We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Website Special!
Ranked #30 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed in October 2012
Overall the hotel is not so impressive. The only good thing about this hotel is its fantastic location, its very near to the beach and the market and restaurants.The rooms were very small and not ideal when you have a teenager sharing the same room as you with just two bed in it and not very comfortable or well-kept. Bathroom was small and grubby.They provide you with beach chairs and towels.The chairs were dirty and rusty which callapsed when we put them up on the beach a bit embarrasing walking back to the hotel with them which the staff didnt seem bothered about but they changed them straight away.The breakfast is very basic and not much to choose from and a little on the cold side .Also beware of the restaurant and bar $68 for five drinks and when we questioned the bill was told the bar and reastaurant do not belong to the hotel which i find a bit strange as everything came from inside the hotel (well stung).Also payed double for the parking As origanally quoted as for Miami its a fantastic place lots to see and do try bayside over the bridge really bustling with good shops and reataurants.Everglades was a great tour would i return to the Beacon Hotel maybe not as for Miami yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    572
    175
    52
    36
See reviews for
230
652
61
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just spent a night at the Beacon Hotel in South Beach. It is the real "South Beach Experience". The art deco lobby is lovely and the rooms, while a little small, are very attractive, the beds very comfortable, and the staff extremely friendly and attentive. Our only snaffu was trying to figure out how and where to leave the car to check in. It feels like you're in a no parking zone, but just pull up in front of the hotel and the company that seems to handle all the Ocean Drive hotels' valet service, just seem to show up. It's a tad chaotic as Ocean Drive is very narrow, traffic flows in both directions and there are loads of pedestrians....and there is a restaurant with tables right on the sidewalk along the curb, but just wedge yourself in and it all gets sorted out. Very fun and very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Two night stay in Suite 319 for a "girls" escape with four 50yo friends celebrating decades of friendship. Our cost with parking charge was $250/nt. Suite was accurately depicted in photo reviews. The room was very clean and the front desk was very prompt to respond to all requests! The bathroom sink became "stuck" in the stopper position shortly after check-in. Within 5 minutes of reporting the problem , a cracked gasket was indentified. The "stopper" was removed to allow immediate draining and promptly fixed in the morning. We "drew straws" to determine who would share the King bed on the "upper" level with a window with an ocean and street view (three steps above the lower level), the "losers" had to share a full size pull out sofa sleeper. I "won" the first draw, the King bed and abundant pillows were extremely comfortable. The two that shared the pull out reported that it was just awful with the dreaded bar across the middle of the bed. The second night, I asked for an extra sheet set. I put the large sofa cushions on the marble floor and slept reasonably well on top of them, my friend had the horrible pull out all to herself.
The included breakfasts with fresh squeezed OJ, coffee and the 8 options were quite good (we had 5/8 over two days). We ate one evening meal outside with entertainment provided by a Flamenco dancer., I ordered the "Sushi" quality tuna for $28 after a 20% discount. It was not seasoned at all (was presented "medium" and did not appear to be sushi worthy) and the only available condiment was soy sauce!
Positives include a great location right across from the beach (plus beach chairs and towels), very responsive front desk and good included breakfast offerings. The lobby is very Art Deco and there is a lounge on the second floor with two computers. Negatives: Very uncomfortable pull out sofa sleeper, questionable choice for a good dinner.
For four very close friends, sharing two beds and one bathroom for less than $65/nt with ample space including a bar and ocean view, the Beacon Hotel exceeded my expectations. I saw a standard double room during housekeeping, these rooms are small with no open space. I would suggest comparing prices for one of the two suites, especially for 3 or 4 guests. It appears that the stated fee for additional guests was not imposed during my stay. Bottom line, I would stay at The Beacon again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wanted to stay in the Art Deco part of SoBe and this hotel is sooo reasonably priced and looked good and it really is as good as it looks. Rooms v.comfy and clean though the bathroom is rather small but hey it is an Art Deco gem. Linens and towels really good quality. Beach towels and beach chairs in the room, a robe each and there is a mini-bar and snack-bar in the room. The cocktails are really good and the restaurant has decent food too. Complimentary breakfast, a coffee station and computers and wifi are an extra bonus too. The staff are very friendly and helpful with ideas of trips if you want. The beach is just across the road and shops and restaurants just around the corner. We loved the funky reception area and the general decor and the overall location was excellent. A good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Beacon this past July. The staff was great, extremely helpful, the art was great along with a nice clean room!!

My husband and I enjoyed the location, we were able to go walking on the beach early in the morning without any problems. We had a so much fun exploring the restaurants and shopping.

Looking forward to our next stay in 2013!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Chesnay, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our group stayed recently a few nights at the Beacon hotel and it was a very good surprise, rooms are clean and confortable (a bit small), food and drinks were also well appreciated. The hotel is located at the heart of Ocean drive, perfect to feel local atmosphere. A real hot spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON,TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I sought accommodations at this lovely boutique hotel for my birthday during Labor Day weekend. Upon entrance, we immediately noticed the foyer. Everything was modern and inviting. The seating area makes for fantastic photos opportunities. Checking in was a breeze. Service was friendly, and we even received a free room upgrade. Our room was on the second floor (211), so taking the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator was an added bonus. The room was relatively clean besides a couple of issues: 1) the window (inside and outside) and curtains seemed to be of need of attention, this is important to gain full exposure to the ocean view. 2) It appeared that the maid forgot to sweep the floor of our room a couple of days. However, the room was a decent size and operational. The restroom area was serviceable enough for two people. The vanity could have been a bit larger for my wife’s belongings, but when you average in the size of the room this was not an issue at all. Also located on the 2nd level is a: courtyard, business center, and second lounge area. This in my opinion was very convenient. The noise level was moderate even though it’s closer to the street and in the middle of all the action. Needless to say, we didn’t have a problem getting a good night sleep. The complimentary breakfast was an added treat. You have a select list of items to choose from. Tea, orange juice, and water are also complimentary. Overall it was a very enjoyable vacation, and the service was spot on. I have recommended The Beacon to friends, and plan on visiting The Beacon in the near future.

Tips:

Free beach chairs are located in the closet of your room. Beach umbrellas are limited and located behind the reception area. Just pick one up the first day of your stay, and keep it for the duration of your trip. ;)

This hotel is located right in the middle of action (walking distance to Mangos, Clevelander, Wet Willies etc). No rental car was needed, and taxis are plentiful as well as economical.

Room Tip: Ask for the free upgrade. Its worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gus K, Q.A. & Reputation Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guests;
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us. It’s great to hear all the positives about the property. Also and mainly I want to thank you for those two remarks (windows and floor) that you include in your comments and apologize for the omission. I assure you we will not take them lightly.We consistently look into improving our rooms and services to provide our guests only the best. I hope you will visit us again and have the opportunity to prove you how serious we are about our guests comments.
Once again, thank you for such a beatiful review.
Best regards.....


Gus Kehyaian
Q.A. & Reputation Manager
Beacon Hotel South Beach
305-674-8200 ext. 660
gus@beaconsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.