We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is awesome! Great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Website Special!
Ranked #26 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Daly City, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location is awesome! Great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Location you would definitely look for when in South Beach. We had a car but, you can be really car-free if you choose. Beach front location, restaurants, bars, shopping, nightlife. what else could you ask for? We took $1 (or less) pp bus ride to trendy Lincoln Ave. Please be sure that you take the small bus (dare to ask locals).
I appreciate the staff calling me via my cell that my room is ready though I did not request to be called. The room is big, BUT the floor 'feels' dirty-- which I suppose comes naturally of the tiles. My other and main gripe is that a space could be use for desk furniture for guests to use as it's inconvenient to use a computer on bed. Overall, it's a nice, satisfying couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    535
    168
    48
    35
See reviews for
210
612
58
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Location, Location, Location!!! If you are looking to be right in the middle of th action this is the place. Located on Ocean Dr, the beach is right across the street and the sidewalks are lined with bars and restaurants. The hotel itself was "okay". The room was clean but the windows were glued shut and the bathroom was tiny. Pretty outdated but in South Beach it's either outdated or super expensive and if your not looking for anything fancy and want a good location then this would probably work for you. We only paid $150 night. Parking is $20 day valet. This is a good location for couples, singles and party people, not for families. When we arrived it took us half hour just to find the valet because the streets get so packed with people, it's crazy.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I fully enjoyed my Beacon stay. Don't hesitate to book here. My one small complaint was that my ocean-front room did not have a desk to do work on. Otherwise, I will be back over and over.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

My husband and I checked in here for one night after a long weekend in Key West. We weren't looking for "the" party spot but we wanted to be in the action. First, leave yourself plenty of time - the traffic on Ocean is horrible. You are better off to go down Collins and then turn right to come back in front of the hotel - just to get the hotel (5 blocks) took us about an hour.

Check-in was super easy except there was a ton of people in the hotel bar and it was somewhat difficult to hear the front desk employee. We got the AAA rate and were sent to our room. We had a nice view of the back alley, but the room was spacious and clean.

We weren't in the room much - we headed out for dinner and drinks and then just came back and went right to sleep. We were up at 7am the next morning for our flight so there wasn't much time for anything to go wrong, but for the time we were there it was very nice. The thing to remember is that Miami Beach is a party spot - so when you are woke up a 3am to people screaming in the hall you really shouldn't be surprised. If you are going to Miami Beach with friends to party and go to the beach - this is the hotel for you. I did notice in the closet beach chairs too!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Thank you to the caring staff at the Beacon Hotel who truly made our stay a pleasure! I will miss the attentiveness of Julianna, Alex and Christian. They genuinely care for their guests and exceeded our expectations.The ocean front room was great! Clean linens, a comfortable bed, internet service and complimentary breakfast at Johnny Rockets-Who could ask for more! The beach is located right across the street and the hotel is within walking distance of Lincoln Rd etc. This is our second stay at the Beacon. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small, clean hotel with personalized service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Beacon for 3 nights in April. Overall we really liked the hotel. Pros: The location is awesome, so many things to do within walking distance from the hotel. We used valet parking, and actually didn't get our car out anytime we were there. We just walked everywhere. The staff is super nice, and very helpful. Our room was great, with a wonderfully plush king sized bed. The bathrooms, although really small, were cute and I liked the aveda products they had for you to use. They also provide complimentary beach chairs and towels for you to use. Oh, and wireless high speed internet access is also complimentary, which we liked because we'd taken a laptop with us.
Cons: When we got there I thought the floor felt gritty, and I wondered if it had been cleaned when the last people left. And I don't think it got swept or anything when we were there. Aside from that the room seemed rly clean. Also, the "view" out our window was the roof of the building next door, but I guess that's what you get when you don't pay extra for an ocean view.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Location is the biggest plus point.. Although the rooms are a bit small and cramped the location and the friendly service outweighs the cons.. Free breakfast next door was a plus and so was the valet service.. We requested the car to be brought about 3 times during our stay and each time the valet turnaround time was less than 20 minutes.. one minor issue was the drinks and snacks provided in the room fridge.. be careful .. they charge exorbitant rates for them..

Overall quite satisfied..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.