We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added The President Hotel - Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Surprise Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful particularly Leo who helped us with our luggage as we arrived before check in time - offered helpful adivce and where to go - he was pleasant and fun each time we interacted with him during our stay. Leo even took care of our luggage for a few hours when we checked out as we had time to spare before boarding a cruise ship. Everyone one at the front desk was welcoming, professional and friendly. Karla was very kind and helpful explaining the billing procedures upon our checkout. VERY WALKER FRIENDLY spot, plenty of action on Collins but not too much. Nice outdoor area to sit and people watch and have a drink. Our room was even nicer than expected-very clean and modern, bed was super comfy. Little noisy from the hallways from passerbys but it's an older building. Hallways and lobby are a little dinged up but other than that---hightly recommend and would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for room at end of a corridor to reduce the number of people passing by and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for all your fantastic compliments of our staff, especially your kind words regarding Leo and Karla. We know they will be thrilled when we pass on your praise to them. It sounds like you enjoyed a few drinks, and some entertaining people watching! It is great to hear that your room, comfy bed and our cleanliness all met your expectations. Thank you for your comments about our hallways and lobby. We are always working towards improving our hotel, and your review helps us know what we need to focus on. Your high recommendation is the best compliment you can give us, thank you. We can’t wait to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    274
    154
    85
    87
See reviews for
62
248
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Eric and the staff helped me extend my stay. ive stayed in high end hotels and the president is just as good for a place to sleep. The penthouse is roomy, clean and comfortable. Location is perfect, staff amazing, beats any other thats compared to it. Im from brooklyn ny and im picky. I will be back for sure. Thank you president for making my last minute trip happen with ease.
- keith g.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review, you’ve made our day! Your praise of our staff in greatly appreciated. We will be sure to pass your kind words on to them; we know it will make their day! We are very happy that you found your room comfy and clean. Our location is one of our favorite qualities; we are thrilled that you enjoyed it! We can’t wait to see you again when you next come to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Perfect location. Walking distance to everything. Rooms were clean. They accommodated us for early check in. We had a late fight so they held our luggage since check out was at 11. Reception was nice and always greeted with a smile. I would come here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We are thrilled that you loved our location, we couldn’t agree more! We are very happy that our cleanliness met your expectations. We appreciate your compliments of our great staff. We will be sure to pass your praise onto them; we know it will make them smile. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed six nights in South Beach and decided to book The President Hotel due to the location. We wanted to be close to everything yet not directly on Ocean Drive. Our choice could not have been better. We were only 5 minute walk from Ocean Drive & the beach, 5 minute walk to Espanola Way and 10 minute walk to Lincoln Road. We were right in the middle of the action yet the Hotel was very relaxed and not so loud as the Hotels on Ocean Drive. We arrived early and checkin was not for a few hours but Karla & Leo were able to make a room available to us right away. Due the construction on Collin's Avenue, there was no Valet Parking but Leo & Karla offered a very good alternative at the start of 13th street only 5 minutes walk away which actually ended up being cheaper than the Valet Parking would have been. The staff of the hotel were very friendly the entire stay especially Leo & Karla who were also there to help or answer any question we had. We read some of the reviews before we booked and must admit they were not all totally fair. Yes, its not cheap but if you stay in South Beach, no Hotels are cheap and you should know this before you go. Its also not perfect as some improvements could be done to the rooms. But in the end, you book for the location and its perfect. As a bonus you get a nice small Hotel with a very nice staff who aim to please. I would recommend to any friend to stay. We plan to head back to Miami again this year and will stay at The President again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We LOVE our location, and it always makes us happy when our guests love it too! It sounds like you had a fantastic vacation enjoying much of the fun that South Beach offers. We are very happy that you found our hotel relaxed, quiet and still close to all the action. Thank you for complementing our amazing staff, especially Leo and Karla. We will be sure to pass your praise onto them; we know it will make their day. We are always striving to improve our hotel, and we are confident that the next time you visit we can wow you with our ongoing efforts. Your recommendation is the greatest compliment, thank you. We can’t wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is my first written review in 55 years of travel. My original paid reservation was for a Penthouse with a king size bed. The room had a bad air conditioner and they transferred me to another room which was smaller and had a queen size bed. When asked for some compensation for the lesser room they transferred me to their best Penthouse room in their sister hotel. Instead of a penthouse it was an "outhouse" because the room air conditioner was like a jet plane engine and the roof above the room was where all the hotel air
conditioning units ran all night. When asked to change rooms was told they were booked up. To get through the night we had to buy ear plugs to muffle some of the noise. The complimentary breakfast (charge of mandatory $19 for breakfast and WiFi) was very limited with poor quality food. Hotel needs major maintenance, empathetic staff, improved food. Only bright spot of entire visit was the bellman concierge who tried to help but was prevented by the unconcerned management staff. Stay away!!! Staying in our car would have been a better experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for mentioning our wonderful bellman; he does a great job. We are very sorry that you were unhappy in your experience as our guest. In regards to our $19 Resort Fee; when you take into account that this fee gives guest access to continental breakfast buffet for two, two welcome drinks, two bottles of water a day, use of beach towels, use of Wi-Fi, free local calls and use of in-room safe, it really is an amazing value. The room you were upgraded to, due to the inconvenience, is our exclusive oceanfront penthouse room which offers a private terrace overlooking famous Ocean Drive - There's only one room on the fourth floor and you got it! The room's rate is usually twice as much as the room you had originally booked, and it was given to you at no extra fee as a token of our appreciation. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com so we can continue this conversation. We welcome the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

South Beach hotels can be hit or miss. The President was a hit for me. Location, modern, clean, comfortable room, very helpful staff, and a nice bar/food service in the hotel lobby were all to my taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We are very happy that you were so pleased in your visit at our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that our décor, cleanliness, staff and comfy room all met your expectations. Location… we LOVE it here, we are always happy when guests love it too! We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great location right near the beach and all the bars and hotels.
Free breakfast, free welcome drinks and discounted dinner from partner hotel.
Room had plenty of space and good shower.
Has an elevator and ice machine on groudn floor.

Room Tip: The upgraded suite has nicer finishing but is the same basic room from my understanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that out location, breakfast, room and shower all met your expectations. Aren’t welcome drinks the perfect way to kick off a beach vacation! We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The President Hotel - Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.