We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite MUST in South Beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redbury South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Redbury South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Redbury South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1776 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Fairfax Hotel) (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Summer Rates
Ranked #3 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A definite MUST in South Beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I just returned from a two-night stay at The Redbury and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to South Beach. Here's a breakdown.

OVERVIEW
- Exceptional service.
- Clean, spacious, and well designed accommodations.
- Great location.

ACCOMMODATIONS
Our room was a King room on the 3rd floor (Room 310). It was beautifully appointed, exceptionally clean, and extremely spacious. The bathroom was spectacular, with Hansgrohe fixtures and a glass-enclosed stand-up marble shower that could easily fit a party of six (if that's your idea of a party ;). The bed was amazing - super comfortable with a real down duvet (in my opinion, a marker of a true luxury experience). The view overlooked the building next door, so I wouldn't say that was a selling feature, but it also didn't detract from the accommodations.

SERVICE
The staff at The Redbury is top notch. From the hotel managers, to the front desk staff, to the valets, everyone is professional, attentive, personable, and eager to help make your stay a great one. I can't say enough wonderful things about Florencia and Sinem (hotel management), who did a great job making restaurant suggestions, coordinating our arrivals, and ensuring everything we needed was always taken care of. Several of the staff who have come over from the SLS (both SBE properties) commented that the intimate scale of The Redbury allows them to have more quality interactions with the guests, and it shows. Also, I have to mention the staff at the Raleigh beach club - these young men are incredibly attentive, ensuring that you won't have to lift a finger during your relaxing days on the beach.

LOCATION
The Redbury's location is fantastic. It's within a block of some of South Beach's hottest properties, including The Raleigh, The Delano, The Gale, The Setai and The W. It's an easy walk to Lincoln Road, Espanola Way, and Ocean Drive, and just one block from the beach.

EXTRAS
There are a few extra perks that Redbury guests enjoy during their stay and you'll want to know about them. The house car is available on a first come, first serve basis to shuttle you around South Beach - nothing like being driven around SoBe in a sleek white BMW. The 4th floor swimming pool is a great spot to stretch your legs for the day if you don't feel like venturing too far and want a bit of peace and quiet. Access to the Raleigh pool and beach club is a wonderful bonus. And finally, The Redbury robes (available in room) are legitimately the most comfortable robes I have ever worn. These aren't your average run-of-the-mill terry cloth. You have to experience them to believe it, but trust me, these robes will ruin you for any boring old robe after. If I could have fit one in my carry-on I would have brought it home ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 310. It was very spacious and quiet. The view wasn't anything special (the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Daniella,

It was great meeting you and Tina throughout your stay. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for the kind words in your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the accommodations, service and location. We were happy to assist you throughout your stay so that your Redbury experience could be a memorable one. Our objective is to create emotional connections with all our guests and your great feedback shows that we have succeeded once again.

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    53
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
127
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I travel frequently for both work and pleasure. This trip was for business to meet with clients in the Miami and northern beaches area.
This hotel, given it's youth, is already well polished and mature. The arrival is so well executed from the helpful and effecient valet team to the truly welcoming and genuinely nice front desk team...all of them. To say that the team are very pleasant does not seem enough. The fact is that the welcome I got every time I came back through the door felt sincere and caring. The rooms are great and such a nice (big) size. I love the record player in the room. I had a great rooms towards the back of the hotel which was very peaceful and away from the roar of Collins Ave. Lorenzo is a good reataurant with an equally effecient and very knowledgeable team. The kale ceasar salad is fantastic but be warned you could get addicted to it.
In short, I felt genuinely welcomed and truly cared for. The team get a right balance of proffecient, professional and caring.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Diarmuid_Buckley,

It is refreshing to hear a review from someone with a business point of view. You mentioned our staff being a right balance of proficient, professional and caring. What else can I ask as a Hotel Manager? We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my wife and I's first trip to South Beach, as we stayed in Miami before. We were glad we found this boutique hotel. It is very clean, nice, and has considerably large rooms with large bathrooms. It is also very quite. (we had a room that faced Collins Ave, and didn't hear anything). The service provide by all the staff was top notch. And frankly, I thought the location was perfect. While it is not “on” the beach, it didn’t matter. You have access to the beach by walking across the street, or visiting the sister hotel which is across the street as well. And all the great restaurants and shops are in walking distance.

They also have a nice restaurant inside the hotel.

On our next trip to South Beach, we will definitely stay at the Redbury again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Virginiaboy,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel rooms and service. One of my favorite aspects of this hotel is the location. Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive and Espanola Way are all just a few minutes’ walk which makes us prime location for shopping, dining, and night life! It is great to here that you have selected the Redbury among all the other properties in Miami and we are honored to host your first stay.

Sincerely,
Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Good but I don't see how this is ranked #1 when the Raleigh across the street (same management?) is many times better.

Pros:
- the rooms are cute
- the front desk staff nice and friendly

Cons:
- you pay beforehand for services that may not be available: e.g. access to the Raleigh beach is limited (it was not available to us, at least, allegedly "all the spots were filled out" ?!!?)
- location is OK, not great
- the rooftop pool closes at sunset

The most annoying thing is the rogue practice of trying to sneak in a ridiculous minibar charge in there, if you're not paying attention. There was no attempt to check the facts with us, just a phony charge of $126 appeared on the credit card statement afterwards. The mystery of the $126 charge was soon unveiled to have been: $7 for an espresso and $119 for nachos (sic). Both false, of course.

The bogus charge was eventually removed after a phone call. But guys, seriously, $119 for nachos ?

Mackayla was definitely not impressed.

PS: Later that week, another Florida resort attempted the same thing with a mysterious charge -- for which they didn't even have a description, like the $119 nachos. So it must be a common practice in Florida...

