We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Advance Purchase Discount
Ranked #28 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I wanted to take my wife ti South Beach because she has always wanted to go and I used to live there, so I felt that this would be a perfect location for an Anniversary. Although we are pregnant and not able to fully hit the night life scene, we still had an amazing time! I chose the Beacon hotel for a number of reasons. First, it is in the group of most photographed hotels in the Art Deco hotel strip along Ocean Drive. Second, it is just a few steps to the beach and all entertainment. Beacon hotel is right across the street from the beach.

The Place restaurant is downstairs and attached to the hotel. You get a complimentary breakfast every morning, but it's not like what you think....2 eggs breakfast, ham and cheese omelette, spinach and cheese omelette, waffles, french toast, OJ, coffee......I mean it's a full on breakfast! The staff at the restaurant is great.

The hotel staff was wonderful!!! They remember who you are and what room you are in. Although it is not a huge hotel, there is so much action all around you. The movie Scarface was filmed in the Beacon Hotel and right next door, as well as many other locations throughout Miami and Miami Beach.

You can expect a very cute yet beautiful hotel because it is a historic building with a lot of charm. It is older so don't expect it to be like the Ritz Carlton or the Sheraton Hotels. However you can expect it to be clean, cute, accommodating, and friendly. Because this hotel is not right on the water, don't expect it to be like looking out of your window on a cruise ship. Plan a trip to Key West at the front desk, or any other excursions you may want to do.

My wife and I were there from Sept. 24th through Oct. 1st 2011. We would definitely return to Beacon, and suggest it to anyone looking to experience what South Beach is all about.

Room Tip: They do have some ocean and partial ocean views, but as I said before, you must first cross Ocean Dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dearest Guest,

The Beacon Hotel would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent experiences during your stay with us here in beautiful South Beach. We would also like to thank you for selecting us as your hotel destination out of the many in South Beach, Florida.
It makes us very happy that you and your wife had an amazing time even though you did not fully participate in the Miami night life scenes. It makes us proud that our hotel’s location proved to be most satisfying being right across the street from the beach, as well as our great newly improved hot breakfast.

Most importantly we are very happy to know that our Beacon family staff was wonderful to you and your wife while you were with us. We value our guest’s as if they were our own family, therefore remembering your name and knowing your room number is part of our family qualities. We are also very happy you took notice to our historical Art Deco architecture and charm that we take so much pride in as one of the original Art Deco hotels.

Once again the Beacon Family thanks you for choosing us as your home away from home in sunny Miami Beach, Florida. We were very sad to see you depart and look forward for your return soon!

Sincrely,

Manny Nunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    632
    192
    54
    38
See reviews for
259
707
66
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hialeah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My mother and I shared a front side suite at this beautiful Art Deco small hotel. We stayed for a week. She is 72, I am her older son, I am 50. It was very pleasant being there for both of us that conform an unusual duet. We liked Miami Beach better during the day than during the night. As soon as we arrived in the hotel, we noticed a diligent staff, from the vallet parking attendants through the housekeeping ladies and the front desk employees. All my mother's concerns as an elderly person were resolved. The view from the windows was exceptional. The sea is just feets away, practically across the street. The price was fair, including a continental breakfast of our choice. The honest answers from the front desk lady, Juliana, made our final decision to reserve there. Clean bathrooms, although smalls. The furniture displays a warm mix of Art Deco and contemporary style. The lobby is an undeniable spot to take pictures. Beacon hotel worht it. My mother already asked me to take her back next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear beloved guest,

The Beacon Hotel and its staff members are very happy to hear about your most recent pleasant experiences with us. It makes us very proud our staff members form the valet to housekeeping and to the front desk worked to diligently in providing and exceeding the guest services that was expected by you and your mother.

We are very happy to know that our view made a positive impression on you and your mother as well as the location of the hotel making it more practical for walking around South Beach. We also appreciate your comments on our newly modified lobby common areas that have become a good spot for your pictures and many others!

The Beacon Staff thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay with us here in beautiful South Beach. We look forward to seeing you and your mother back again with us very soon!

Thank You,

Derek Derefaka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel is dead smack in the middle of Ocean Drive, perfect location, as you are in the middle of everything. The staff is excellent and very accommodating, and the hotel gives you a voucher for free breakfast off a select menu at the restaurant out front. The rooms are a bit small, but this is expected due to the architecture. Frosted glass bathroom door. Mini fridge in room but loaded with minibar items for purchase. The pillows are amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Beacon Guest,

The Beacon Staff would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent trip you spent at the Beacon Hotel in South Beach. We strive to provide the absolute best customer service we possibly can, and we are happy you left the hotel with a positive experience.

