We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find in South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Website Special!
Ranked #27 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A find in South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Beacon has perfect location, across from a great stretch of beach, and a friendly attitude that more than make up for the lack of a swimming pool and other amenities. One of its selling features, at least for me, was the great American-style breakfast offered at curbside, and included in the room price.

The room I stayed in had a king-sized bed, no view, and was rather small - yet cheerful and tasteful in its contemporary decor, with a well-stocked tiny bathroom and excellent quality and number of towels.

Overall, I would certainly go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    570
    174
    52
    35
See reviews for
228
648
61
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Beacon Hotel was everything we've come to expect from sexy SoBe! The employees are friendly and willing to do all in their power to make sure your comfort is priority one. I emailed them prior to arriving and ask for a comp upgrade since if was our honeymoon and they were more than happy to do so. The Ocean Front room was AWESOME! The windows open so you can enjoy the sites and sounds of Miami and don't worry about noise, the windows are practically sound proof. Will definitely stay again. Its awesome for families and more so for couples i.e the comfortable bed ;)

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the South side but the street noise from the Ocean View was very mild. One can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I were there for only one day, but It was GREAT! The staff is so friendly and very professional. Hotel was so modern, but still kept that Art Deco vibe... Loved it! BEST location hands down... Beach is right across the street and right outside the lobby you can sit back, have a mojito and people watch. Oh yea, you gotta get a Brazilian mojito at the lobby bar. EXCELLENT!!! Would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in the Beacon Hotel for one night on our arrival in Miami before a cruise the next day. Location was fabulous. We managed to go the beach for a couple of hours and fit in a bit of shopping in Collins Ave we had a few hours to kill before our departure. The free breakfast and beach towels were a big plus. Our room was 2 double beds which were comfortable with good quality bedding. The bathroom was pretty small but served us ok as it was just for 1 night, probably would have been a problem had we stayed longer. The staff were all lovely and very accommodating during our stay. The restaurant looked lively in the evening although we didn't use it other than breakfast. Cocktails were good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back to avoid Ocean Drive night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the last night of our holiday and we chose the Beacon on a recommendation from Tripadvisor. On arrival the valet parking worked like clockwork and we were quickly inside this beautifully restored hotel being greeted and checked in by the friendly and professional staff. We had been invited to confirm and refine our room choice by email in advance which was a nice touch. Our lovely room was on the top floor with a great view over the beach. Only criticisms are the surprisingly poor sound insulation between rooms and the lack of any shelving or storage space in the dimly lit shower room - a case of style over content! The staff are the outstanding feature of this hotel and made our stay really special - thank you!

Room Tip: We asked for great view so that looks across to the beach and there was very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed at the beacon hotel two nights ago with my husband. We had a layover in Miami for the night and we decided to stay on south beach. The hotel has an unbeatable location. You can walk right across the street and be at the beach of wall down the beach for any bar or restaurant. The hotel had a free breakfast which is nice (okay breakfast, nothing crazy). The staff is really nice and they held our bags for us after we checked out (we still had some time before the flight) and called a cab for us. Overall clean, nice hotel. The bathroom was the only thing I really hated. The bathroom was tiny and had a weird clear door. It was a little weird for my husband to be able to see me on the toilet even though the door was shut. The bathroom also only had one light so it was pretty dank in there. The room itself was clean and decorated well. Overall it was a good stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Pros:
Across the road from the beach. Towels, beach chairs and umbrella provided free of charge.
Breakfast included in price.
Friendly staff.
Reasonably good fitness room.
Free wifi for as many devices as you have.
Free iced pink lemonade on first floor for all guests.
Comfy bed.

Cons:
Rooms are adjoining and you can often hear other guests.
Safe too small to fit laptops.

Overall, for the price we paid it was a good hotel to explore South Beach from. Probably a three star hotel. Book Ocean Drive facing room, if you can.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.