We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Website Special!
Ranked #30 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Beacon Hotel is in the middle of South Beach, right in the thick of things. Driving towards the hotel on a Sunday afternoon was very tricky and difficult with snarling traffic and what seemed like a Las Vegas New Year's eve crowd. Thank God for their valet parking because us country bumpkins probably would not have been able to check in until past midnight. Check-in and out was a breeze. Our room was average size, suitable for two people. The room was towards the back and we were thankful for this; not sure how people with ocean-front rooms sleep at night with all the *LOUD* thumping noises from Ocean Drive.

Bathroom is teeny tiny and may pose difficulties for large or overweight people. Women (or men) with plenty of make-up and grooming supplies will not be able to fit everything in the bathroom, trust me. Close the lid of the toilet when grooming just in case you should drop something. Room and bathroom were quite clean, but not as spic and span as other hotels I've stayed in. This property is old but quite well-maintained and it's obvious they've tried to keep up with the times in terms of decor, tiles, carpeting, etc. There is an exercise room and computers and a printer for guest use. WiFi is free in the room and super fast. There is a deck area on the roof but no swimming pool. Parking is 20 dollars a day. There is a safe, minibar, snacks, and flat screen tv in the room.

Staff is super, super friendly, even offering water at check-out and always asking daily what we did upon our return to their property. They provide beach towels and chairs for free. The beach is about a 100 meters or so from the hotel and it is jaw-droppingly stunning. We used the breakfast vouchers every morning for the included breakfast, but somehow ended up paying an extra forty to sixty dollars for two to three cocktails at breakfast. Oy vey, things on South Beach are not cheap. What appeared like a good deal will quickly morph into an expensive deal with all the gratuities, sales tax, and God knows whatever surcharges are added by the city of Miami Beach. This hotel is walking distance to convenience and liquor stores, restaurants, tacky boutiques, banks, scooter and bike rentals, Lummus Park, other Art Deco gems, galleries, museums, high-end stores, bakeries, gelato shops, etc. The Place restaurant attached to the hotel is mediocre at best and charges an arm and a leg for cocktails and alcohol. Again, caveat emptor at the restaurant, you've been warned. Stay at the Beacon to experience South Beach in one of its original Art Deco hotels. We would definitely return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, let me say thank you for choosing the Beacon as your premiere location when visiting Miami Beach! Thank you for your compliments of our staff. It's always such a nice feeling when our guest let us know how we are doing. Your smile is a reward with in itself. Our Front Desk staff is very gracious for your kind words.

As you did mention, The Beacon Hotel is in the heart of SoBe and as such is subject to most of the activity that is happening at the time. May is one of our most busiest months of the year. Particularly because of memorial day weekend being around the corner. We invite you to comeback during our low season (June - Oct) when SoBe is a bit more calm. In contrast, sense we are on Ocean Drive, most hotels in our vicinity are of the boutique market built in the late 30's. As such are subject to the Florida protection of historical land marks. Not much can be done in the alteration of room size. But we like to think that this is part of our charm.

Food and Beverage can slip to the expensive side while on Ocean Drive, however I recommend asking our Front Desk of places to visit in your stay. There are hundreds of other restaurants that are not on Ocean Drive.

Thank you again for taking the time and sharing your experience. We always take our guests feedback seriously and utilize it to improve our guest satisfaction. Any other questions, please feel free and contact me at Elvis@beaconsouthbeach.com

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    572
    175
    52
    36
See reviews for
230
652
61
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I just returned from a 3 night stay at The Beacon Hotel. Purpose of the trip was a long girls' weekend - fun and relaxation. The location was awesome - right in the middle of SoBe activity and directly across the street from the beach. Walk out the front doors, and you are the thick of it all.

