We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a quiet hotel, but then again it´s Ocean Drive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Website Special!
Ranked #27 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Oslo
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Not a quiet hotel, but then again it´s Ocean Drive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very busy location in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive.
Valet parking a must and it works really well for $20 a day.
Small rooms, very small bathrooms, but great beds and very clean!
Good service throughout!
Stay away from the restaurant though, expensive and rather bad.
Paid $30+ for two beers with tax and gratuity, served in plastic glasses....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    535
    169
    48
    35
See reviews for
211
612
58
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We choose this hotel on the strength of the reviews here and were not disappointed. The reception and common areas are clean and very much of their era.

Our room was basic and compact which is what we had expected having not booked a more expensive room - you do get a sense that the hotel has been refurbished as well as it can be on a budget and given that it is a period building.

What really raises this hotel above the ordinary is the fantastic service provided by the staff from the reception through to the bar staff and porters. We were well looked after and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent visit at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing a very kind review. We are grateful we were able to be of service to you.

We will have the immense pleasure to share your very positive comments with the entire Beacon team. We proudly acknowledge that our staff is committed to giving our guests the best personal service.

We are looking forward to your next visit here at the Beacon Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location, across from the beach. Easy to walk to everything in the evening. Breakfast included and it was just fine. Small rooms but clean, bed was comfortable. Staff was wonderful, always held door, remembered our name, offered suggestions. They offer parking for a fee and the car was always there when we needed it, give them 20 minutes notice. Ocean Ave is always alive, woke up for airport run at 4:30AM and people were still dancing on the streets from the night before. Not a quiet area but not a problem either. If you want to be in the middle of the action this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: I imagine the front of the Hotel would be noisier but we were in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for recently staying at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing your valuable comments.

We are very pleased to see that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team.

We can’t wait to welcome you back at the Beacon Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A gorgeous hotel with fantastic friendly staff. We stayed in room 501 which is a corner top floor room - really lovely, bright, clean and spacious with lovely views to people watch in the evening and morning... Found a hidden gem on the 2nd floor - some really nice quiet outside seating area to chill in with the added bonus of free coffee!!! Definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is located directly on Ocean Drive an ideal location to party in South Beach. As you walk right outside the hotel the beach is directly across the street. All the top party spots and restaurants are walking distance. Another bonus was the complimentary breakfast pass we got the next morning. Its a nice sit down breakfast and you have plenty of options to chose from on the menu. The Beacon is the typical art deco style hotel. It was very clean and just all around great atmosphere. The hotel also offers free WIFI. The rooms were very nice and clean. The bathrooms are kind of small and aren't the most private. Next time I hit south beach this will be the choice for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for recently being a valued guest at the Beacon Hotel and for submitting such a kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to be of service to you.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is definitely an encouragement for us to further improve ourselves. I will make sure to share your valuable insights with the entire Beacon team.

We look forward to your returning to the Beacon Hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

From the moment we pulled up outside the hotel, and the Valet took our car keys, it was a great stay. (Don't forget there is a charge for parking, but it beats trying to find a space). Such a clean look and feel to the place, and in true art deco style, I tried to turn my watch back 70 years, although there was nothing outdated about the facilities and the staff! Right there amongst the hubbub, great cocktails. Enjoyed the breakfast too, which included a choice of omelettes, bacon and eggs, etc.

It was during the spring break, so it was very busy, but made the people watching even more enjoyable. It was busy, noisy and full of people walking up and down the sidewalks amongst the drinkers and diners, but as every travel guide I had read about South Beach had warned about this it came as no surprise. A lot of noise well into the night but I found the cocktails to be more than adequately soporific!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so very much for recently staying at the Beacon Hotel and for providing such a wonderful review. We are very grateful that you have chosen the Beacon Hotel as your preferred holiday destination. We are also pleased to know that your holiday experience met your expectations. Your satisfaction truly means the world to us.

Your positive feedback about our services will definitely inspire us to continue to provide you with the very best. I will make sure to share your very constructive and positive comments on our Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back home in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just finished up another stay at The Beacon and... NOTHING has CHANGED. This hotel is still fantastic!

Even with spring breakers and the start of winter music conference, the noise levels are always reasonable at The Beacon. The staff is always ready and willing to assist with whatever. As Ocean Dr hotels go, still remains the cleanest I've ever encountered.

The only bad thing I can say is that the hotel's restaurant is not actually part of the hotel and as such, no room charges. But as bad things go, most of you may think I am silly for even caring about that.

Juliana, thank you again for the engagement present!

If you are staying anywhere in the Art Deco neighborhood, do yourself a favor and stay at the Beacon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing once again the Beacon Hotel as your preferred Hotel and for submitting such a great review.

Based on your amazing comments we know that you were very satisfied with your overall stay here at the Beacon Hotel. I will make sure to share your compliments with Juliana and the entire Beacon team. Thank you so very much for loving our Beacon culture.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of counting you among our guests once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.