We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location. Right across the street from the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Website Special!
Ranked #27 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Right across the street from the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location. Located directly across from the beach. Great people watching. The view from our room was blocked by tree. Sad because we could of had a great view of the beach. The staff was helpful and welcoming. Wanted to ensure that we had a great stay. I hated that our room was by the elevator. Very noisy. We couldn't move because it was a busy weekend, Labor day. That is one of the reasons why the room cost so much.very expensive for the room size. But over all it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello Nykole,

Thank you for visiting us from all the way from Los Angeles. California is a beautiful state, I have been there many times. And thank you for your comments of our staff, we really do try hard to make sure that our guest are comfortable and having the best experience possible while visiting us.

Thank you again for understanding that during dates like Labor day, things do get a bit lively in Miami Beach. Especially on Ocean Dr where we are located since the beach and most restaurants are right there.

It was our pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    535
    169
    48
    35
See reviews for
211
612
58
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staying across the street from the beach is always a plus. However the food was excellent, staff was extremely friendly as well as helpful and they worked very hard to provide the small comforts of home. I loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Salutations Clewi,

Thank you so much for making us your destination while visiting Miami Beach. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff's sociability. We understand that most of our guest come from many different parts of the world and as such need the reassurance that their hotel is there as an anchor when needed.

Thank you again for staying with us!

Kind Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austell, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

First, the good... 1. Great location just a brief walk to the beach, 2. Reasonably priced for the area, 3. Surprisingly the noise outside wasn't a disturbance inside, 4. Very cute, clean, cozy hotel room in which I want to take the bed and bedding home with me, 5. The door man (Julio I think) was sooooooooooooo so so so nice and welcoming (and I swear he could be a star on Hawaii 5-0!) and 6. they supply lawn chairs for the beach...loved that! Secondly, the not so good... 1. Noise inside the hotel... Doors slam (need some sort of barrier so they don't slam so loudly...I thought I was involved in numerous lovers quarrels due to all of the purposeful or not door slamming) and then I could here every loud zombie nails on chalkboard screeching sound of furniture (furniture needs padding on the legs so when housekeeping or patrons move it you don't have to hear it so loudly...) So distracting! 2. The Place dining at the hotel, not so "the place" to eat...it was okay like a 3 out of 5 stars. I would stay here again, but would have to hope and pray I could at least get some sleep when I want without hearing slamming doors every 5 minutes and screeching furniture over the tile floors...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Brandy,

Thank you so much for making the Beacon hotel your destination while in Miami Beach!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel as you did and if you like some information on our bedding please don't be shy about calling us anytime. I must admit, we laughed a bit at the Hawaii 5-0 complement you gave our Julio. Know that have just single-handedly created a new nickname for him.

Again I would like to say thank you for your sound suggestions. Know that these are options that we are now strongly considering. It's reviews like yours that really help us improve as Hotel and we are really grateful.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushnell, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Awesome hotel with awesome staff! You cannot get any better as far as location within walking distance of everything. And the restaurant outfront was very good. Room was clean and I will say had a lot of ammenities that most don't carry! The only thing I don't recommend would be an Oceanview room because not only does it face the ocean, it faces the nightlife which you hear music and traffic all through the night.

Room Tip: The only thing I don't recommend would be an Oceanview room because not only does it face the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Bridget,

Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for your good praises. We are happy that you enjoyed our amenities and how well we keep our rooms. I make sure to let our housekeeping department know!

Yes, being in the heart of Ocean Dr means we are in the middle of the action. Know that we are taking your review in to consideration and looking in to rectification action. These reviews help us deliver an always improving experience for our guest.

Thank you again for letting us serve you.

Kind Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The reviews for this hotel were right on the money, I was glad we booked here. We were only staying in South Beach one night just to experience the area, and we knew this was an older boutique style hotel and in a great location. It was chaos for sure as we arrived Sunday of Labor Day Weekend, but with a little patience we pulled up, the valet came out quickly, got us checked in and the front desk staff was great. As others mentioned the rooms are smaller than you would normally like, but being an older property had no concerns. It was great to be able to walk right out to the beach, as well as just hanging out on ocean drive and people watching. With the ocean front room, there were a couple times where we woke up during the night because of the loud music in cars driving by, but not too bad, and again we expected it. I probably won't stay here again, but that's only because I wasn't real big on south beach overall. We're in our late 40's, so south beach is a bit outside of our demographic. but we were glad we checked it out for that one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your understanding. We are really happy to hear that your one night experience was a success and that you chose us. We were happy to be part of your little experiment! I will be sure to share this great review with the rest of the staff to show that our commitment to our guest reflects in more ways than we know.

Thank you for understanding that as much as we want to we cannot there somethings that are out of our control during special holidays.

We would love to see you back at calmer times where you can really enjoy Miami Beach for it's true essence. Months of September-October would be perfect for it.

Thank you again for your stay!

Kind Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great friendly staff, free internet and basic breakfast. The hotel is in the middle of the nightlife action and across the street from the beach. Rooms are a bit small for the price, but are clean and nicely kept.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear esteemed guest,

Thank you for visiting us from all the way in Hong Kong! Thank you for the compliment of our staff; it's reviews like these that let us know that our dedication to our guest is being felt.

We like to think of our rooms as cozy; Our hotel (like the majority on the Ocean Drive strip) was built in the 1930's. Because of the date built they fall under the historical monument protection act. Which makes it a historical land mark and protects it from us altering the building in any sort of way. This is why we are a boutique hotel and part of the art deco district. We love to share our rich history with our guest.

Thank you again for letting us serve you.

Kind Regards,
Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our first trip to Miami in general and South Beach in particular, so the choice of hotel was something of a gamble. However what we found was a wonderfully located and wonderfully relaxed, well-run place with great staff who really helped make the holiday. The breakfast choice was good, and while we ate elsewhere quite a bit for lunches and evening meals not least so we didn't choose the hotel by default, when we did eat there the food was extremely good, as was the service. You are a hop and a skip from the beach, and a also not a bad stroll up to Lincoln Road Mall for the shops and for us, mostly the restaurants. Hotel room was well-furnished, and always immaculate following room service with an abundance of fluffy white towels, toiletries, and - very useful - beach towels too. Lovely hotel with lovely people - yes, loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you Gwenda!

It was our pleasure in making it the best experience possible while visiting the states. I will be sure to your share your wonderful praises with out staff.

Yes, The Beacon is right on the heart of Miami Beach's ocean drive. The beach is right in front of our building and restaurants and night life but steps away. We always encourage our guest to take advantage of this unique convenience.

Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.