We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at President Hotel (13-16 March 2014)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The President Hotel - Miami Beach to your Saves list
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lisbon_PORTUGAL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First stay at President Hotel (13-16 March 2014)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I would recomend this hotel in terms of cost/quality.
It is very well located in Miami beach.
Walking distance to main amenities, including Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive.
There is a bus close by to Aventura Mall (40') and price 2.45 USD.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Antonio,
We are thrilled that you loved our location; we couldn’t agree more! Your location and transportation tips are fantastic, thank you. We know future guests will also be grateful. We hope to see you again when South Beach fun next calls to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    300
    166
    87
    90
See reviews for
86
281
53
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spent, me and my husband, couple of days at President and I should say that is a average hotel at very good location in SoBe!
Complimentary breakfast included for guests and kind service by the whole staff.
I must consider by the high price we pay to stay in, the hotel should improve beds, which are terrible, omg!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Camila,
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. We are glad that you loved our location; it always keeps us happy! It is fantastic to hear that our staff took great care of you. We are very sorry that the beds were not to your liking, and we will take your comment into careful consideration. We hope to see both you and your husband again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hotels in South Beach think nothing of charging $500+ a night..just because they can. So finding a decent place for $250 is gold. The president is perfectly situated, the staff: Leo and Karla plus bartender Nathalie are great: easy going, eager to please and super friendly. Room was EXACTLY as advertised; clean, modern and spacious. The hotel is not brand new and it shows its age a little around the edges. But that is how we spell Art Deco! Unless I win the lottery, I am going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Doug,
We are thrilled that you loved our location and rates; thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Good luck on the lottery, but win or lose - we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great stay, from the checkin with probably the best customer service I've received in a long time. Thanks Aneesa, think I spelled that right. Room was clean, love the tile floor, hot shower and nice looking bathroom. Really enjoy my stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Ben, thank you for the fantastic review! We are thrilled that you loved your stay with us, and we hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

1st off after reading some of the negative reviews I was bit nervous about my reservation at the president but I decided to take a chance and boy I m surely glad I did !! I was greeted very warmly with a beautiful smile by Karla My room was on the penthouse floor it was extremely clean spacious simple but nicely decorated Very large bathroom with a great motif on the door I was there 4 nights during the high season I did nt hear ANYTHING !!! I slept very soundly . The breakfast was basic but very nice. The clientele is very European and fun. I had a great experience and I surely will be back !!! Thanx for everything

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori M, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi JP. We’re so happy to hear that you had a great time staying with us! Sounds like we exceeded expectations when it came to being quiet, spacious and friendly. We’ll pass along your comment to Karla – thanks for that too. When will you be visiting again?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

It is so sad that Leo is so accommodating, I feel he is being used by management. On a recent business trip, that was booked in advance and advised clerk of my handicap, I was faced with not being able to access the hotel because the lift was broken. In order to get in and out I was physically lifted by male staff members up and down the steps. As you can imagine I was traumatized by this experience each time it occurred. I booked at the President because it had an elevator, I falsely assumed that advising the clerk of my disability would assure access to the facility. I also had an incident with the glass shower door, popping back on me because of a misalignment, management did change my room, even though they never inquired into the extent of my injury (sore, bruised torso). As I stated, the staff is so great they made it difficult to be upset, they are like natural calmers--President is blessed to have them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We want every guest to have an enjoyable stay and to feel well cared for. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We welcome the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at the President Hotel for New Years 2014 (yes, this review is a little late...I know).

The hotel was way better than I expected, especially for the price!!!

The staff was friendly, room was clean, bed was comfortable and everything in my room worked just fine!

I also loved the decor of the room!

During checkout, I was assisted by two of the staff members (I can't, for the life of me, remember their names)...I think the girl at the front desk was named Carla (though I could be dead wrong).

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Better late than never… thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and complement our staff! We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations; we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The President Hotel - Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.