We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The President Hotel - Miami Beach to your Saves list
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Everything was great I'm from DC the employee's was very helpful and friendly our room had a leak and they gladly moved us to another room. The location was great a block away from the beach it's was great you can sit in front of the hotel and people watch . Andrew and and jordan are the most friendly people I have ever met at a hotel ✔️

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Josh,
It is fantastic to hear that Andrew and Jordan impressed you so much , thank you. We’ll pass along the praise to them; we know it will make their day! We apologize for the leak you experienced in your first room. Thankfully, it sounds like our staff was able to quickly fix the situation. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    300
    166
    87
    90
See reviews for
85
281
53
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Overall, all employees are very welcoming and helpful. The hotel room was extremely clean and right around the corner to the night life of South Beach.
Martha was a great receptionist, and very accommodating.
Natalia, makes some amazing drinks! Best bartender in Miami Beach!!

-409

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! We’re glad that our cleanliness and great location impressed. Your praise of Martha and Natalia is much appreciated. We’ll be sure to let them both know of your kind words; we know it will make them happy! We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great art deco room with a round bed. It was clean, the shower was excellent the staff were very friendly and the breakfast actually had some healthier options which was great. It was in an excellent location super close to the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room which was large and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Erika,
Thank you for the awesome review and excellent star rating! We’re thrilled you loved your stay with us including our breakfast, décor, bathroom and breakfast. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel is small but comfortable and has an excellent staff. Price is right and is convenient. Martha received us at the front desk and she was very cheery and helpful She helped us choose a nice room that suited us well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your many compliments and praise of our staff. We will be sure to pass your praise along to everyone, especially Martha. It’s great to hear that our rates, comfy rooms and convenient location all met your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Martha was very helpful and kind she helped alot. The staff was real cool. Valet parking could of been better. Love the location. Easy access to everything on South Beach. I would stay there again if needed. Best prices compared to other South Beach hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for the great praise of our staff, especially Martha. We’ll be sure to pass your compliments along to everyone; we know it will make them all very happy. Our location is one of our favorite qualities, we’re glad you enjoyed it too. We are sorry to hear that our valet parking failed to impress. Hotel and restaurant valet stations currently must work around the construction currently on Collins Ave. At this time we rely on the patience and understanding of our guests, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

I am already here in this nice hotel.
Good price, very clean, near the beach.

But the best is the staff; expecially Natalia always very nice at bar. Marta, Andrew and Anessa as rececptionist very kindly smiley, always take care of you

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your fantastic stay with us! Your praise of our staff is greatly appreciated. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to each person; we know it will make their day. We hope you enjoy the rest of your visit, and we can’t wait to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The location of this hotel is undeniably excellent. That is where the positives start and finish regarding this hotel. Take my advice and stay somewhere else.

My friend and I booked a twin room. However, when we arrived were were given a double room and told nothing else was available. When I complained I was told that although I had selected a twin room I was only "expressing a preference". We stayed for seven nights and despite this length of time and several requests we were never provided a new room. Quite simply none of the staff were the least bit concerned with solving our problem and my friend and I were forced to share the same bed for the week.

The hotel bar closed at around 10 pm each night. This is a very poor service particularly when you consider the cost of staying there. Also they add a "hospitality service charge" on which I believe is a poor practice and simply a poorly disguised effort at bleeding more cash out of their customers. I have no problem with tipping and I accept it is part of the culture when in the US. However, I don't like the decision being taken out of my hands like this. I ordered a round of drinks on one occasion and received a dirty look from the barmaid and a lecture about it being five minutes before closing time (2155). She reluctantly prepared two drinks and made out as if she was doing me a massive favor. I definitely was seeing the benefits of my "hospitality service charge" that night.

One day we arrived back at our room at 1600 after having left at 0930 and the room had still not been serviced.

I realise that hotels are businesses that are profit driven. However, a good hotel will treat its guests well in the hope that they will come back. At the President I felt like they just wanted to suck as much cash out of us as they could in the one visit and they were not in anyway bothered about providing a good quality service and looking after our needs. We had paid for our room already and they didn't give a damn that it was not what we requested.

The continental breakfast is terrible. Cheap pastries and muffins and highly processed plastic looking cheese that reminded me of hospital food. Almost no fresh fruit and one cereal. To call it a continental breakfast is a joke.

The pipes in our bathroom would periodically bang together with such force that the noise would wake you up. The taps didn't have to be running or the toilet flushed for this to happen, we had no way to control this or predict when it would happen.

I will tell anyone I know who is planning a trip to Miami to avoid the President at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We’re very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay with us, and we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered due to a room with a double bed. We are also sorry that you were not offered excellent service during your stay. We understand that you were unhappy with the hospitality service fee, or gratuity, at our restaurant. Many of our international guests are not accustomed to tipping, creating the common practice of adding gratuity to the check in South Beach. You are always welcome to request the gratuity be removed if you are not satisfied with your service. We will take all your comments, including your thoughts on our breakfast, into careful consideration as we continually strive to improve. We would welcome the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The President Hotel - Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.