We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Advance Purchase Discount
Ranked #28 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here twice. Great price and location. The complimentary breakfast and beach chairs are bonuses. The rooms and bathrooms are small which is typical of SoBe hotels and the elevator is soooooo slow. But, can't beat staying on Ocean. Same block as Wet Willies.Happy Hour at the restaurant and bar are hard to beach. The staff is friendly. The Beacon is officially on my recommendation for great hotels in SoBe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    632
    192
    54
    38
See reviews for
259
707
66
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed at The Beacon for three nights prior to a short cruise. We had an excellent stay. The hotel was clean and our room had a lovely view of Ocean Drive. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were greeted with a free mojito on arrival which went done very well-although it should be noted the restaurant/bar is not run by the hotel staff and the drinks our pricey outside happy hour-having said there the free at table service breakfast on the terrace was very good. The hotel is on Twitter and their social media man Christian is very good and keeping the feed up to date. We hope to come out again next February and look forward to utilising the newly refurbished roof terrace.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I just returned from a weekend visit to the Beacon South Beach in Miami. It has been a couple of years since I was there and I was very pleased to see that everything was as I remembered. The entire staff was helpful, friendly and responsive from the point of arrival to my departure. The room was exceptionally clean and the beds may be the most comfortable in the world. It would be difficult to find a better location if you want to be in the middle of everything that South Beach has to offer. I highly recommend the Beacon South Beach without hesitation.

Room Tip: The beach front views are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Beacon for 3 nights. The room was good size - ours had a king and queen bed in it. The bathroom was on the smaller size - kind of like what you find in NYC. The room was clean and they provided beach chairs and towels. The staff was always friendly and very willing to help with suggestions on where to go! Derek was the best! We are in our early 40's so the location was a bit young for us (maybe due to spring break?) so we spent most of our evenings up near 17th around the Delano Hotel. Highly recomment Ola restaurant and the Delano pool bar after dinner!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights during a convention trip. The location is excellent and the service was great. The rooms are a bit small, but that didn't bother us at all. The included breakfast was good. We will be back to the Beacon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Beacon Hotel is a great option that will show as clean, friendly, safe, and efficient to any Miami visitor. I spend 3 nights here with 2 other friends in March. I have to say the service and staff alone made the experience unbelievable and memorable at the same time. Every time we arrived back to our hotel, we were always greeted very kindly by the lobby. For my friend's birthday, they had coordinated a birthday cake be delivered to the room with balloons. The Beacon is perfect for any age and couldn't have been more perfect for our first time in Miami.

The Beacon Hotel also has delicious food and a fun atmosphere outside! There is so much heckling on the streets of Miami that it can be overwhelming, but the Beacon staff always made it very clear that you were an important guest and make sure you were being taken care of.

Rooms are small/er, but it's definitely overlooked by the good rates and perfect location right in the heart of the art district. Clean and updated rooms with neat furniture. Bathrooms are small.

All in all, the Beacon was a very good stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Beacon is located right on Ocean Drive, the main drag in the beating heart of South Beach, overlooking the beach on the other side of the street. The staff, Alex in particular, could not have been more helpful and welcoming - a great respite in a sea of craziness outside. Rooms are well decorated in bright cool colors and have minibars, espresso machines, beach towels- all the essentials! The free breakfast was great! Like most hotels in South Beach, the Beacon is an historic building, not new, so the inevitable paint cracking is there. But they keep the place in good shape. If you value the ocean /street view it is worth splurging for a front facing room, especially if you are an early riser and can enjoy the view before the crowds descend on South Beach. It helps to be a sound sleeper as the noise outside continues until the wee hours! All hotels on the strip will have this problem. I was there for 5 days for business and relaxation- it was my home away from home!

Room Tip: Corner suites, higher up, have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Greetings Heidi,

It was a pleasure to have read your review! It is always heart warming when our guest express their positive experience in the manner your review did. It was an honor to have had you stay with us. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the world and we hope to see you back soon.

Best Travels,

Alexis Espinosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.