We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare on Collins Ave- BEWARE-DO NOT GO” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The President Hotel - Miami Beach to your Saves list
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nightmare on Collins Ave- BEWARE-DO NOT GO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Absolutely the WORST hotel experience of my 30+ years of travel. I booked two rooms in January for an April trip. Upon arrival we were told one room was ready, one was not. They lied. There was no room. And we didn't find this out until we inquired an hour later. I had all the documentation, including my credit card statement and the hotel's confirmation email. The woman at the desk was the rudest I have ever met. No sense of customer service at all. No manager was on duty (late afternoon) and it took over an hour to get a front desk manager in on the conversation. The hotel did not have the second room available. I tried to resolve this situation with every scenario possible at the front desk, since the woman clearly was incapable of saying anything other than "we do not have a room" nor capable of any original thought and still got nowhere. And they could not have cared less. They offered to ship two of the four of us across town to a lesser hotel. Not acceptable as we had one car. I had no choice but to find another place to stay, which I did (God bless Marriot). Only AFTER I made two reservations at the Marriot (which I did in front of them ) did they refuse to refund my money. The front desk manager said the manager he talked to on the phone (from some mysterious back room) would not refund our money, even though they did not honor the booking they had confirmed and charged us for in January. BEWARE travelers. This hotel is a shaky operation. STAY AWAY. They ripped me off for more than $600.00 and did it in a way so slimy I still can't believe it. Not one call from my attorney to either the manager or general manager was returned.

Room Tip: Chose one in ANOTHER hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    331
    191
    92
    97
See reviews for
104
305
56
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a good place to stay if you want to be close to everything, but not pay a huge amount. Ocean drive is a block away. You can walk to the beach, bars and restaurants. You can often get deals to this hotel and that's the only way I would recommend to stay here. They have done a good job with the upgrades, new showers, updated beds, etc, but it still has that old Miami beach feel, which is good. This is NOT the place to stay if you are looking for a luxury hotel experience. Another nice feature is that you can open the windows and get some fresh air in the room. The downfalls... The elevator is soooo tiny. 3 people max and takes a very long time, so I hope you are up for the stairs. You also get charged a "resort" fee.... This is definitely not a resort, there is no pool, no hot tub, really nothing other than the hotel. It is also impossible to unload your car. The gave a minimal number of spots at the front of the hotel. After driving around the block for an hour, one finally opened up for my turn to unpack. Maybe all the hotels should get together and offer shuttle service from the parking garages.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an excellent choice in a three star. The hotel is in an great location, just a block from the beach and surrounded by shops and restaurants. The staff was wonderful!! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We had a car, so it was a bit of a bother to unload and then park at a garage a couple of blocks away. We were upgraded to the penthouse, which was very large, and comfortable. We had a nice walk-in rainfall shower, and a beautiful, huge round bed. The decor is very trendy and light. We could spot the ocean out the back door at the end of the hallway. Our reservation included two complimentary drinks, which we liked a lot, since things are rather pricy in South Beach. There is no pool, but you can sit in a lovely courtyard to enjoy your drink. Breakfast was served off the lobby, and was the usual choices. I would stay here again for the price, location, comfort, and very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, the hotel is located in a brilliant place, it is very close to a lot of great venues so i was extremely pleased. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the bar tender Tyler was very pleasant to be served by . I came to Miami for a social adventure on myself and I must say that without Giovanni showed me all the great venues to go out when i was in search of a good night - so without him i would not of had such a good stay and pleasant atmosphere!

if anyone else if looking for a party packed holiday i recommend this hotel for its location and good atmosphere
HOWEVER spent all night not sleeping as the walls are so thin that I could hear the guests next door also not sleeping. The restaurant food is very good but the breakfast was quite horrible and it's not the best food to eat when you're not feeling well.
The beds in the hotel room i was in wasn't so comfortable but i didn't spend much time sleeping throughout my vacation so it wasn't an issue.

thank u to all the kind and welcoming staff i mentioned earlier! u guys rocked !!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only positive statement I can make about the hotel is it's location. We had to wait a long time to check in.. After checking in we entered the elevator and it was super scary because it would stall and make noises. We then decided to take showers and there were no towels in the room. We had to wait quite a bit for them and the lady brought 2 even though there were four of us. They offer beach towels but they look like they have been used since the 1980s.. The complimentary breakfast was a joke.. It considered of toast, strange tasting oatmeal, and imitation cheese.. The hallways are very dirty and stuffy since there is no AC.. Hopefully this helps:)

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I like this Hotel, the Service was nice and friendly, the rooms clear and cool disignet, the restaurant inside the hotel was awsome there are really delicious drinks and foods. I think i will come back once ;)

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very pleasant rooms, lovely wall paper! clean. passage bit stuffy. Location is excellent !!! so so near ocean drive! Breakfast is basic but nice. Staff very friendly. they helped me with my million queries!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and EasyToBook so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The President Hotel - Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.