We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The President Hotel - Miami Beach to your Saves list
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked four nights in June for my girlfriend's birthday. Overall this is a standard budget hotel without any exceptional value. The rooms were relatively clean and the service was friendly. The A/C is top notch so that was a welcome relief. The rooms themselves are very small with just enough room for the beds and nightstand. The bathroom is a closet so impossible for a couple to share. The walls are paper thin so you will hear everyone in the hallways and during other extracurricular activities.
When you book they don't include an additional charge of $21 per night for their "amenities" which include bottles of water, towels for the beach, and a very poor continental breakfast. That being said it is a comparatively affordable hotel so have your expectations aligned with that going in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Chris,
We hope you and your girlfriend enjoyed a great birthday vacation! A/C during the summer in South Beach is invaluable, we’re glad you appreciated the cool air. We’re sorry the bathroom was too small for your liking, and we’ll take your thoughts into careful consideration. We also apologize that you were unhappy with our resort fee and all it offers. For future reference our resort fee includes; 2 bottled waters each day, breakfast for 2, Wi-Fi, welcome drinks, a discount at The Purple Penguin Café, in room safe and local phone calls. We hope to see you again for some more South Beach fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    319
    173
    89
    92
See reviews for
94
292
55
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but I had a good experience at The President Hotel. I took a last minute trip to Miami and chose to stay at this hotel because I got a great deal for 4th of July weekend. Front desk staff "Melissa" was very friendly and helpful. Hotel does not a have a parking lot but offer $30/day overnight valet parking. At check in you get a complimentary cocktail and continental breakfast in the morning. Room was descent. Hallway smelled like too much air freshener. Location is 1 block from beach and restaurants. Wet willies, Clevelander are 4 blocks away. I would def book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your praise of our great hotel team. We’ll be sure to pass your praise along to everyone; we know it’ll make their day. It’s great to hear that you loved the welcome drinks; we think it’s the perfect start to a beach vacation! Thank you for your feedback regarding our hallways, and we’ll take your thoughts into careful consideration. We can’t wait to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. Virgin Islands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

3 years ago I stayed for the first time because of the reviews on this site. I just stayed again and this visit confirmed this is my Hotel of choice in South Beach. The staff is very accommodating in every way. Andrew at the front desk is a wealth of information. The hotel is one block from the beach and in the center of shopping and restaurants, you do not need a car if you plan on staying in South Beach. Public transportation is easily accessible. This visit I stayed in the Penthouse w/ the round bed. It's a good deal w/ a rooftop deck and a larger bathroom. The standard rooms are very nice, but bathroom is small & no deck. They do have complimentary continental breakfast which is good enough to start the day. This boutique hotel has a great funky vibe to it. No street noise is heard in the rooms & the elevator has worked at both my visits. The bar & restaurant are part of the lobby and are a great place to hang out. There is also a front patio you can sit at to eat or have drinks and people watch.

Room Tip: Standard room is beautiful, bathroom is small, but very nice. Penthouse w/ round bed is a large w/ a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your loyalty; we always love welcoming a familiar face! We’re thrilled you loved the penthouse; waking up to the views from the deck is amazing isn’t it!? It’s great to hear that you appreciated our décor, quiet rooms and breakfast. We’ll be sure to pass your compliments of Andrew along to him; we know it will make his day. We’re also happy that you enjoyed our bar, The Green Bar, and the fantastic people watching from our balcony. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed at The President Hotel 2 weeks ago with my girlfriend on a girls night out. Andrew, the handsome guy at the desk greeted us and made us feel very welcome from the get-go. We asked him a ton of questions about the area all day long since it was our first time and he never failed to impress us with his thorough knowledge of the city. I will definitely be recommending my friends to stay here because of Andrew's excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello Valerie,
Girls night out on South Beach; it already sounds like you had fun time! We’re thrilled to hear that Andrew offered you such excellent service. We’ll be sure to pass your many compliments along to him; it’ll be a bonus if we can get him to blush over you “handsome” compliment! We can’t wait to see you again when you next want to enjoy the South Beach fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

First let me start by saying I am 5 months pregnant. My husband and I had a rough flight and I was hormonal and emotional upon arriving. The hotel manager, Erik was AMAZING! After arriving and feeling quite upset, he immediately looked into the room I had booked on Expedia and upgraded me to one of their Penthouse suites to make my stay more enjoyable. We were shocked and so appreciative of his gesture. The room was spacious and clean. The beds are very comfortable not to mention the mirrors were a nice feature :). The showers were immaculate with two shower head options. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There was always someone to open the door for me and call for a car service when needed. They did offer complimentary breakfasts with our stay - only downside, the food isn't so wonderful but a great deal even when paying for the regular menu. The orange juice is very syrupy and not fresh squeezed (A bit disappointing seeing as though we were in FL). The rooms were changed over quickly each day and the housekeepers were extremely sweet. Bring your own shampoo/soap/conditioner if you want something decent to use as I was not a fan of their products. Other than the food and the shampoo, this is the place you absolutely want to stay at in Miami! Thank you for such a great experience. We will be back with the little one :)

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 4th floor if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello,
It’s fantastic to hear that Erick was able to turn your vacation around after the rough traveling start. The penthouse really is amazing isn’t it?! We’re thrilled you enjoyed your spacious room, cleanliness and our hotel team’s great service. We’ll take your thoughts regarding our food and toiletries into careful consideration as we strive to always improve. We can’t wait to see you back and meet the soon to be addition to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here last weekend. Martha (at the Front Desk) was a great help and really took care of us (free drinks on check-in, room upgrade, etc.). The room was clean and had a fridge. This area of South Beach is not too my liking, but it is a short walk to Ocean Drive, Espanola Way or the big hotel bars on Collins. My wife and I booked the President for a last minute trip to SoBe. It is, as advertised, the service was great and the pictures accurately represent what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello,
It sounds like you enjoyed some of the fantastic South Beach amenities. We’re glad you enjoyed our cleanliness, service and value. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Is a really nice deal if you want to met Miami.The hotel location is the best! just a few blocks from South beach. Rooms are really clean and if u like dancing you can go by walking too. Mangos disco is a really interesting offer !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello Melinaa,
Our location is one reason we’re always smiling; we’re thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed it! It sounds like you enjoyed some of South Beach’s praised night life! We’re glad our cleanliness and value added to your vacation. We hope to see you again for some more South Beach fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The President Hotel - Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.