our hotel is one of the lowest, if not the lowest, on the Beach. This is a fact. Most guests prefer not to drive to avoid valet or parking fees. The breakfast is continental. You have a choice of bagel, muffin, tea, coffee, fruit, fruit juices, yogurt, oatmeal and assortment of jelly, and cream cheese. All of these items are available. No guest has to choose among them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.