Pros:
- beach chairs are provided, they have straps to carry like a backpack. I would advise you to check the function of your chair prior to leaving the hotel. 2 of our 5 needed to be replaced, which they did promptly and politely.
- location: as stated above, perfect.
- service: everyone was so polite and friendly. They always greeted with a smile and offered to help whenever they could. We arrived early (10am) and check in isn't until 3. We were given vouchers for breakfast and they took my cell number to alert us when one of our rooms was ready. We had a room by noon.
- complimentary breakfast: served in the restaurant in front of the hotel, menu was small but the food was good (2 eggs/bacon/toast/potatoes, french toast, pancakes, omelette, waffles). OJ and coffee included. (TIP: they have flavored creamer on the second floor with coffee - grab some on your way down to breakfast)

Cons:
- if you are looking for peace, don't stay on Ocean drive. This is not a con for the hotel as much as it is for the location. Ocean drive on a Saturday is noisy to say the least. Our rooms were towards the back, so this didn't bother us.
- rooms are small, but bathrooms are SMALL. Really no room to put anything down. Shower was average size, but sink and toilet were crammed into a tiny spot.
- no swimming pool. I would really have liked to have had a pool to cool off in. But again, not necessarily a hotel issue - I knew they didn't have one when I booked the reservation.

Overall, I would recommend The Beacon Hotel and would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Please allow me a moment to say thank you for choosing the Beacon as your premiere location when visiting Miami Beach! It gives us great joy to know that you had such a nice time and enjoyed our staff's service. Our Front Desk staff is very gracious for your kind words.

Yes, Ocean Drive can get noisy with all walks of life constantly buzzling by on its streets below. But we like to see this as all part of the charm that makes Miami Beach what it is. But we are happy that you were able to find comfort in our rooms. Because our hotel was built in the 1930's this places us in the boutique spectrum. Being a Boutique Hotel, while it gives us lots of charm (as you expireinced for yourself), it also does not gives us a lot space to expand. As we are recognized as a Historical Mark by the city of Miami Beach.


Thank you again for taking the time and sharing your experience. We always take our guests feedback seriously and utilize it to improve our guest satisfaction. Any other questions, please feel free and contact me at Elvis@beaconsouthbeach.com

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 5 nights at the Beacon Hotel, in South Beach. The hotel has both string and weak points - starting with the strong:
-staff in the hotel itself are eager (not over-eager) to serve well, to ensure comfort and satisfaction - this is the Beacon's greatest asset.
-the deco lobby is fun in a very kitsch way - a marvel of overstatement, but fun and evocative of a designer with great humour.
-the room we had (#318) is oceanfront view, large, very clean and well maintained, but spare and certainly not luxurious.
weak points:
-we'd been promised a 5th floor room - on arrival, we were assigned a 3rd floor room and told that there wasn't anything available on the 5th floor - this was managed very nicely, politely, but still the initial booking and the reality didn't match.
-the bathroom is adequate, though there is insufficient space for storing soap, toothbrush, etc - a pokey space that makes unpacking an unhappy challenge.
-the room is oddly located in the hotel in that the entry is off the exterior corridor, so that the bathroom, which has a window to the exterior (frosted, of course), allows for considerable noise as guests walk by, day and night. A bad design feature.
-the restaurant attached to the hotel is a separate operation - this may be the case with all hotels in the area - and the complimentary breakfast is, after 3 or 4 days, dull and cursory. The wait staff are a blend of pleasant and not-so-pleasant - the afternoon happy hour, a feature of the South Beach vicinity, demands acre on the guests' part - prices for drinks are often stupidly overpriced and asking in advance when menus offered with no printed prices are offered is essential - though not directly related to the hotel, it's hard to remove one element from the other - let me add, and it's no slight on the Beacon, that the restaurant food is as dreary as you're likely to have.

Room Tip: As for a back room if street noise - music, crowds, cars, motorcycles - after 11 is something you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Beacon Hotel and for taking the time to review us.

We truly appreciate your great comments regarding our hotel, location and staff! We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and I am happy that it showed during your stay.

I first would like to apologize that you were affected by the noise level. Secondly, I hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at the restaurant “The Place”. Please be assured that we take such feedback seriously and the areas highlighted in your comments are being addressed for immediate improvement.