Room Tip: Check your statement carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Radu S.,
It is upsetting to hear that you had mixed feelings about the Redbury; this was certainly not how we like to be perceived. Thanks for the feedback on the rooms and front desk staff. We take pride on having the best hosts in Miami. We truly apologize for the mishap in the mini bar charge and we will discuss this with the staff to ensure this does not happen again. We hope that whenever you’re back in Miami you decide to give us a second chance.
Sincerely,
Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We frequent lots of hotels for business and personal reasons and have fallen in love with the Redbury. Open just 2 months, we were blown away with the friendly staff and attentive service. Everyone was so terrific and there was no opening hiccups. Lots of hotels on SoBe could learn a thing or two from the Redbury!
The rooms were super well appointed with comfy beds, marble bath and the hip record player to spin Bob Marley (and other good tunes). Not to mention the room size was awesome. There was no skimping anywhere!!
The pool is cozy and chill. Having the beach access through the Raleigh really makes a difference too, even if you never use it.
Proximity to the action is superb. Restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. The restaurant in the hotel is really chic too. We didn't have time to try the food this time, but we did have drinks and the service there was great as well.
In fact, we booked another night next month. Just because we loved it!!
My #1 fear is that all these glowing reviews will blow the cover on this hidden gem. ;-). It truly is an instant classic.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Jenrod4,

It was truly love at first sight! The entire team at the Redbury cannot wait for you to come back and visit us again. Opening a hotel is never easy, so it puts a smile on everyone’s face to hear that you were blown away. When you return you should definitely try out the restaurant, you will not be disappointed with the classic Italian cuisine. Can’t wait to see you next month!!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Let's say first off first time in So be. We are Naples people. Having reservations about So Be in general we were apprehensive. But we thought how can you go wrong with #1 hotel on TA? Turns out you can't! Perfect. Soundproof rooms with great bathroom amenities. Great size for So Be. Are lunch at the massive lovely Raleigh pool everyday. Got a mixology class from ?aldo the Redbury bartender. Have HIM make you a proper Manhattan. Great shower pressure. Can do front staff. Beautiful BMW ride gratis for our dinner at Juvia and great valets. Perfect housekeeping when you ask for it. Great location walking distance to sister SLS for a Hyde beach night. Would def stay here again! Well done.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Westmount,

We are so happy to be your first in Miami! Please let me know when you plan to make your return visit, so I can inform the team to start brainstorming for the next cool place we can drop you off at in our BMW!

Sincerely,
Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Redbury lives up to the great early reviews. But it's all about managing your expectations. Located on the west side of Collins (at 18th) it's not on the beach. It's across the street from one of two sister hotels (Raleigh and SLS) on the same block. And it's the access they give Redbury guests that makes it such a great value. We spent three days at the Raleigh pool and felt completely at home there. Food and drink were billed straight to our Redbury room. Chairs and towels were no problem. And the beach at the Raleigh was just as accessible.

The SLS offers Redbury guests access to their spa. But beware of a steep hotel surcharge for services if they don't mention it when booking.

The Redbury rooms are spacious and very comfortable. They have that still-new look and are in mint condition. We stayed in a "Collins King" room. Bathroom and shower were both large and beautifully done. More than enough closet and dresser space for a long weekend stay. The bed was firm and really comfortable. The TV looked to be an ultra thin LED with a great interactive system and a picture that was perfect for watching playoff football. The Crosley record player, with a small selection of old fashioned vinyl records supplied, was a unique touch.

There is indeed a roof top pool. But don't be misled by the website description. While the roof itself may be 12000 sq ft., the pool itself is tiny. However, access to the legendary Raleigh pool made us forget this within minutes.

The service was impeccable. Kristen, Bruce and Maggie in particular are stand outs. Bruce even swung us a prime time table at Juvia (easily the best restaurant in Miami.) And the availability of the free house car (BMW 750i) for shuttling around the immediate area makes renting a car pointless.

The Redbury is ideal for those seeking a quiet oasis within the craziness of South Beach. Like the access to it's sister hotels, it offers the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Branbud,

It seems like you had a lovely vacation relaxing in the sun at the Raleigh beach! I am so happy to hear you were able to experience all we have to offer across the three properties. Dining at our sister’s and being able to charge back to your room is always a great convenience. Our team is very knowledgeable about where are the new hot spots in Miami are and love to assist with planning the perfect itinerary custom to your style. Thank you for reviewing our quiet oasis!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redbury South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury South Beach

Address: 1776 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Fairfax Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of South Beach at the convergence of Collins and 18th, The Redbury South Beach brings the service and Hollywood glam of its sister property to Miami’s most coveted vacation and nightlife destination. Opening December 2013, the hotel will offer 69 rooms and suites with interiors inspired by South Beach’s Art Deco heritage; Lorenzo, an Italian eatery from award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano; and a 12,000-square-foot rooftop pool and event space with food and beverage service. Guests of The Redbury will have exclusive access to the beaches, pools, and amenities of the nearby SLS Hotel South Beach and The Raleigh, along with access to sbe’s collection of restaurant and nightlife offerings throughout Miami. Each of the spacious 69 rooms features customized furniture, a curated art collection highlighted by historic Fillmore Theater posters and archival images of Miami Beach and vintage-style record players, complete with a collection of vinyl curated by Capitol Records and Universal Music Enterprises. Room amenities include in-room dining services from Lorenzo, The Redbury Signature Mattress (featuring its plush custom-pillow top) with 300 thread count Italian linen and terry, spacious bathrooms with oversized showers, bathtubs and luxurious finishes, Ciel Spa bath amenities, high definition Samsung Televisions and Geneva Bluetooth Sound Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TIG Global, Venere, Tingo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Redbury South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redbury South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.