We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY, FILTHY, RUDE!!!! THE WORST!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jackson, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DIRTY, FILTHY, RUDE!!!! THE WORST!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Where do I start.. Ok I love MIA I have ben down there many times & I have stayed @ many hotels down there.. I must say [SOUTH BEACH PLAZA] was the WORST hotel OF MY LIFE!!! The rooms are like sleeping in a box there old drity, nothing is up to date.. They only have 2 people that works the desk and they done work @ the same time one in witch I will never forget his name SEBASTIAN! very rude!!! Next breakfast was from 7am-8am Seriously!! This MIA you party till 5am maybe 6am. anyway they said buffet, with no choices only fruit!!
Next happy hour was more like sad hour people fighting the wine was terrible!! needless to say we only stayed here for 2days in our trip was for 4nites and 5days... we were so over this hotel by day 2day we left in got a better room in witch had 2 bebrooms inside the room very nice in we payed less... Next the people who they have cleaning the rooms look like they just walked in out the street who tryed to get into our room all morning by opening the door with there key why we were in there trying to sleep in get dress at one time!!!Seriously!! I guess they love to clean.. we didnt feel safe to leave our money or credits in our rooms.... I would NEVER NEVER in my LIFE stay at this hotel!!!!!!! I wouldnt care if they said it was FREE 2 stay here it was the WORST 2DAY of my trip!!!

Room Tip: Any place but South Beach Plaza!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. This review is unfortunately loaded with many many inaccuracies. Breakfast starts at 8am, not 7am. We have at least one person at the desk 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If both individuals left at the same time, there would be no person on the desk. This has never happened. We have never had anyone fighting for wine. Certainly no need for such a thing. The breakfast is continental with obviously many more choices than fruits. We are unsure as to what this review means by "they look like they walked off the street". The individuals who clean your rooms are all in uniforms with name tags.The policy is to knock three times before entering a room for service. If after the third knock, no one answers, the housekeeper will enter the room in an attempt to clean it. All rooms are equipped with safes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    82
    96
    37
    78
See reviews for
31
114
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Inn, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was my first time to south beach miami. This hotel was in a great location, in the middle of south beach. The price was great for the location and was better than i expected. The only thing to watch for is the resort fees daily and its 27.00 for you to park your car and that is charged daily and you pay when you check out. The elevator is very very small.but other than that we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms had been updated with a modern look and was very clean. They do offer a continentak breakfast which was ok nothing spectacular, if you like bagels and muffins. The hotel was across the street from beach access. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for a kind review. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is crappy! Iv booked hotels in many different areas and i dont have to pay for it way in advaced and then do a security deposit. So stupid then i asked if they had a parking garage and the guy is like no you need to pay $25 for valet parking!!!! Seriously other hotels in the area had parking for guest what a rip odd and then $130 for one night with a crappy breakfast with signs saying "1 per person" we can only get 1 piece of something and all they had was bagels, banana, yogurts, oatmeal, and juice or coffee!!!!! Total crap, on another note housekepping does a good job in cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Let us take some time to clarify some of the points mentioned in this review. If you book through a third party eg., Travelocity, Expedia, etc, you will indeed have to pay in advance. If you book directly with the hotel, you will be charged the 1st night's room and tax as a guarantee. Of course this will be credited to your entire stay once you have checked in the hotel. It is very common to request a deposit against incidentals. This is a common hotel practice. Majority of the hotels in South Beach do not have parking available. We depend on a hired valet service. This is because when the city was built, no accommodation was made for parking. Free parking in South Beach is a myth. The valet fee charged by our hotel is one of the lowest, if not the lowest, on the Beach. This is a fact. Most guests prefer not to drive to avoid valet or parking fees. The breakfast is continental. You have a choice of bagel, muffin, tea, coffee, fruit, fruit juices, yogurt, oatmeal and assortment of jelly, and cream cheese. All of these items are available. No guest has to choose among them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Filthy room: everything looks dirty, especially a bed cover, walls scratched and cracked. Bed side table light was broken and never fixed. No vent or ANY hooks in the bathroom, even on the door. The only good thing about the bathroom is water pressure. When we opened room door there was a strong clorox smell so i had to request not to use it next time they clean, cant tell f they used anything else instead as i never smell anything at all after that. Air-conditioner is "motel style", but with the remote. Lousy service: we came in 4 hours earlier, the room was only ready 15 min later check in time and only after asking if it's ready. No one apologized of course. Two times out of three we got room service after long argument on the phone and after 6pm. The breakfast is terrible, they claim it buffet, but there was no choice you can take only one fruit, yogurt, bagel, if you want hot cereal( there were no other choices) keep in mind that the hot water not hot enough to brew it. So we only ate it once, after that we just took one fruit and usually it's one green banana. Happy hour free wine is terrible too, only drank it once.
But we got it for incredibly cheap price, it is one block from the ocean, you can rent beach chair and umbrella, and take beach towels for free. The location is great it's in the middle of unique and beautiful art-deco district with lots of choices to eat, museums, night life and people watching.... The guys in the lobby are incredibly nice and the lady in the bar. The tour guy has a good choice of excursions for a very reasonable prices. We did enjoy our four-day-vacation in Miami Beach, but not the hotel.
But, we got cheap p

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank your for your review. Our check in time is 3pm. It appears that your arrival was 4 hours prior to check in time which could put the time at 11am. Our check out time is 11am. This means that it is not unreasonable to wait for a room at that time. The room was ready 15 minutes prior to check in time.The breakfast offered is continental. It is unclear as to why there had to be an argument to get service for the room seeing that all rooms are serviced daily. Obviously not all rooms will be serviced at the same time. Guests are free to request their preferred service time and the hotel will be more than happy to accommodate this request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good place for the cost. Room was clean, hotel was clean, everyone was very helpful. We had a room on the street so there was some noise, but nothing that you don't get everywhere in South Beach! Cute hotel, very short walking distance to the beach, numerous restaurants and bars. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the suites/villas typically are shielded from the noise more. Try to get an in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Your review is appreciated. Yes our rooms are very clean and we are in the best location in South Beach. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A few friends and I decided to stay for a night in Miami before heading to our cruise. We were looking for something affordable yet still comfortable. The Beach Plaza Hotel was a great choice both for its affordable price and that it was NOT a dump! The room was clean and everything worked fine (the bathroom, alarm clock, lights, AC). It was comfortable and the noise level was low so you could sleep soundly. The front desk was also very nice and helpful, I had no problems with them. Good to point out that he hotel has a great location with only 1 block away from Ocean Drive and the beach. Try it out if you're looking for a great value stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Your kind feedback is very much appreciated. Come and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I came across Beach Plaza having spent our first night in Little Havana which was by far the worst experience we've had where we were taunted by locals and did not sleep from the noise! We checked into Beach Plaza the following day finding it cheap for the location and quality of service.
On our arrival and after explaining our experience of the night before, the receptionist and concierge couldn't be more sensitive or helpful. We had to wait for our room but they let us store our luggage so we could have a wander around the area to find that the beach was literally a 30second walk away, the street was just off Ocean Drive so we didnt have to go far for some food ... or drink! The rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday with fresh bedding, towels, shampoo etc! The Wifi (while only available in communual areas) was fast and convenient to keep in touch with family back home. Breakfast offered a basic but filling choice. The Moroccan tour planner was also fantastic with getting us what we wanted for a competitive price.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend Beach Plaza! I don't know what the smell is that has been talked about in another review as it was very clean and I noticed no smell.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. Come and visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.