We are very proud to hear that our hotel proved to have a perfect location for you, as well as our excellent staff being very accommodating to all of your needs. It also makes us very happy that our in room amenities like the mini-bar and pillows were successful in making a difference during your stay.
We were sad to see you depart from the hotel, but we look forward to your next stay with us in the near future. Thank you once again, for choosing the Beacon Hotel as your Miami Beach destination!

Sincerely,

Manny Nunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The room is very clean and simple, but the bed was five stars. If you want to stay at Art Deco you must expect small rooms, like in any other historical building. The breakfast is at the hotel restaurant who also serves the locals, for Europeans the food is more than we usually eat. In the room you have beach chairs and towels to take to the beach. The Staff is very nice and helpful. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dearest Guest,

The Beacon Hotel would like to thank you for writing about your stay with us on this Trip Advisor forum. Here at the Beacon Hotel we strive to continue being the leaders in providing five diamond services to all our Beacon guests, and we are happy we were successful in delivering our utmost best.

We are very glad you took an appreciated on our historical Art Deco style rooms and building, as it has been kept in its original state for years and will continue to do so. We are also very happy our beach chair proved to be a useful amenity and that our staff was very nice and helpful to you throughout your stay.

Once again thank you for choosing the Beacon Hotel as your Miami Beach destination and will definitely be looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I recently visited this hotel with my husband and 19 month old daughter! Upon arrival i knew straight away this was not going to be a good experience with my daughter!
The hotel was very noisy into the early hours of the morning and right in the heart of it all. Fantastic if you are single or a young couple, not so good if you a have children! It also didn't help it was labour day weekend so was even busier!!

The first room we were given was very small and had hardly any storage space for clothes etc. We had to upgrade our room to a suite to get the space we needed which cost us an extra $75 per night!!
I expect when you are upgraded to a suite and having to pay that much extra a night to receive a good service but our room was really no different and we go no 'little perks' of being in a suite which was quite disappointing. Apart from the size of the room there was no real difference!!

The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us, they were very good with my daughter and made sure we had everything we needed, from supplying and warming my daughters milk to helping us up and down the flights of stairs out the front of the hotel.

I would have liked to have been told this wasn't suitable for children when i booked, as the hotel was aware i had a 19 month old daughter as i requested a cot for her which was in our room when we arrived.

It was disappointing that our experience here wasn't a good one, as i am sure 3 years ago it would have been a much better experience.

On the whole Miami south beach is very expensive and samey, the bars and restaurants all seem to serve the same food and at the same high prices!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are a lot quiter, than the front ones as this is where all the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My friends & I planned a trip to South Beach last year, we decided to stay at the Beacon & we're so glad we did. I previously stayed at the Catalina which was a horrible experience so on my second trip back to South Beach I wanted to do it the right way! The room was totally clean, great bathroom, comfy beds, and a great staff! We got in really early but the staff took our luggage & let us change in the bathroom, they also gave us beach chairs & towels, which was great after sitting on a plane all morning! We also decided to have breakfast at the hotel which was also great & for a cheap price. The Beacon is in a great location. If it's your first time or you have been to South Beach before the Beacon is a must try hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear guest,

The Beacon Staff would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent experiences from your trip at the Beacon Hotel. We are happy to know you had a positive experience with our hotel and hotel services.

It makes us proud to know our clean rooms and comfortable beds made a good impression on you during your stay. We are also very happy that our staff was able to help you before your room became available by storing your luggage and helping you with beach chairs and beach towels access.

Once again thank you for your comments on your stay and we look forward for your return to our must try Beacon Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great hotel, right on the strip in the heart of all the buzz, not too noisey just right... if you want noise go a few minutes up the road.

We statyed there for 3 nights was just enough. Room was ok not too big but was fine for the nights we statyed there. Art deco and quirkiness of the hotel was great

Staff very friendly always willing to help. Restaurant on the premises was a great hang out place to sit have cocktails and watch the people go by.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

The Beacon Staff would like to thank you for all your comments on your most recent stay with us. We are happy that are hotel served as a great hotel for you with it's location in the heart of the strip and became a hotel that was just right for you!

We like the fact our Art Deco decor was something you appreciated and mentioned in your post. We take a lot of pride in providing the best customer service we can for to enjoy your time in South Beach. We feel extremely happy and satisfied that our friendly staff were able to help you with whatever was needed and wanted by you as a guest of the Beacon Hotel.

We look forward for your return soon and hope that your next stay will be much longer than just 3 nights!

Thank You,

Derek Derefaka
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.