We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely revisiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added The President Hotel - Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely revisiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When booking my trip (March 7th-11th,) I was pleased with hotel art deco aesthetic, its toned down remodeling, and many good reviews. From the moment I stepped in the front door, I was greeted with genuinely nice staff and a clean/quiet room. I soon found my way to the bar and enjoyed many drinks served up by Carlos (I'll be back for another!) He's a really great guy and will surely make you a perfect, strong drink. Every staff member was beyond accommodating and friendly. The rooms and hotel services seemed all well within the acceptable range. For what you pay, you are getting a great deal. Best location in SoBe. Close walk to Lincoln Rd and the Venetian Islands, around the corner from the beach and Ocean Dr. Thumbs up everyone at The President! I hope to return sooner than later. You had this NYC guy leave smiling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello, Robert. Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the service provided by our staff, and will forward your remarks on to Carlos for the drinks you were able to enjoy at our bar. It's great to hear you liked our location and it sounds like you were able to really take advantage of it during your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    276
    160
    87
    87
See reviews for
64
252
49
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The room we got did not look like the room on the website. They have all these extra fees and charges. Its was a fifity dollar deposet per day plus an hotel tax. You need a voture for breakfrest. We stayed in the penthouse suite and the bed was hard as a rock.Not what i was expecting for the price we paid. The location was excellent and was a shorrt distance from all the stuff we wantrd to do. Don't think I'll choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello, Cole. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are glad you liked the location of the hotel, although we are disappointed to hear your experience with us fell short of expectations. We apologize for the issue with your guestroom bed, as well as your bill, and we thank you for bringing them to our attention, so we can better handle these problems in the future. We certainly appreciate your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Pros: This hotel is in the perfect location, it's in the middle of everything South Beach has to offer. The beach is around the corner, restaurants and shopping is just a short walk or cab ride away. the staff were very pleasant and they have a free continental breakfast every day. Mike who worked the bar was very personable and efficient and had the best smile to greet us.
The rooms and bathroom are small but when you need a hotel just to shower, dress and sleep(we were there for the Winter Music Conference),it's perfect. Reasonably priced considering this is a very popular time of year on South Beach(Spring Break, WMC and Ultra Festivals).

Cons: The walls are paper thin. You can hear your neighbors and they can hear you. The elevator was out of service on 2 separate occasions during our stay. There was an $85 "Resort fee" that we were not told about until we checked out.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: I would choose a lower floor in case the elevator is out of service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the location of the hotel and the service you received from our staff. We'll be sure to forward your kind words on to Mike, as well. We are happy that your accommodations suited your needs and that you found our rates to be very reasonable. We apologize for the noise level in your guestroom and the issue with the elevator. We are also sorry you were unaware of the resort fee, as we do try to be very thorough about all hotel charges upon arrival. We thank you for your helpful feedback and hope that we have the chance to welcome you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The President is conveniently located in the middle of everything, beach is right around the corner. The rooms were clean. The stuff was great. Especially Fuad, who went out of his way to make sure our stay was worthwhile. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello, Nino. Thank you for your thoughts about your recent stay. We are so happy to hear you were pleased with the location of our hotel and we hope you were able to take full advantage of it during your stay. We are also glad that you found your guestroom to be clean and you were happy with the service you received from our staff. We will certainly pass your comments on to Fuad as well. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on my last night in Miami. I booked this hotel at the last minute. Was pleased to get such a good deal and actually have a nice room. Walls were thin, so you can hear noise from the hall, but nothing that would stop me from staying here again. Right around the corner from the beach. Clean rooms, nice bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you were pleased with your guestroom and bathroom accommodations, as well as our convenient location. Sometimes last minute plans do turn out well! We apologize for the noise level in your guestroom, but we are happy that it wouldn't keep you from staying with us again. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclenny, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed recently (March 2013) at The President in Miami Beach, great time, would definitely stay again.
I think The President gets unfairly criticized and judged by people who do not pay attention or choose to do any research before booking. This is an old building, built in the 1930s the charm is undeniable, but if you are looking for a high scale condo, this is not for you. The rooms have been recently renovated in the last couple of years and the four traveling in our group (all in our 20s) thought it was well done and comfortable. The pool is smaller, but from our experience most people would rather walk the short block it is to the beach. If you are going to South Beach for a pool, just stay at home. The beds were comfortable, they are light weight and moved around the room pretty easily, whether that is a perk or a downside is up to you. Did not bother us.

The free breakfast and drinks are all more than adequate. (not just a bowl of apples as one reviewer wrote) This is long as you look at the information provided to you when these things are open to be served. We never had any issues and ended up having wonderful conversations with the bartender and though we were only there a couple of nights he made a point to remember us each morning.

The fees, taxes and parking (best investment) do add to the cost of your overall stay, but we went in knowing all of this because we paid attention when we booked. All of these fees and extras are mentioned and explained at the time of booking.

Michael, the front desk help was an real asset, never hesitating to offer us suggestions or greet us, the staff were in fact all very friendly. Not an easy task to find a place where even the cleaning crew will greet you walking down the hall.

The President is not without its faults. It is a very old building, so yes the walls are thin. Never once did occasionally hearing our neighbors get in the way of us enjoying our trip however. I read other reviews where the bathrooms were criticized for being small. They are compact, but never did anyone in my group have trouble maneuvering or getting dressed. In fact one of the walls in our room was entirely mirrored so getting dressed in front of a mirror was a breeze.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really appreciated the charm of The President. I would recommend it, but go in knowing what to expect. Be an educated traveler.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We certainly appreciate the time you put into this review. We are so happy to hear you had a nice experience with us, especially that you were pleased with your accommodations and the service you received during your visit. We also appreciate you taking the time to get to know our hotel before arriving and for making it a point to fully understand all aspects of your stay, including any additional charges. Thank you again for your helpful feedback and we do hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stay here today, never been in such a noisy hotel. Check in took also forever, could not get a coffee at the bar at noon (not open yet) and no drink at 10 pm, already closed. There was also $ 19 added to the rate, and 13% tax and $ 30 for parking. If you still want to go, stupid, but ask for a room that is not connected.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay with us, but we apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. We are sorry about the noise level in the hotel, as well as the amount of time it took for you to check in. We take great pride in the service our staff provides, as indicated in past reviews, so we certainly go to great lengths to avoid situations like these. We would also welcome you to contact us if you'd like to discuss the charges you mentioned, as it is important to us that our guests clearly understand all charges at checkout. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The President Hotel - Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.