We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall recomend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Early Bird Special!
Ranked #22 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Califon, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall recomend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The location of this hotel is prime! It's and old historic type of hotel. Nothing special, however we found all of the staff to be extremely professional and personable. Breakfast coupon from the front desk gave guests a free, full not continental, breakfast! Groupon got us a free Mojito at lobby bar (delicious). My wife told me it was the best price out of all available hotels in the immediate area, I guess that South Beach sticker shock has me rattled!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    529
    168
    48
    33
See reviews for
208
607
57
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Beacon for three nights on a business trip, so I essentially was traveling alone. I checked in at night, and the woman at the front desk was very helpful. Check-in was a breeze. The hotel is located in a busy spot on Ocean Drive just across from the beach. Lots of cafes, bars, restaurants within easy walking distance.

I stayed in a king room that had pretty much no view. The room was small, but very comfortable. Except for the Thursday night of my stay, I heard no real Ocean Dr noise & the hotel was pretty quiet, which was nice considering its location. My three biggest complaints about the room are: 1) The only plug to use was in the bathroom. This meant that I could plug in my phone or tablet at night, all the way across the room from where I was sleeping. And when I used my laptop, I had to plug it in in the bathroom and be grateful, the cord reached to the bed where I was working. That was super annoying. I know the building is old, but there needs to be an additional plug, or a power strip made available.

2) The small glass shelf in the bathroom is not sturdy. Every time I picked up or put down my toothbrush, everything would topple off the shelf. This is most inconvenient when there is no bathroom storage at all.

3). The only big mirror in the room is a half mirror. It would be nice to have a full length mirror. I mean, this is South Beach, where appearance is everything, and I can't see my shoes in the mirror.

The room was clean. The bed was super comfortable. The only weird thing is that it seemed like the tissue box got wet at some point and was never replaced, so all the tissues were hard and unusable. I didn't complain, but it would have been nice for housekeeping to notice.

If you plan ahead, the valet is great. We usually tried to call down ahead of time or tell them at night when we needed the car, and it was always right on time. The hotel also was efficient and very helpful at calling me a cab when it was time to leave.

I enjoyed my stay at the Beacon and would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable South Beach stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswold, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed feb 1st for one night... Perfect location to walk up and down the strip, service was excellent! Clean room, kinda small but there older style hotels on the entire strip. For under 300 a night Definitely worth the money. Very COLD hotel just the way I like it, they had the hotel and rooms set at like 60 degrees... All in all great hotel

You really don't need a vehicle, if you do bring one its $20 bucks per day for valet.. Worth it, parking is impossible! There are bike rentals up and down the strip VERY easy self serve system.

Dan from CT

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked an ocean front room through Travelzoo (sorry Tripadvisor), and we were awarded with a great little room on top floor overlooking the beach. From the moment we got to the Beacon, the staff was fantastic, from stopping traffic on Ocean Blvd so the Valet folks could unload the car and whisk it away to amazing house keeping and a great staff that bent over backwards to get us whatever we needed whenever we needed it. This was the hotel where the famous 'chainsaw' scene from SCARFACE was filmed (they've updated it since then... harhar), and it was kinda' cool to be in hotel that was a part of such great Hollywood history. Yes, I am a huge Al Pacino fan. We just love South Beach and everything about the Beacon harkens back to an elegant time. It was a wonderful stay and we highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The room was lovely. Great view of the ocean from the window. The staff at the front desk were all very nice and helpful.
The room provided beach towels and beach chairs for us.
This hotel is in the center of all the action!


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great spot among it all in South Beach, easy walk to the water, restaurants, clubs and Liberty Mall.

Really helpful staff, lovely retro décor and setting, though the rooms are pretty tight. Breakfast is included and was a pleasant surprise - several quality options and a nice setting on the patio watching life go by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was a great hotel. Love the location. Comfortable beds and nice clean room. Breakfast was included and it was awesome. Very friendly staff. Would stay there again. No pool onsite but the Beach is a stones throw

Room Tip: No Pool onsite. Did not realise till I arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.