We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a classic South Beach art deco hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Website Special!
Ranked #28 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“This is a classic South Beach art deco hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

The hotel staff was beyond courteous. The desk staff called me by name every time I entered or left and they were prompt about responding to any request I made. The hotel itself is nicely remodeled, but maintains its historic character. This hotel had plenty of smoking rooms available, a rarity in these day of fussy, fastidious, guests and lazy hoteliers who find it too troublesome to thoroughly clean rooms and to put up with complaints by lily-livered, effeminate customers. My room was small but not claustrophobic. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was equipped with a flat screen T.V. and cable. My only criticisms were that the valet parking was very slow and the restaurant's seating was mainly outside - stifling in Miami during September. This is now my hotel of choice in Miami. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    571
    175
    52
    36
See reviews for
228
652
61
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

First of all, for all you people who have never been to SoBe, the saying "you can't be too thin or too rich" to party in SoBe IS NOT TRUE!!! No matter your age, your shape, your looks, it IS the place to be and let go...however the #1 requirement is that you plan on letting go and having fun. Having said that, I highly recommend The Beacon at 720 Ocean Drive as your "base station" - trust me, you will be on the beach all day, nap, (SoBe does not get started until at least 10pm however Mango's goes 23 hours a day for your day folks!!!) then out all night, so in any case, I have found that The Beacon is by far the best for "art deco" historical hotel", cleanliness, warming and inviting staff, everyone who works there could not be nicer and it is a perfect location! Be warned, "art deco" hotel means, small rooms, small bathrooms, small small small as they were built 80 years ago, but so cozy clean quaint and "with it" - complete with room safe, robes, toiletries, radio with Ipod player, etc etc..........so have fun! Stay at the Beacon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

the room was nice, bathroom a bit small, we liked the second floor area with the small outside sitting area. we would like to stay there again but a bit further down the hall it was very noisey with the sevice area and road next to us. i was planning on sending you an e mail ,to let you know i left my gym bag in the gym a day later when i realized it was missing it was at the front desk. that is very important to know you have trusted people on your staff. i have many on my staff as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Great hotel, stayed with 5 guys for an extended long weekend. So easy. From MIA airport taxi ride is $35, and you will be on the beach within 40 minutes. Staff are great. Everything was as expected.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Beacon hotel showed great customer service fromthe moment I called inquiring information about the hotel. The staff had a great deal and had such great service I booked immediately. When I arrived the front desk was very kind and the bellhop was very kind as well. The room was nice and clean any time you called for serviced it was done promptly. I really enjoyed my stay and my husband did as well, and anytime we need a place to stay on the beach The Beacon Hotel will it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed in Room 402 (Ocean front) from Sat 4 Sept to Wed 8 Sept 2010 (Labour long weekend). I have posted photos from this room. We booked this accommodation directly with the Hotel as they offer good discounts

It was comfortable and we had a good stay and great sleep on those beds. However, the guys next door were having a party from early evening until late and you can certainly hear everything (music, voices). The walls are quite thin so make sure you have the TV on. Fortunately, we went out on Saturday and Sunday night until the next morning, so if the noise from next door carried on all night, it did not bother us. There was no noise in the following nights

The Hotel staff is really friendly and they always try to accommodate to all your requests. Housekeeping does also good job. Room photos from the hotel website are accurate

They offer a complementary continental breakfast (coffee or tea, muesli or yoghurt, croissant, toast or cheese bagel and OJ) which available from 9am to 11am. In contradiction to some reviews, the service was quick and efficient. Tea facilities are not available at your room. However, there are tea/coffee facilities (complementary) available on the first floor only from 7am to 11am. We think this should be available 24 hours or after breakfast. Wi-fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge

If you wish a romantic getaway and relax atmosphere in Miami, probably this hotel is not suitable for you. It is in the middle of South Beach and that means drinks 2 x1 (promotions everywhere), lively music until late and party party at any time!

It is a long way from Australia but we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

At check-in, the front desk clerk, Christopher was very professional and friendly. He was welcoming and helpful with answering any questions. We enjoyed talking to him.
Our room, 501, was decorated with upscale touches. I loved the turquise and white decor. It also had a pretty view of the ocean accross the street. Nice touches throughout, with a very small but adequate bathroom.
What I liked most about this boutique hotel was its location and topnotch service. If I had to critique at all, it would be that they could update the lobby area.
We had a great time going to a Phillies/Marlins game and enjoying the beautiful, warm water at South Beach!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.