We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Website Special!
Ranked #26 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Beacon hotel is in a great spot on ocean drive right across from the beach!

From the moment we checked in all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and ensuring we had all required information including wifi access.

Rooms are cleaner fresh and modern although yes the bathrooms are a little tiny and our plug for the shower wouldn't stay up so had to prop it open but didn't cause us any drama. The only thing that was a little annoying was as soon as someone opened or closed their room door it would shake your door making it sound like someone was at your door. The beds are comfy and big ;) and no pobs with the wifi in room!

Breakfast was included and while they aren't larger servings like you would get at most places it was certainly enough for us to kick off the day.

The restaurant attached to the beacon isn't too bad but I wouldn't do the 2 for 1 drinks especially cocktails as they are about $20 a drink!! Just go there for dinner or lunch if you don't feel like walking the strip there is still plenty of entertainment here at night.

Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Beacon hotel and for providing such a great review. We are thrilled to see that you had a marvelous time.

I will make sure to reward the entire Beacon team with your kind words. We do feel honored to have fulfilled your expectations.

We long for you return and can’t wait to welcoming you back here at the Beacon hotel.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    535
    169
    48
    35
See reviews for
211
612
58
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was our second time back to the Beacon in 6 months and we just can not say enough! The service here is excellent, Christian, Luis, and I am so sorry I forgot the lady's name at the front desk were all so helpful! It is not just those people but all there go out of their way to help you! The main thing about the Beacon is the location, it does not get better. If you are considering SoBe then stay on Ocean Dr.

I did ask for a quite room, which was located more toward the back because we are early risers for cardio and do not care for the bar party thing at night. We had no problems with noise.

The only things I can think of that are negative are as follows:
Small rooms, small bathrooms, no refer or micro.
But I think this is normal on Ocean drive, it does not deter me in the least! It is worth it for the location!

Room Tip: Bring a small cooler for your own drinks. They have ice machines on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for blessing the Beacon hotel with your presence once again and for providing such a candid review.

I am delighted that we indeed delivered on our promises to provide our guests with a 5 star diamond service. I will certainly share your compliments with the entire Beacon team. Such kind words will feel them with joy!

Thank you for sharing your insight on our rooms and amenities. We indeed offer the option to have a refrigerator delivered to our guests’ room. This option is very popular amongst our guests and remains available upon request.

We are look looking forward to welcoming you back at the Beacon hotel.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Beacon Hotel for Art Basel at a time when every other hotel in Miami is price gouging. We booked the Beacon based on the great reviews from Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Firstly, our check-in experience may have been the fastest, easiest, friendliest that we have EVER experienced, secondly; our room was very quiet and clean [though it had zero view]. thirdly, the free breakfast in the middle of the craziness of Ocean Drive was much better than expected. The location is great and we would definitely recommend this is a good, solid, basic, clean, cheap hotel. Excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so very much for recently being our guest and for reviewing us.

We are so proud to notice that your experience with us was such a success.
It feels us with joy to know that you had such a memorable stay! I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team.

We eagerly await your return at the Beacon hotel

Tropical Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

While we were staying for two nights at the Beacon I was taken ill and spent four days in hospital. The hotel staff extended my wife's stay despite the fact that they were fully booked. They organized a different room for our last night and moved everything from the first room to the second. In addition they sent a "get well soon" card to the hospital and the GM did not charge us for the final night. The free breakfast is one of the best free breakfasts I've had. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel are quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so very much for your recent visit and for such a lovely review. We are thrilled that you and your wife had a marvelous time.

Your kind words are more than appreciated and prove that you experienced the true Beacon culture. We truly care about our guests and take immense pride in ensuring that you all have a memorable stay.

I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Beacon team.

We cordially invite you to visit the Beacon hotel again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great location in Ocean Dr. Staff very nice. Breakfast was good, but it should start earlier, last day we had to leave at 8 am and breakfast only begins at 9 am. The Hotel also has complimentary coffee and tea in the morning that is a nice touch. The ropes in the room, and the beach chairs and towels are also a nice touch. Great king size bed, very, very confortable! Only negative things was bathroom too small, and we can hear everything that is going on in the room next door trough the wall. Would return again without any doubt!

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Beacon hotel and for providing such a candid review.

I am delighted that we indeed delivered on our promises to provide our guests with a 5 star diamond service.

Thank you for sharing your insight on our daily breakfast that is served at the Place restaurant from 9 am until 11 am. We are sorry that you missed out on the opportunity to enjoy our on the go organic breakfast. This option is very popular amongst our guests and remains available upon request.

We long for you return and can’t wait to welcoming you back here at the Beacon hotel.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel was great, brilliant location and great service whilst we were there. However, I need to rate this as terrible because on my return home to the UK I have found that they have charged an extra $175 to my credit card. I have contacted them on numerous occasions and not yet had the courtesy of a response. My advice would be to pay cash and do not give over your credit card details.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconSoBe, General Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for recently being a guest at the Beacon Hotel and for sharing your input that we take very seriously.

I sincerely apologize that your questions and concerns failed to attract our attention.

A misunderstanding is at the origin of this unfortunate mischarge. However, we ceased the opportunity to make this up to you and issued an immediate refund. Again, please accept our apologies but the previous emails you sent never reached us. We definitely will pay closer attention and do what it takes to prevent such a situation from happening ever again.

It is our hope that you would consider staying with us again if you return to South Beach. I would like to personally ensure a great experience.

Best Regards,

Elvis Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A couple of family members stayed at the beacon hotel and we were very impressed, they let us check in early and kept our luggage after check out because our flight wasn't until 3pm. We each got cold bottled water at check in and breakfast each morning, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable what more could you want, the hotel was in a perfect location with the shops and restaurants we heard no noise in our rooms. .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.