We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and charming hotel on ocean drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Getaway, 15% Off
Ranked #29 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely and charming hotel on ocean drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beacon hotel is very well situated on ocean drive just across the beach . Hotel has free towels and chairs in the room. The staff is very nice and friendly and always willing to help . Hotel has just been renovated and everything is sparkling clean . The room was lovely and fresh except for the horrible view over the roof next door, but that's the price to pay if you don't want to hear any noise. Bathroom is tiny but has all you need.
I would really recommend this hotel to anyone ,as it's got all you need and prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: we had two double beds in the room . Beds are very good but a bit narrow for two in one bed but room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so very much for your recent visit and for such a lovely review. We are delighted that you had a marvelous time.

Your kind words are giving us the greatest satisfaction in knowing that we have succeeded in our goals to make your stay memorable.

I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team.

I am taking this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year! May you shine like a Beacon :)

We cordially invite you to visit the Beacon hotel as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    583
    182
    53
    36
See reviews for
236
661
63
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The photos represent it well. What it does not show is how kind the staff is. When we arrived - a bit before check in time - we were given a choice of 2 rooms. They were nice enough to allow us to see both rooms and decide what worked best for us. We were traveling with our 16 yr old daughter - in Miami to see the Univ of Miami - so we had 3 grown people in a very reasonably sized room. The bathroom is small, but we only use it one at a time so it did not matter. We did not hear any street noise. The mattress was great. The free breakfast was much more than the typical buffet with dried eggs and bread. The beach chair and towel provided was a nice touch - plus the bottle of water to take to the beach. They thought of the nice little touches that make staying in that section of South Beach such a treat. Parking was $20/night - with valet parking. They were very quick to get the car when we called down. We would very gladly stay again. Just wish they could have given us a little warmer weather. The Miami Zoo, riding around on a 4 person bike was a nice alternative to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Beacon hotel and for providing such a great review. We are so happy to see that you and your family shared amazing moments.

I will make sure to reward the entire Beacon team with your kind and touching words. We do feel honored to have had the pleasure to host you and your family who now are part of the Beacon family!

I am taking this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year! May you shine like a Beacon :)

We long for you return and can’t wait to welcoming you back here at the Beacon hotel.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

location is excellent. right in the middle of ocean drive. hotel staff is very friendly. But the room is small. and decoration is kind of old. hotel offers free breakfast and wifi. But the wifi signal is not stable in my room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so very much for recently being our guest and for taking the time to kindly review us.

We are very happy to notice that your experience with us was a success.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay! I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team.

I am taking this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year! May you shine like a Beacon :)

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Beacon Hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The location right at the beach is fantastic, If noisy at times.

A comfortable small lobby, quality service. Although with being right in the middle of things, it wasn't as important as at hotels that may be a few blocks back from the beach. Lots of restaurant choices.

The room was good. Very comfortable bed, plush! Clean and not too small.

I'll be back next time in Miami, which truth be told probably won't be for two years or so. So it's a good thing I wrote this review to remind me where to stay in Miami Beach in two years. Nice!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you very much for recently being our guest and for such a wonderful review.

We are so proud to notice that your entire stay was flawless and up to your expectations.

Your compliments will happily be shared with the entire Beacon team.

We will be counting the seconds for you return at the Beacon hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Beacon hotel is in a great spot on ocean drive right across from the beach!

From the moment we checked in all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and ensuring we had all required information including wifi access.

Rooms are cleaner fresh and modern although yes the bathrooms are a little tiny and our plug for the shower wouldn't stay up so had to prop it open but didn't cause us any drama. The only thing that was a little annoying was as soon as someone opened or closed their room door it would shake your door making it sound like someone was at your door. The beds are comfy and big ;) and no pobs with the wifi in room!

Breakfast was included and while they aren't larger servings like you would get at most places it was certainly enough for us to kick off the day.

The restaurant attached to the beacon isn't too bad but I wouldn't do the 2 for 1 drinks especially cocktails as they are about $20 a drink!! Just go there for dinner or lunch if you don't feel like walking the strip there is still plenty of entertainment here at night.

Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Beacon hotel and for providing such a great review. We are thrilled to see that you had a marvelous time.

I will make sure to reward the entire Beacon team with your kind words. We do feel honored to have fulfilled your expectations.

We long for you return and can’t wait to welcoming you back here at the Beacon hotel.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was our second time back to the Beacon in 6 months and we just can not say enough! The service here is excellent, Christian, Luis, and I am so sorry I forgot the lady's name at the front desk were all so helpful! It is not just those people but all there go out of their way to help you! The main thing about the Beacon is the location, it does not get better. If you are considering SoBe then stay on Ocean Dr.

I did ask for a quite room, which was located more toward the back because we are early risers for cardio and do not care for the bar party thing at night. We had no problems with noise.

The only things I can think of that are negative are as follows:
Small rooms, small bathrooms, no refer or micro.
But I think this is normal on Ocean drive, it does not deter me in the least! It is worth it for the location!

Room Tip: Bring a small cooler for your own drinks. They have ice machines on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for blessing the Beacon hotel with your presence once again and for providing such a candid review.

I am delighted that we indeed delivered on our promises to provide our guests with a 5 star diamond service. I will certainly share your compliments with the entire Beacon team. Such kind words will feel them with joy!

Thank you for sharing your insight on our rooms and amenities. We indeed offer the option to have a refrigerator delivered to our guests’ room. This option is very popular amongst our guests and remains available upon request.

We are look looking forward to welcoming you back at the Beacon hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Beacon Hotel for Art Basel at a time when every other hotel in Miami is price gouging. We booked the Beacon based on the great reviews from Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Firstly, our check-in experience may have been the fastest, easiest, friendliest that we have EVER experienced, secondly; our room was very quiet and clean [though it had zero view]. thirdly, the free breakfast in the middle of the craziness of Ocean Drive was much better than expected. The location is great and we would definitely recommend this is a good, solid, basic, clean, cheap hotel. Excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so very much for recently being our guest and for reviewing us.

We are so proud to notice that your experience with us was such a success.
It feels us with joy to know that you had such a memorable stay! I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team.

We eagerly await your return at the Beacon hotel

Tropical Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.