It is our hope that you would consider staying with us again if you return to South Beach.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a charming but pricy Art Deco hotel which should be chosen because of it's perfect location on Ocean Drive. Really nice and helpful staff and the very efficient valet parking was very convenient at this busy location. Our room was clean and quite spacious but nothing special otherwise. Quite small bathroom but with some lovely complimentary toiletries.I would say it's ok for a night or two but if you want something special than I would recommend lovely Cadet Hotel which unfortunately was full during this visit. We had booked a room facing the beach/street but this was a mistake as there were lots of noise until late night from the restaurant below. The breakfast menu offered quite a few choises but the food was tasteless and the coffee was also quite bad. However the complimentary coffee available on the first floor for the early birds was really good so get a few cups of that before the breakfast. The restaurant can not be recommended unless it's for watching people. The food was quite plain and the Happy Hour-concept was quite misleading so we asked about it and then felt quite cheated when the bill came. The female waiter had actually confirmed that the price for 4 drinks was 20 USD but this she completely denied and acted as if we were completely crazy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach and street can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Beacon Hotel and for taking the time to review us. It was an honor to have served you!

We truly appreciate your great comments regarding our hotel, location and staff! I agree that our location is really great and convenient to all South Beach has to offer.

I then would like to apologize that you did not find the restaurant “The Place” to your liking. I will definitely take action for further improvement based on your valuable feedback.

We hope to have you back at the Beacon Hotel the next time your travel plans bring your our way!

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and enjoyed the stay. A quaint Art Deco hotel right in south beach and right across the road from the beach.
Like other reviews, the room had a smell to it, but this was fixed by putting the aircon and ceiling fan on. The inability to open the window and let in fresh air is the issue here.
Otherwise, free breakfast ( from 9am weekdays), beach towels and lounge chairs and all in an Art Deco hotel - this is the true essence of Miami.
The room wasn't large, but it was clean, as was the bathroom.
There is free tea and coffee making facilities each morning on the second floor.
If you have never stayed in Miami before, then you definitely have to stay in an Art Deco hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing such a great review. It was indeed a pleasure to have you as a guest.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of all South Beach has to offer! I will make sure to share your positive comments with the entire Beacon team.

We are looking forward to having you back with us again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Let's be honest here... if you are planning to spend less than $100-$130 a night on a hotel in Miami, do not expect it to be topnotch. This is a solid average hotel right across from the beach. For the price you get: great location, friendly staff, free breakfast, free beach towels and chairs in your room, free water. The place is clean and it is kept that way throughout your stay. There was a trace of unpleasant smell in the room, but I think its due to the ocean proximity and humidity all year around. Do not expect great design, hi-tech, memory foam mattresses and a cool lounge by the pool with free cocktails. The noise level was manageable, you could hardly hear anything coming from the street. The walls however seemed to be paper thin and I could hear everything happening at the room above us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your past visit to the Beacon Hotel. Please, know that it was a pleasure to have served you.

I am glad to hear that our location, our staff, our breakfast as well as our amenities were all to your liking. I am sorry to learn that you did not have an entirely satisfying experience at our hotel. I assure you that your feedback is being taken very seriously. Your feedback is vitally important to help us grow and become the best we can be. If you would like to discuss further please contact me directly at Elvis@beaconsouthbeach.com at your earliest convenience.

It is my hope that you give our hotel another chance if you return to Miami Beach. I’m confident our commitment to guest satisfaction will result in a positive experience.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Never missed an episode of Miami Vice and loved the movie "The Bird Cage", so finally after all these years, we went to South Beach. What a great trip, the Art Deco, culture, beach and the craziest night life this Canadian has ever seen.

The Beacon was a gem, we had a quite room with a King sized bed that was pure comfort. The staff were all friendly and warm and the place was spotless. I felt like the coolest "Old Guy" walking up and down ocean drive.

If your into sunshine, letting your hair down and incredible people watching. Check out the Beacon Hotel, then hit the street for some Cuban culture and architecture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are very grateful that you chose the Beacon Hotel as your preferred holiday destination. Thank you so very much for submitting such a kind review.

We are also pleased to know that your holiday experience met your expectations. I will make sure to share your positive comments with the entire Beacon team.

We can’t wait to welcome you back at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.