We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night at the Beacon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Flexible Advance Purchase
Ranked #34 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A night at the Beacon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Beacon on Monday night. The Beacon was clean, updated, relatively quiet and right across from the beach on Ocean Drive. The location was terrific and the Beach provided chairs and beach towels to take to the beach. The best experience was the staff. Julianna at the front desk was extremely accommodating, answering many questions and providing good advice and many extras. Gus at the door suggested a wonderful seafood restaurant right next door, The Avalon. The reasonable rate was a great value that included breakfast and bottled water. The only hiccup was the restaurant, a separate entity, in front of the hotel where the staff was mediocre. We would absolutely stay here again, assuming the off-season rate was in place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    669
    204
    55
    39
See reviews for
296
742
72
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

One of my girlfriends and I stayed here June 2-8, 2013 and loved it. First and foremost, the hotel was always clean. The staff were so friendly and the food was fantastic. It was the perfect location, right across from the beach and right on Ocean where all the action is. The hotel provides clean beach towels each day and beach chairs in each room. There is also a company on the beach that rents lounge chairs, umbrellas, or cabanas by the day if you would prefer that.

The room was clean, beds were so comfortable, and very cold AC for when you come in off the beach.

It was a fantastic place to stay. We will probably return there again next year. The only reason we wouldn't would be to just explore and try a different hotel. However, there is a great possibility that another hotel would not be able to match the experience we had at the Beacon Hotel. Thanks for a memorable week!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are delighted that you have chosen the Beacon Hotel as your preferred location while visiting Miami Beach. We loved to have you and it was our pleasure serving you and your friends.

Our team is 100% dedicated to making sure our guest have a memorable experience. I will personally share your good graces with our staff. It will serve as positive motivation. We hope to see you back soon!

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve and exceed your expectations.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent location on Ocean Drive right in the middle of all the action. You can enjoy a vacation by just sitting at the terrace restaurant and watching the parade of folks up and down the sidewalk. The staff was responsive and very friendly. I was made to feel really welcome. I had an oceanfront King room which was nice but you have to put up with the street noise at night. However, I didn't mind because it was a trade off for the location.

Room Tip: If quiet is what you want, don't select oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarBay, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you have chosen the Beacon Hotel as your preferred location while visiting Miami Beach. This is the kind of feedback that keeps us always striving for excellence.

Our team is 100% dedicated to making sure our guest have a memorable experience. I will personally share your good graces with our staff. It will serve as positive motivation.

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve and exceed your expectations.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time staying at this hotel which is located right across from the beach. They give u a pass for free breakfast during ur stay n it's pretty good however when we sat on the sidewalk , more than one homeless person asked my boyfriend if he had spare change so sit up on the balcony to be undisturbed. The rooms r small but clean and comfortable for two people. Only dislike is that we arrived at 1 and the staff said he would quickly find us a room however we waited in the lobby until 3 o clock where I had to remind him we still waiting even though he promised to call us to let us know a room was ready. Would stay here again because of price , location and free breakfast. Also they let u use computers n print out anything at no additional cost.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Beacon was definately a great stay. We were only there 3 nights but everthing was perfect. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. Another great thing was the location. We could walk everywhere because it was right on the strip. I would stay there again for my next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very friendly staff, specially front desk. Rooms are smaller so are bathroom, but I was expecting it as location and real estate. Breakfast was included and was good. Location is excellent and right across from beach. We had two beach chair and towels in the room(FREE).

Room Tip: On higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was very impressed upon arriving. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially Javier. He was a breath of fresh air ladies lol. The rooms were on the small side but very clean and modern. The food was excellent, especially the free breakfast. The happy hour drinks were great and at a reasonable price. The Beacon is located in a great place on the strip. No need for a car or taxi. Everything was in walking distance. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#25 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edgewater South Beach
Edgewater South Beach
#21 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#13 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#53 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.