We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
san carlos, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

You don't have to spend a fortune to have a good time in South Beach. Hotel is reasonably priced, and the concierge is particularly helpful with restaurant reservations, parking suggestions, and tours of any kind. Many languages are spoken here, and the location is one block off the beach.
Their front porch sitting area allows great people-watching and shelters guests from sudden rain storms.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard; street-facing rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. Our location and the cleanliness of our rooms are just a few of our top selling points. We are indeed proud to have a very diverse staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    85
    97
    43
    76
See reviews for
22
106
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for New Years Eve...hotel was a block away from beach and festivities...Comfortable room, cute bar downstairs, friendly staff.... .Excellent location to enjoy South Beach, restaurants and the scene!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay. We are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Decent hotel - nice and clean rooms. Could have more bright lighting in the room. But the decor of the room is good. Rooms are clean and spacious and very friendly and helpful staff. Parkign as expected is a problem in miami beach - but the hotel staff give honest options for street parking or valet depending on your requirements and stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms. We hope to have you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed there with my son in Oct. 2012. It is a very nice hotel with a bit of a morrocean theme to it. Our room was a suite with a king bed and full kitchen. It is very updated and modern. They have a free continental breakfast at the bar every morning. The only real problem I had was the noisiness but i know that wasn't the hotels fault. It's less than a block away from the beach and close to a parking garage. Very nice location where you can walk to everything including Washington Ave. Where there are some pretty hip places to shop and eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the hotel. We are indeed walking distance from the major attractions, clubs and less than a block from the beach. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Beach Plaza Hotel is an economy boutique hotel with a great location. If you are looking for anything other then the basic necessities, such as a beach towel you will not find it. The hotel has one ice machine, and no vending machines. The hotel does have a lobby bar with $9 cocktails. The bar tenders are at least friendly. The breakfast room is supposed to be open from 8:00 – 9:30, which is wishful thinking. The items available in the breakfast rooms are extremely limited with signs posted only one of any item per person. The courtyard area is a nice place to sit, but you can’t get any food or service in the courtyard. The hotel has a very small elevator that can hold only three people. However several of the rooms on the second floor have no access to the elevator. The rooms can be best described as Spartan. Don’t expect to find a desk, a chair or any other furniture other then a bed, lamp and a TV. If you want to use the Internet, it is free but the signal is intermittent at best. The plumbing in the hotel seems to be antiquated with water from sinks draining very slowly. If you are looking for a cup in your room you will find then hidden in the ice bucket. The front desk staff is extremely inefficient and not very hospitable to guests. If you are looking for food, even in the bar you will be handed a take out menu. If you want a cup of coffee or tea, you will be sent to a nearby restaurant no place to get coffee in hotel no coffee makers available. If you ask to speak to a manager you might as well be asking to speak to G-D. The hotel lacks any sign of visible management and management will not speak to guests if they have challenges. The hotel has a great concierge named Brian and a bell staff that is very helpful. The hotel has a good location close to restaurant row and easy access to the beach. This hotel is suitable for anyone who wants location but requires or wants no service. I have stayed in nicer Motel 6 rooms then this hotel, the advantage to a stay at a Motel 6 you can get coffee, water, snacks, and soft drinks. There is a difference between economy and cheap and the management of this hotel is going for cheap. This property is not group friendly. There are many better properties in the same price range in similar locations that understand the word hospitality. The rooms are not inexpensive and the hotel goes for cheap not economy.

Room Tip: The so called suites on the second floor do not have elevator access. Check to see which appliances...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to give such a detailed feedback. We would like to clarify some points mentioned in this review. We serve breakfast every morning at 8am. There are 365 days in a year; it may be opened a few minutes after 8am maybe twice in a year. With that said, breakfast is served on time. The courtyard is just that, a courtyard. There are no activities in the courtyard except for sitting or lounging. The hotel is a boutique historic building that has an elevator which is protected under the historic board. It does hold three people at a time and there is nothing the hotel can do about that at this time. It is serviced monthly and very safe. There is never a guest who did not enjoy his or her stay due to the elevator. This is because we have a bellman on duty and the main building is only three-stories. We have 3 buildings. The main building has 55 rooms with an elevator. All rooms in the main building have access to the elevator. The other 2 buildings have 2 floors each. We have 5 different room types. We have a presidential suite, bungalows, studio suites, standard kings and doubles. All rooms come with varying décor and furniture. The ideal place to store cups for ice, is in the ice bucket; such an easy find. The property is very group-friendly. For the year 2012, we have successfully accommodated 33 groups, 15 of which are repeat business. The hotel, as was commended in this review, has great service such as concierge and bell services. Our average occupancy is 98% with only 77 rooms. Hence most of our guests do enjoy their stays with us. We are definitely not the Motel 6. The hotels in this Art Deco district do not strive to be a flagged property. Hence the term boutique. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Purchased this hotel stay for 1 night through Travelocity.com Secret Hotel program so we didn't know the hotel until after we purchased the room. Got the info from travelocity after buying the room from them. Called the hotel to find out exactly where they were located and how to get to their parking lot. Unfortunately I was giving the information that they only had $25 a day valet parking available. (Not listed on the website when I bought it from Travelocity but im not sure if this is more travelocity's fault or the hotel). Arrive at the hotel to check in and I am informed that in addition to the Money I Paid for the Room, and valet I will also be charged a mandatory fee for breakfast, wine tasting, WiFi, and a towel. $11.99 a day non-waivable. As fast as im racking up fee's I could have stayed at a Hyatt. Finally get checked in and get to the room and as we walk down the hall your met with strange oders as well as a musty, moldy smell. The rooms have safes but they dont work so dont leave your valuables in the room. The bed has one of those nasty old style comforters that haven't been washed in months and the when I pulled back the sheets there was pubic hairs in the bed. I am a global traveler and I spend 50% of my time in hotels all over the world. I can tell you this one is on my list of top 5 worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Will not be back and would encourage you to look for a better place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. The fees listed are on the websites of all our vendors and that of the hotel. So hence these are cannot be classified as hidden fees. Our rooms are inspected everyday and our linens are definitely washed. The hotel does allow any dirty linen in our rooms. There are two main reasons our guests keeping coming back to our hotel: location and cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice hotel but nothing exceptional. you paid for what you get.
Place for holiday makers, clear, large room but lousy breakfast.
Late cleaning of the room is somewhat an issue other travelers have as well reported
Is 3 minutes on foot from ocean drive and the beaches and a couple of block down collins avenue so overall a very good price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel will gladly accommodate any requests for early or late service once the housekeeping department is informed. We are located in the heart of South Beach and is within walking distance from the major hot spots. Come and visit with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.