We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart & beat of South Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$129 September Special!
Ranked #26 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cheshire, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Right in the heart & beat of South Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Attentive staff, wonderful decor & great atmosphere right on South Beach with all of the excitement & people watching. Right across the street is the beach with the Atlantic Ocean temperature right where you want it. We stayed there 2nd week of August..... Exciting!

Room Tip: If you like the excitement & noise of the party going on the sidewalk below & sleep well, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so very much for choosing the Beacon Hotel as your preferred Hotel destination and for sharing this great review with us.

We do appreciate you giving us such a constructive feedback on your experience with us. I will make sure to share your kind comments with the entire Beacon team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Beacon Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    527
    168
    48
    33
See reviews for
206
600
57
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel was great!! The location is amazing and the staff went above and beyond whenever asked for something. When we arrived our room was not ready yet but we were offered access to changing rooms so we could hit the beach while we waited and refreshments to cool off. I asked if there was a fridge in the room as I was bringing delicacies from another country. Reynaldo at reception had the fridge emptied for us before we got into our rooms! The lobby is photo shoot heaven and the free breakfast was more than generous. It was fresh, hot and really good. The beds were fantastic, super comfortable! Special shout out to Reynaldo and Julio, for going the extra mile. We always felt welcomed as if we were coming home. Each time we walked in, we were greeted and all questions were answered with a smile. I WILL be returning to the Beacon!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to escape the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

We are very grateful that you chose the Beacon Hotel as your preferred holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do feel very honored!.

I will make sure to share your positive comments with Reynaldo, Julio, and the entire Beacon team. We are always happy to hear our guests loved the hotel and that we were able to provide the best service possible.

I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon!

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed June 29th-July 4th 2013. Third floor, our view wasn't anything to see but next doors roof. We took advice from other reviews and decided to stat away from the front because of noise.The hotel is nice for the price but I probably wouldn't stay again. We accidentally left our radar detector in a drawer and called a few hours later after checking out, of course they didn't find it. Our fault for leaving it but we know the maid had to have found it. Our room constantly smelled like incense, never quite figured out where the smell came from,it wasn't bad just odd, lol. The bathroom was very small but over all the room had that art deco feel, as it should for the area. Speaking of the area, I would have considered giving the hotel 4 stars but the location killed it. Ocean Drive is a nightmare. Bumper to bumper traffic on a two lane street. Extremely difficult to valet park. Walking on the Ocean Dr strip is awful. Imagine, hotel after hotel for about 10 blocks with sidewalk dining at each hotel, being pestered by every waiter and waitress, " Would you like to look at out menu?" Over an over, from morning to night. It was relentless. After a few days of this, lets just say, it gets very old very quick. Not to mention, every restaurant basically has the same menu and special and it is VERY over priced with sub-par food. The only one is worth eating at, Cafe Milano, the food is actually worth the price. There is a major Bait-And-Switch scam as well at the restaurants. They'll tell you one thing is the special, but watch how you order it because it doesn't show up that way and pay attention to your bill! This happened to us at the Ocean Grill, that's another review. My opinion is, if money isn't too much of an object, go stay somewhere closer to Lincoln Rd and Collins Ave or go farther down on Collins Ave, like The Palms.The Delano is a very nice hotel, a lot more $$ to stay at but worth it. If anything stay anywhere except on Ocean Dr. Just go there for the day to see the big fuss and then find some local hangouts. Tobacco Road is a great bar and restaurant, it is a must! It's not on So. Beach but not far away.
Also,
The hotel boast "free cocktail" for signing in on Facebook, we never got that and no one asked if we had. Free breakfast consists of the same boring limited menu (that is if you want your complimentary breakfast) it was nothing to write home about. Puerto Sagua is an authentic cuban diner, I believe it's on the corner of 7th and Washington. We found ourselves eating there a lot. It's less touristy and more local dining. Open for breakfast lunch and dinner, I highly recommend a cup of Cafe Con Leche . We also ate at Prime 112 on 1st street. Upscale dining, considered a celebrity eatery, of course more pricey side but not touristy, although the hostess and waitresses were slightly snobbish, yet another review for later.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Esteemed guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Beacon Hotel and for taking the time to review us.. I am very sorry to learn that our location was not to your liking.

Please be assured that we take such feedback seriously and the areas highlighted in your comments are being addressed for immediate improvement.

It is our hope that you would consider staying with us again if you return to South Beach.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son and I were recently guests (July 28, 2013 through August 1, 2013) at the Beacon Hotel on South Beach in Miami, Florida. The hotel is immaculate and in very very good condition. They are in the process of restoring and beautifying the rooms. However, the rooms that have not been upgraded are in very good condition. Apparently, all the rooms will be upgraded but they are upgrading a few rooms at a time. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is included with the room. There are several entrees to choose from and they are all great with coffee and orange juice. They provide beach towel and beach chairs. The managing staff and employees are very courteous and they are available to ensure that all guests are welcome and treated with respect and kindness. I highly recommend the Beacon Hotel for a great vacation on South Beach.

Room Tip: You can request an upgraded room. They are more colorful however, all the rooms are immaculate and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel and for providing such a positive feedback on your stay. Your satisfaction is the reason why we will always work hard and provide you with the very best.

Your positive comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the entire Beacon team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Right across the street from the beach and volleyball nets. There is no pool or spa but that seems to be fairly common of South Beach Hotels. The rooms are clean and the staff is all very friendly. The beach chairs provided are a very nice touch. They also provide free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the mornings along with a free breakfast voucher. Umbrellas are also provided for those rainy days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for a quick visit to Miami. All the hotel personnel were nice and we were very pleased with our room which was cute and clean. A great value with the FL resident discount- free parking and yummy free breakfast. My only tiny spot for improvement would be that the valet took longer than the advised twenty minutes to get our car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so very much for recently staying at the Beacon Hotel and for providing such a wonderful review. We are very grateful that you have chosen the Beacon Hotel as your preferred holiday destination. We are also pleased to know that your holiday experience met your expectations.

Your positive feedback about our services will definitely inspire us to continue to provide you with the very best. I will make sure to share your very constructive and positive comments on our Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back home in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Pond, Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms were clean with great AC. Front desk service was absolutely above my expectations. I have no complaints nor did I during my stay. I had some simple requests such as car service and other ..... Each time I made a request , I was treated with care and Christian Mena at the Front Desk was an example of service at the highest level. He attended to us when we asked for area help , restaurant recommendations and even some out of tow Hotel advice for later in our trip. This man is a true professional and clearly a valuable asset to The Beacon Hotel. It is certain that he is one of the reasons we will return. We stayed in room 216. It was comfortable and had good outside light ......nice bathroom too.......... The outside needs a little refreshing but not major as is common for older ocean front hotels.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Erik,

Thank you so very much for your recent visit and for such a lovely review. We are thrilled that you and your wife had a marvelous time.

Your kind words are more than appreciated and prove that you experienced the true Beacon culture. We truly care about our guests and take immense pride in ensuring that you all have a memorable stay.

I will make sure to share your compliments with Cristian Mena as well as the entire Beacon team.

We cordially invite you to visit the Beacon hotel again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.