We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami, a breathtaking place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The President Hotel - Miami Beach to your Saves list
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
peshawar, pakistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miami, a breathtaking place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Miami, i was planing to go since long. Finally we managed a tour from Islamabad, Pakistan to Istanbul, Turkey and further to Miami, Florida USA. it was a fantastic and blessed journey as the whole tour was arranged in a very planned way. we choose to stay in The President Hotel which was next to beach, So one can approach within a couple of minutes to the beautiful blue waters of Miami beach. Hotel terrace to the road was a good place to enjoy tourists from all over the world. Breakfast was good and staff was quite friendly. Another charm was happy drink. rooms are clean and i appreciate their HR Officers as the employed beautiful girls to serve the guests. I will never forget the hospitality of the hotel staff and fresh breath of Miami.

Room Tip: higher rooms gives u a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    360
    216
    103
    105
See reviews for
127
328
66
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Pros- front staff you will love. Martha, Albert and Estaban(bellman) made our stay, worth it. First I need to thank Martha once again for going out of her way to make sure that we had a room. Front staff and Noresi(morning waitress) and the other gentleman (young man) always greet you with a smile. If you need a place to relax or need to eat on a budget, Estaban is who you need to see. He gave us some great tips. Thanks again
The rooms were small and very clean. Keep in mind, This is not the Ritz Carlton so you will get what you paid for.

Cons- WiFi is free, however, did not work most of the time. It disconnect often. I really didn't get the $19 resort fee considering you only get a small towel for the beach. Nothing extra.
It took awhile for the water to get warm and the sink drain was clogged.
I didn't know what was the deal with the housekeeper. She made the bed back up with the dirty sheets (I guess I should have mentioned it) she probably would have given us clean sheets.
I am going to assume that at a certain time the elevator doesn't stop on the 3rd floor so we had to take the stairs from the 4th floor. Not upset, I need the exercise.
There was a weird order in the hallway. ..
But all and all, the friendly staff override everything. I will definitely go back. . Thanks again Front Office

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hello Kemmi,
Thank you for your feedback! We know your glowing review will make Martha’s, Albert’s, Estaban’s and Noresi’s day! We’re so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided the outstanding service you deserve! We are sorry for the Wi-Fi issues you experienced and that housekeeping didn’t meet your expectations. We strive to provide every guest a truly great experience! We’ll take your feedback under careful consideration, as we continue to improve. For future reference, our resort fee can be found directly under the nightly rate on all online travel agents and includes; 2 bottled waters each day, breakfast for 2, Wi-Fi, welcome drinks, a discount at The Purple Penguin Café, in room safe and local phone calls. We look forward to seeing you again, so we can make your next South Beach vacation even more memorable!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I arrival to this hotel 3 hours before my check in time even though I was not able to check in at that time the staff was able to hold my bags while I went out to enjoy my day. This hotel is only two block always from the beach not bad at all. I really hope to enjoy the rest of my stay In the pent house suit.

Room Tip: You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hello Wyne,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled our dedicated team made such a great impression! Your satisfaction and comfort are so important to us. We’re delighted our beautiful penthouse suite and fantastic location exceeded your expectations. We love having guests like you, and we hope you plan a repeat visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Lets talk about the hotel, pictures are worth a thousand words when it comes to this hotel. Everything almost everything was describe to a tea. (Thanks). The staff was friendly and very helpful. When we arrived and checked in they gave us vouchers for breakfast and a voucher for drinks (two drinks) and they provide beach towels for you. There was a smell that hit you when you walked in the front door, could not figure it out. The previous reviews that I read are just like they describe, except no microwave to heat up food. Bottle water everyday and Breakfast was free, except if you wanted some eggs etc., then you had to pay out of pocket, but other than that good, Location is great, lot of construction, and you must pay for parking on the street "its cheaper" than valet, Friendly staff. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello Tonokies,
Thank you for the review! We’re glad our beautiful hotel, facilities, and amenities met your expectations. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our friendly team, welcome drinks, complimentary beach towels, and continental breakfast. A more extensive menu is available, at a discounted price for our valued guests. We appreciate your feedback and will take your suggestion about providing in-room microwaves to heart. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to local construction. We are happy to offer the convenience and security of our valet service, but we’re glad you were able to find suitable street parking. We’re sure future guests will appreciate your helpful tips! We hope you’re one of those future guests; we’d love to see you again. Your recommendation and return visit would be the best compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

