We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute Special!
Ranked #26 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Beacon for my husband's birthday a couple of weeks ago. We picked this hotel because we wanted to stay in the middle of all of the restaurants and bars (The Cleavlander) in South Beach. The hotel was very cooly decorated (all white and orange in the lobby) and the service was top notch! I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing your stay experience with us. Thank you also for sharing such a great event with us. We would like to wish your husband once again a Happy Birthday!

We are happy to hear that you and your husband are thoroughly satisfied with the hotel location, rooms, amenities, and overall level of service. Your positive comments will definitely be shared among the entire Beacon team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    528
    168
    48
    33
See reviews for
208
604
57
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at the hotel after getting off a cruise and enjoying a few days in Miami. Beacon hotel was in a great location, right across from the beach, great restaurants just steps away.

The staff was very helpful. I arrived early in the morning and they did their best to help me out and answer my questions. Juliana at the front desk was especially helpful and I really appreciated that she took every effort to help me out despite being very busy. Excellent customer service!

The room was fine, clearly remodeled at some point. It wasn't 100% clean when I arrived but this was a small issue in comparison to my general experience.

Hotel wireless internet was good enough to even skype home (a first in my life at a hotel). Amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for recently staying at the Beacon Hotel and for submitting such a great review!

It is great to hear that you were delighted with the service provided by our staff and that overall, you had an enjoyable holiday. I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with Juliana and the entire Beacon team.

We long for your return and can’t wait to create new memories here at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a lovely iconic art deco building in a fabulous location right on the ocean front, in the heart of the lively South Beach district. The reception area is beautifully furnished and in keeping with the art deco era with a contemporary twist which is echoed in the guest rooms. We stayed for 3 nights in an ocean view room, and the outlook was fabulous. However, if you do choose a room on the front be prepared for the noise which accompanies such a vibrant location! Being an old hotel the rooms are small but very well equipped down to the free wi-fi and beach chairs, a lovely touch! My only gripe was the glass door on the bathroom which, despite being frosted, did not offer very much privacy for the person using the toilet!! There are no coffee making facilities in the room but hot refreshments are available on the second floor from 7am to 11 am which compensates for this. Another added bonus of this place is that you get free breakfast, served outside, which was a lovely way to start the day. Good choice of breakfast food which was always delicious. Would definitely return if in Miami and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Beacon Hotel and for taking the time to kindly review us.

I will make sure to share your positive comments with the entire Beacon team. We are very grateful that you would be willing to recommend the Beacon Hotel to others.

We can’t wait to have you stay at the Beacon Hotel again very soon.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a great time. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and in excellent condition for its age. It is a classic Art Deco inside and out. Also, "The Place Restaurant" was really good, and the complementry breakfast was 2nd to none! This hotel is one I would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for recently staying at the Beacon Hotel and for submitting such a great review.

Your positive reviews of our hotel and location will inspire us further towards excellence for it is the Beacon Hotel’s goal to ensure that you have a splendid stay.

Thank you for your positive recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel couldnt be at a better location, is just in front of the beach! The hotel has been recently renovated and is very nice inside. The bedrooms are not big, but decent. It is not meant for tourist who want to stay at their hotel rooms, you pay the location. They give you beach chairs and towels !!!!! The area is very noisy at night, as you can expect, but i really didnt hear any noise or have any problem sleeping

Room Tip: There are beach chairs and towels in your room! Look for them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us. We are pleased to know that your stay was pleasant and memorable.

I will certainly share your enthusiastic feedback concerning our wonderful location. It is the Beacon Hotel’s commitment to delight you every time and ensure that you have a very pleasant experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you at the Beacon Hotel on your next visit to South Beach.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Beacon with 2 friends in February 2013. I rented two rooms for three nights. We had a great time! In short, I would definitely stay there again.

For a little background: I have been to South Beach 7 times now. I've stayed at different hotels on Ocean Drive 6 of my 7 trips.

Not only would I stay here again, I *will* stay here again.

The Good:
First, the rooms were quiet. I was shocked at how quiet the rooms were given my general experience at South Beach hotels. The bed was very comfortable. My sleep quality was nothing short of fantastic.

Second, the staff was helpful and friendly. I made a few special requests for my room and the staff exceeded my expectations.

Third, the location. It is almost centrally located to Ocean Drive and it's within a very short walk to just about everything to do on Ocean Drive. All of the hot spots are nearby.

Fourth: it was nice and clean!

Did I mention it was quiet???

What I didn't like:
Overall, I loved the hotel, but everyone and everything can be improved. Here are the hotel's minor drawbacks:
*The wireless internet was fairly slow the times that I used it from an iPad and my smartphone.
*The water pressure in our shower could have been a lot stronger.
*I am a really athletic guy and I tend to be a little warm all the time, but the room's AC unit didn't cool nearly as much as I would have liked. Note: the room was still comfortable, just not as cool as I would have wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room possible. Our room was as far away from the lobby as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you choosing the Beacon Hotel as your preferred holiday destination and for sharing your recent stay experience.

We are pleased to acknowledge that the staff members and service rendered at the Beacon Hotel provided you with a delightful and memorable experience during your stay with us. I will make sure to share your kind words with the entire Beacon team.

We look forward to serving you once again during your next visit at the Beacon Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Last minute decision to head to South Beach for the weekend. Found a great deal on a discount hotel website. Checked TA and was a little apprehensive but liked the rate and location. Glad I did because it was great. The hotel had been renovated. The lobby was beautiful. Yes the rooms were small but clean. Didn't really matter as we weren't planning to spend much time there. Location was perfect. Loved it. Only downside was the quality of the food at the restuarant in front. Ate there upon arrival as there wasa rain shower and we were waiting it out. Why eat there when there are so many quality choices in the surrounding area!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for recently staying at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing your recent stay experience with us.

We are also pleased to know that you had a very pleasant stay here at the Beacon Hotel. I will share your positive comments with the entire Beacon team.

We look forward to your welcoming you back soon at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.