We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to south beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Beach Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Beach Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Walk to south beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed there with my son in Oct. 2012. It is a very nice hotel with a bit of a morrocean theme to it. Our room was a suite with a king bed and full kitchen. It is very updated and modern. They have a free continental breakfast at the bar every morning. The only real problem I had was the noisiness but i know that wasn't the hotels fault. It's less than a block away from the beach and close to a parking garage. Very nice location where you can walk to everything including Washington Ave. Where there are some pretty hip places to shop and eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the hotel. We are indeed walking distance from the major attractions, clubs and less than a block from the beach. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    76
    92
    36
    78
See reviews for
30
110
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Beach Plaza Hotel is an economy boutique hotel with a great location. If you are looking for anything other then the basic necessities, such as a beach towel you will not find it. The hotel has one ice machine, and no vending machines. The hotel does have a lobby bar with $9 cocktails. The bar tenders are at least friendly. The breakfast room is supposed to be open from 8:00 – 9:30, which is wishful thinking. The items available in the breakfast rooms are extremely limited with signs posted only one of any item per person. The courtyard area is a nice place to sit, but you can’t get any food or service in the courtyard. The hotel has a very small elevator that can hold only three people. However several of the rooms on the second floor have no access to the elevator. The rooms can be best described as Spartan. Don’t expect to find a desk, a chair or any other furniture other then a bed, lamp and a TV. If you want to use the Internet, it is free but the signal is intermittent at best. The plumbing in the hotel seems to be antiquated with water from sinks draining very slowly. If you are looking for a cup in your room you will find then hidden in the ice bucket. The front desk staff is extremely inefficient and not very hospitable to guests. If you are looking for food, even in the bar you will be handed a take out menu. If you want a cup of coffee or tea, you will be sent to a nearby restaurant no place to get coffee in hotel no coffee makers available. If you ask to speak to a manager you might as well be asking to speak to G-D. The hotel lacks any sign of visible management and management will not speak to guests if they have challenges. The hotel has a great concierge named Brian and a bell staff that is very helpful. The hotel has a good location close to restaurant row and easy access to the beach. This hotel is suitable for anyone who wants location but requires or wants no service. I have stayed in nicer Motel 6 rooms then this hotel, the advantage to a stay at a Motel 6 you can get coffee, water, snacks, and soft drinks. There is a difference between economy and cheap and the management of this hotel is going for cheap. This property is not group friendly. There are many better properties in the same price range in similar locations that understand the word hospitality. The rooms are not inexpensive and the hotel goes for cheap not economy.

Room Tip: The so called suites on the second floor do not have elevator access. Check to see which appliances...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to give such a detailed feedback. We would like to clarify some points mentioned in this review. We serve breakfast every morning at 8am. There are 365 days in a year; it may be opened a few minutes after 8am maybe twice in a year. With that said, breakfast is served on time. The courtyard is just that, a courtyard. There are no activities in the courtyard except for sitting or lounging. The hotel is a boutique historic building that has an elevator which is protected under the historic board. It does hold three people at a time and there is nothing the hotel can do about that at this time. It is serviced monthly and very safe. There is never a guest who did not enjoy his or her stay due to the elevator. This is because we have a bellman on duty and the main building is only three-stories. We have 3 buildings. The main building has 55 rooms with an elevator. All rooms in the main building have access to the elevator. The other 2 buildings have 2 floors each. We have 5 different room types. We have a presidential suite, bungalows, studio suites, standard kings and doubles. All rooms come with varying décor and furniture. The ideal place to store cups for ice, is in the ice bucket; such an easy find. The property is very group-friendly. For the year 2012, we have successfully accommodated 33 groups, 15 of which are repeat business. The hotel, as was commended in this review, has great service such as concierge and bell services. Our average occupancy is 98% with only 77 rooms. Hence most of our guests do enjoy their stays with us. We are definitely not the Motel 6. The hotels in this Art Deco district do not strive to be a flagged property. Hence the term boutique. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Purchased this hotel stay for 1 night through Travelocity.com Secret Hotel program so we didn't know the hotel until after we purchased the room. Got the info from travelocity after buying the room from them. Called the hotel to find out exactly where they were located and how to get to their parking lot. Unfortunately I was giving the information that they only had $25 a day valet parking available. (Not listed on the website when I bought it from Travelocity but im not sure if this is more travelocity's fault or the hotel). Arrive at the hotel to check in and I am informed that in addition to the Money I Paid for the Room, and valet I will also be charged a mandatory fee for breakfast, wine tasting, WiFi, and a towel. $11.99 a day non-waivable. As fast as im racking up fee's I could have stayed at a Hyatt. Finally get checked in and get to the room and as we walk down the hall your met with strange oders as well as a musty, moldy smell. The rooms have safes but they dont work so dont leave your valuables in the room. The bed has one of those nasty old style comforters that haven't been washed in months and the when I pulled back the sheets there was pubic hairs in the bed. I am a global traveler and I spend 50% of my time in hotels all over the world. I can tell you this one is on my list of top 5 worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Will not be back and would encourage you to look for a better place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. The fees listed are on the websites of all our vendors and that of the hotel. So hence these are cannot be classified as hidden fees. Our rooms are inspected everyday and our linens are definitely washed. The hotel does allow any dirty linen in our rooms. There are two main reasons our guests keeping coming back to our hotel: location and cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice hotel but nothing exceptional. you paid for what you get.
Place for holiday makers, clear, large room but lousy breakfast.
Late cleaning of the room is somewhat an issue other travelers have as well reported
Is 3 minutes on foot from ocean drive and the beaches and a couple of block down collins avenue so overall a very good price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel will gladly accommodate any requests for early or late service once the housekeeping department is informed. We are located in the heart of South Beach and is within walking distance from the major hot spots. Come and visit with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was not ready at the 3pm check in time. We were upgraded to a room in the front of the hotel. It was a nice room but awful location. It was so loud we didn't sleep for 2nights. Also, upon arrival the first hotel clerk was very rude but all others were pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do have rooms located at the front of the hotel which are larger and have more amenities. However, they overlook Collins Avenue which can be a little noisy depending on the activities in South Beach at the time of your stay. With that said, South Beach is not known for being a quiet city. Most guests expect to go out and have a wild time. We also have rooms facing the courtyard. Please be sure to request one of those the next time you come to visit. Our front desk agents are shown all reviews including yours and corrective measures are always taken to ensure improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I Recommend this place if you want a clean, reasonable place in a great area! The service was fantastic too. Breakfast served until about 945. Tons of nice places nearby to eat, club and beach. I went to the club mansion nearby and also the clevelander, two cool spots

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Okay, so it's not the Ritz, but then it's not priced to be, reception staf were helpful and friendly, given that the first room I was allocated, still had people in it.. they pretty quickly got me another, room was clean, bed was a good size, furniture a little 90's, the air con a bit noisey, like an old chevy or something, but I had plenty of storage space and mini dressing room, the safe battery ran out, but the shower was hot as a turkish sauna, and everything was kept as clean as possible.
Continental breakfast OJ and Coffee and Muffins for on the run.
On business, so just doing 3 nights, don't need luxury and it's just me, central / clean / cheap.

Room Tip: Try and stay at the back - off Collins as it's busy, try and check out the Air Con for noise.. t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpowe002, General Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel endeavors to make every guest happy. Come and visit with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;