the worst place i have ever stayed in.our room had no air-con so was moved to a room that was still occupied,then given a "penthouse suite" that we had to pay for what a joke!got bitten by something first night went to walgreens was told it was bedbugs the hotel didnt want to know.spent the next night sleeping in the chair.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello Biddyford,
We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to a malfunctioning air conditioning unit in your room. We are happy we were able to upgrade you to an available penthouse suite, but we regret the accommodations or compensation didn’t meet your expectations. Guest comfort and room cleanliness are both very important to us. Your bedbug concern is truly unusual, as we have not received any similar complaints or found evidence to support such a theory. Unfortunately many far more mundane insects thrive here, outside in the August heat. We do take all our guests’ concerns seriously though, and we routinely inspect our rooms, mattresses and linens in addition to our thorough, preventive pest control maintenance. Here at The President, we strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience, and we’d welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns further. We invite you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

They tried to steal us all the time, they didn't explain the taxes and when we arrived there they said we should pay the resort which said in the groupon it was nit request, they took more than $300 of deposit without explain why. I will never go back there!!! It was a really bad time with lots of bad surprises about many extras stuffs to pay

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello Camila,
We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for any confusion over our standard resort fee. For future reference, our resort fee can be found directly under the nightly rate on all online travel agents and includes; 2 bottled waters each day, breakfast for 2, Wi-Fi, welcome drinks, a discount at The Purple Penguin Café, in room safe and local phone calls. We strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience, and we’d welcome the opportunity to make things right. We invite you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel is at a good location. The outside of the hotel looks kind of shabby but the inside of the hotel is nicely decorated. The hallway of the hotel room needs to be painted and the carpet needs to be replaced due to the high volume of traffic going in and out the hotel. The room is small but is comfortable for 3-4 people inside of it. The closet is a good size and has shelves where you can place your clothes and shoes on it. The beds do not roll and are at least a queen size where two people can sleep or lay in one bed comfortably. There is a small refrigerator located inside the closet underneath the in room safe. The hotel provides an iron and an ironing board. The bathroom is very small. The pressure for the shower is good and the water temperature is also very good. However, only one person can be in the restroom at one time since it is so small!

The hotel offers free continental breakfast which was just okay. They only serve bread for toast, slices of cheese, pastries, cereal, milk, apples, oranges, yogurt in a bowl, small cups of orange and cranberry juice. The yogurt served was plain white yogurt with no flavor to it. There is breakfast that you can purchase at the hotel such as waffles, scrambled eggs, and other things but I did not try it out. The hotel also provides two welcome drinks during happy hour. The drinks were good!

The hotel staff such as Martha at the front desk and Noremise in the bar area are very friendly and helpful. They were both very accomodating to my needs. I would stay here again for another visit in Miami South beach.

Also just a tip or word of advice for visitors going to the beach from the hotel. Please only take your beach towels, cover ups, and key card to the beach. DO NOT TAKE YOUR CELL PHONE NOR ANY MONEY TO THE BEACH! ALSO IF YOU PUT THOSE ITEMS IN A BAG, PLEASE DO NOT LEAVE IT UNATTENDED! MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE BAG IF YOU CHOOSE TO BRING ONE WITHIN EYE DISTANCE AND IN AREA THAT YOU CAN EASILY WALK TO AFTER GETTING OUT OF THE WATER AT THE BEACH!!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room on the second floor because there is less noise at the upper level and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello Tymiece,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thorough and thoughtful review. We’re happy our fantastic location, stylish décor, comfortable rooms, spacious closets, and convenient amenities exceeded your expectations. We are sorry the size of our bathrooms failed to impress you, but we’re delighted our great water pressure and temperature did! We’re glad you took advantage of our complimentary, continental breakfast, but we wish you were more pleased with our selection. We happily offer our hotel guests a discount on the more extensive breakfast menu. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our refreshing welcome drinks and our friendly, dedicated team. Martha and Noremise will appreciate the recognition; it’s sure to make them smile! Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we have no doubt your helpful hints about personal belongings will come in handy for future guests. A return visit would mean the world to us! We would love to find ways to continue to impress you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#100 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#64 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#77 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,082 reviews
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#98 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#154 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The President Hotel - Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.