We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway in Miami Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates starting at $149!
Ranked #22 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect getaway in Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was the third time staying at the Beacon in Miami Beach. This small hotel located directly on Ocean Drive is simply amazing. Everything is beautifully decorated and fits the style of the Art Deco district. We had an Ocean Front room for our last stay in the US during our wedding holidays. The room was newly renovated, the king size bed was very comfortable, and everything was very clean. The hospitality and friendliness of the staff is more than one can expect. I checked with the hotel in beforehand for an early arrival since we came back from our cruise, and everything worked out perfectly. As a gift from the hotel we received a romantic champagne getaway on the rooftop of the Beacon Hotel, overlooking South Beach in the evening. What a way to end our wedding holidays. Sabrina arranged an evening package for us, suggestion locations and transportation. All we can say: Everything was planed more than perfect and we will truly remember this day in South Beach. We definitely recommend the Beacon and will return on future travels to Miami Beach.

Room Tip: If you want to have an amazing view on South Beach in the morning when you get up, be sure to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Jennifer & Christoph,

Thank you so very much for choosing the Beacon Hotel a third time in a row and for providing such a wonderful review. We are pleased to know that your holiday experience met your expectations. Your satisfaction truly means the world to us. On behalf of the entire Beacon team, I would like to congratulate the both of you on your wedding. Thank you for sharing this exceptional event with us :)

Your positive feedback about our services will definitely inspire us to continue to provide you with the very best. I will make sure to share your kind words with the entire Beacon team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back home in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    542
    184
    50
    37
See reviews for
190
586
57
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We loved this hotel and its situation being very close to south beach. Although our room was small, it was beautifully decorated and we arrived to find a bottle of champagne next to the television - what a way to start our honeymoon!

Although we had some problems with the telly this was fixed almost immediately. We spent the first day in the room watching telly and drinking champagne as were totally exhausted. On the second day we met some locals who recommended us some restaurants of which we went to on of them, but were not too please with the food.

I would like to thank Louis for taking care of us and being very attentive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Claire,

Thanks so much for your recent visit at the Beacon hotel. I really appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with us.

On behalf of the entire Beacon team, we would like to congratulate you once again on your honeymoon :)

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Beacon Hotel and becoming your new favorite hotel on South Beach.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a boutique hotel on Ocean Drive. The rooms are extremely small and the bathroom while clean was uncomfortable for a couple. I am also not a fan of the frosted glass bathroom doors which do not provide much privacy. However, the customer service is excellent. You also get a complimentary breakfast as a guest of the hotel (the eggs and home-fries are delicious). There is a small (weight machine, treadmill and elliptical) gym off of the lobby which I was happy to use every morning before indulging in the complimentary breakfast. The location is excellent as you are right across from the beach. If only the rooms were bigger!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your past visit to the Beacon Hotel. Please, know that it was a pleasure to have served you.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, our breakfast as well as our customer service. I am however sorry to learn that our rooms were not to your liking . I assure you that your feedback is being taken very seriously. Your feedback is vitally important to help us grow and become the best we can be.

It is my hope that you give our hotel another chance if you return to Miami Beach.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff was very nice and attentive. Any probable I had was solved eventually. The rooms were small, but you won't be I there long. I did not like the frosted glass bathroom door. I loved being on the main strip and across from the ocean. The food was very good. The servers on the side walk were ok, but not attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so very much for your recent visit at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing a very kind review. We are grateful we were able to be of service to you.

We will have the immense pleasure to share your very positive comments with the entire Beacon team. We proudly acknowledge that our staff is committed to giving our guests the best personal service.

We are looking forward to your next visit here at the Beacon Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First time in Miami. Love the Art Deco hotels on the South Beach strip! The Beacon was clean and our room looked over Ocean Drive. Clean and a welcoming AC unit which was fabulous! Great service and attention by staff. Stayed here 2 nights May 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Beacon Hotel on south beach is the description of anyone wanting to see Miami. The rooms are small they are working with refurbished from its early days on the strand. They do not have adequate oulets for anyone needing to recharge anything but the beds are so comfortable you don't move all night. The staff, both night and day shift were extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you get an oceanfront room, you will hear the street party along Ocean Drivie all night because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is great and I stay here everytime I come to miami! Not only is the staff great but the hotel is directly across the street! Highly recommended..Yessica was our waitress and she is always great. You get a complimentary breakfast for being a guest, and they have a small gym that you can use. Christian one of the many front desk clerks is also great and can give you directions to any of the hot spots in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so very much for your recent visit at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing a very kind review. We are grateful we were able to be of service to you.

We will have the immense pleasure to share your very positive comments with the entire Beacon team. We proudly acknowledge that our staff is committed to giving our guests the best personal service.

We will be looking forward to seeing you very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.