We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, Top Notch Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Getaway, 10% Off
Ranked #30 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experience, Top Notch Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the rush of turning from 8th onto Ocean Drive's adrenaline, lights, music and action at night, to the kid glove treatment of valet and hotel associates, an excellent one-night stay. Hotel has appeal for young 20 as well as the mature set. Hotel associates recognized us and knew our names and room. Room, though smaller, was clean, modern with up-to-date electronics. Vintage hotel was modernized but strongly held its vintage vibe. All toiletries and sundries were ready. Bedding was immaculate with high quality mattress encasement. Tile floors were clean. Inviting and chic lounge areas over two floors. Breakfast on the veranda under shade with music and boyant, cheerful, and efficient wait staff overlooking Lummus park was an inspiring start to the day. Next off to he beautiful free beach right accross the street, or join in with the boarders, walkers, or rent a bike for the park. A short walk from the hip closed-to-traffic Espanola Street for shopping, mingling and dining beautiful at dark under strung lights. With top notch service, the associates clearly have tremendous pride in the Beacon and in showing guests the best time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so very much for blessing the Beacon Hotel with your presence and for an exceptional review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We indeed have immense pride in our Beacon Hotel and our entire team. We again thank you for sharing your valuable insights. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to the entire Beacon team.

We would love to have you stay with us at the Beacon Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    620
    192
    54
    37
See reviews for
255
694
66
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Best hotel we stayed in south beach! Its located on Ocean drive, so you can just go to the beach with all your swimming suits on! One of the best thing is that the hotel provides the beach chairs!! The room is not very big for the price, so if you are on a budget, you can find lots of cheaper hotels on collin ave. Anyway, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Beacon hotel as your preferred hotel and for providing such a great review. What an honor to have had you as a guest!

I will make sure to share your positive comments with the entire Beacon team.

We long for your return as we will be happy to welcome you back here at the Beacon Hotel.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Without or without that famous scene, the Beacon holds up to the Ocean Dr competition better than anybody. Clean and comfortable with a decent view of the ocean. Friendly staff and a great restaurant, even though you cannot room charge dinner.

That is the only negative.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is worth the extra cash... But not very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here at the Beacon Hotel and for astonishing us with your wonderful comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, the hotel, facilities and service standards. Your kind words will bring happiness to the entire Beacon team.

We are all looking forward to your next visit at the Beacon Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel is in the heart of Miami life. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and did their best to meet our requests. The hotel is like a "boutique" hotel which is quite modern inside. Although they have free Wifi, they also had two computers for guests' use. Room was clean and gym while small was ample. The beach is right across the hotel, but it is a small walk before you get to the water (approx 500m). The restaurant outisde the hotel is operated by a separate company. We had cocktails on the verandah-what we were told were going to be USD 7.95 each cocktails ended up being USD 17.95 each cocktails-it is not operated by the hotel. Christian at the front desk was excellent and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for giving the Beacon hotel the pleasure to count you among our valued guests and for providing such a wonderful review.

Your positive comments will only motivate us to do better. I will certainly share your kind words with Christian as well as the entire Beacon team.

Please do contact me at the Beacon Hotel when you would like to stay with us again as we would love to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The bellman was helpful when I showed up. The front desk was very polite. My key didn't work the first time but they fixed it and sent maintenance just in case the key battery was having issues. The room was clean and a decent size for an art deco hotel. The only down side to the hotel is the elevator, it fits 4 people or 2 people and luggage. Most of the the time I took the stair since the hotel only has 5 floors. They have beach chairs in the room that you can take to the beach, which is located right across from the hotel. Free breakfast from 9-11 am. Great location to everything on Ocean Dr. and one of the better priced hotels for that location.

Room Tip: Avoid the buy 1 get 1 free drinks, as one very large drink is $25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Beacon hotel and for sharing such a great review. It is truly rewarding to us to see that you have embraced the true Beacon culture.

I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team. We all feel honored and grateful to have contributed to such a success.

We long for you return and can’t wait to welcoming you back here at the Beacon hotel.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a super cool hotel right on Ocean Blvd. You get beach chair rentals with your room ( a big plus considering to rent them on the beach can be $50 plus daily!) In addition, they several made to order breakfast selections included with your room charge. Make sure to try the OJ is was especially tasty!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent visit at the Beacon Hotel and for such a candid review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time here at the Beacon hotel.

Nothing would have made us happier than the kind words you chose to share with us. We continuously strive to give our valued guests the best experience imaginable.

I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team.

We cordially invite you to visit the Beacon hotel again very soon.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A top review for the Beacon hotel due first of all to its great location, but also to its fantastic staff who were all extremely friendly and helpful and really willing to go the extra mile. They offered us a late check-out, took action straight away when some neighbours were being noisy (suddenly there was silence!), and offer nice little extras like a free breakfast menu (more than just continental), a coffee and tea buffet every morning till noon or 1pm as well as free bottled water when you go to the beach.
Our room was also very quiet and cozy - nothing out of the ordinary but just what you need for a beach or shopping holiday.
I can also recommend the restaurant and bar at the hotel - it is definitely better than many others on Ocean Drive who will overpromise you some special offers (free appetizers, etc) which they will not stick to at the time the check comes. The Beacon hotel is different in that sense as well - they are honest and stick to their promises when they make you a special offer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us the immense chance to host you here at the Beacon Hotel and for such a perfect review. We are so proud to notice that your entire stay was flawless and up to your expectations.

It is an enormous compliment to our property and team that you have enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. It pleases us so very much to have accomplished our ultimate goal which is to satisfy our guests in every way possible. I will be delighted to share your much appreciated compliments with the entire Beacon team.

We are looking forward to counting you among our guests once again in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.