We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The President Hotel - Miami Beach to your Saves list
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Varmdo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel in January 2013. Booked it via hotels.com and it turned out to be an excellent place to stay, you get all you need as long as you´re not expecting a 5 star hotel. Nice room in art deco style, continental breakfast included (which could be "upgraded" adding a few dollars), great service from the staff. They also got a small swimmingpool. Location is brilliant, only 3-4 minutes walk to the shopping area on Lincoln, Ocean Drive just around the corner with all it´s attractions and beach. A special thank you to Fuad who looked after us very well. We were also welcome back just to leave our luggage a few hours after having spent a week cruising in the Caribbean. Best of all, cheap rates which gave us extremely good value for money spent! We strongly recommend this hotel to everyone who needs to pay attention to their wallets and still be at the very center of "action"!
Jan & Lena, Värmdö, Sweden

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello, Janne. Thank you for taking the time to send us a review about your experience. We are thrilled that you liked the decor of your guestroom and you were pleased with the service you received from our staff. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and we will certainly pass along your appreciation to Fuad. We thank you again for your recommendation and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    299
    166
    87
    90
See reviews for
85
281
53
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here about a week ago (room 208) for an overnight, with several friends. Having read the reviews AFTER booking (oops) I was terrified I had booked us a slum motel; but this absolutely wasn't the case! The staff members were very friendly and easy to work with, explaining all of the additional charges at check-in, so that nothing was a surprise at check-out. We didn't take them up on the breakfast or 2 drinks, so I can't comment on that. The elevator was sketchy, but whatever. Our room was beautiful (not dirty or gross at all) and overlooked the pool. The walls are very paper thin, but luckily our neighbors were quiet (for the most part!) The bathroom was beautiful, so no complaints there either. The only weird thing was the fact that the door to the bathroom was a door with frosted glass, so you could get a pretty clear idea of what whoever is in the bathroom looks like/is doing (which was pretty awkward for me, as I was the only girl in a group of my guy friends!) All in all, I thought the hotel was exactly what I paid for, great location, and not at all bad!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for letting us know your thoughts about your recent stay. We are happy to hear you liked the look of your guestroom and bathroom and that our staff was friendly and helpful. It is great that you had a nice view from your guestroom and that you were able to enjoy some peace and quiet during your stay. We apologize for the issues you found with the elevator and your bathroom door and we are glad that you brought them to our attention. We thank you again for your review and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked through Booking.com. Just wanted a couple days out of the frigid northeast!

Arrived a couple hours early and expected my penthouse room would likely not be ready. It wasn't so I roamed around and came back. Very easy Checkin.

As sent numerous times, the elevator was quite small. There are safety concerns with the elevator since it hasn't been inspected for two years. The expiration date of inspection was September 2012. The elevator jumped around a bit when it was arriving at floors. The hotel has an obligation to make sure the elevator is properly inspected.

The penthouse room was adequate, basic and very clean. However, the TV is flat screen and very nice but it has no channels! I called the front desk to complain about the lack of channels, and they sent up the maintenance man. He was very nice but had troubles communicating that there were no channels and that the satellite dish was broken. When I am on my room, I like to be able to watch CNN or MSNBC or another station besides animal planet. The reception was white week if at all and there was no ABC affiliate. Even the most basic hotels have cable-television or satellite television in the room.

The bed was clean but on a cheap style mattress, but adequate. The bathroom was European-style, therefore small, but certainly adequate.

In summary, the hotel is centrally located, very clean, very nice staff, but the technology needs some work. Improve the television reception, and repair the elevator, and there would be an extra star added to this review.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay with us and we hope you were able to warm up in the Florida sun. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the location and cleanliness of the hotel and your guestroom, and that our staff was responsive to your needs. We do apologize for the issues you faced with your cable reception and your concerns about the elevator, and we will certainly look into these points. We thank you again for taking the time to let us know your thoughts about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I try to be objective with this hotel. I went through lists of Miami Beach hotels till I got fed up. The end result was, that for this price this is what you can expect at Miami Beach -or even worse based on reviews. The best part is the location of the hotel, just between the 14th and Espagnol, so you can go to the beach, it is close, or get acquainted with the Art Deco district on foot.
There are sometimes language problems, as the stuff is mostly Spanish - unless they are foreigners. When we checked in, they were quite helpful and polite, and during our stay they were always ready to help us. There are three options to park your car, the easiest is vallet parking for 30 USD/day, but they do deliver your car within 10 minutes of time whenever you would need it. The elevator: yes, it is a bit out-of-date, small and makes interesting sounds, but it never failed us. The room: small, with very few packing options, had a small fridge, a safe and the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. Still, cleverly done, so it does not feel after all as small as it is actually. You cannot open the window (have no idea why) and the air condition worked so laud that we had to switch it off during the night. The mattresses were very soft. The room was cleaned every day, towels changed, so from this point of view it was ok,.The real problem was that there were some "nice guests" of the hotel, who had zero respect for the other guests and screemed, shouted, at 2 am, 4 am ...But for this you cannot hold the hotel responsible. The walls were thin, but even thicker walls could not resist these noises that were all young female voices, half-drunk, or totally drunk. The second night I had enough, went out and simply shouted at them to shut up -which is not very ladylike, but did the trick. After that there was no more shouting. Going back to the services, the breakfast which is included in the price is very simple (Toast, butter, jam, honey, cornflake, juice, coffee, tea). BUT there is a nice breakfast menu, from which you can order if you wish, for an additional 10-15 USD. The hotel also has a bar with happy hour drinks - service quite friendly.The check out was efficient, too. You have an option to leave your luggage at the reception desk.

Room Tip: Try to have a room overlooking the pool/courtyard, they are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you found it convenient to walk almost anywhere. We are happy that our staff was friendly and helpful, as we do take great pride in the service we provide our guests. We are happy to hear that you liked the layout of your guestroom and bathroom, but we do apologize for the issue with your air conditioner and the noise coming from some of the other hotel guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your breakfast with us and you were able to check out in an efficient manner. We thank you again for your review and we hope you make the decision to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived at this hotel and was informed that we would need to pay an extra $15 but that it would cover two free drinks during happy hour which had long passed and we were only there for one night and breakfast. There may have been some other pointless things too. We had to pay $50 damages deposit which seemed excessive. Don't bother with their $30 parking- you can park just up the road for $20 for 24 hours which is fine if you are only there one night. A cocktail and a beer cost me nearly $20 in the bar which included a tip but they still wanted another one. The room appeared clean but the curtains are filthy- I assume from previous posts that they are covered with bodily fluids and I hope that this isn't the case but the stains did look suspicious. The room and bathroom smelt really strongly of mould. The bed sheets did not smell or feel clean either. The breakfast was basic- tea, toast and cereal and you are reminded to tip the waiter even though he doesn't actually do anything. I was offered pancakes etc at an additional cost. The location was good- minutes away from South Beach, but I would recommend an alternative hotel on the same road. If nothing else, just the smell of mould is enough to stop me from returning. I think they need to invest in some deep cleaning!!! It takes the mick that they ask you to leave a damages deposit when the rooms are that disgusting. Also forgot to say that it's really noisy, walls are really thin and you won't get much sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel, but it is disappointing that your experience with us fell short of expectations. We apologize for the issues you faced with added charges, as our staff takes great care in fully explaining the details of each of our guest's visits. We thank you for your feedback regarding the cleanliness of your guestroom, and we will certainly discuss this with our housekeeping staff. It is important to us that our guests have a pleasant experience with us, so we thank you again for bringing these helpful points to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want inexpensive and basic in the middle of South Beach this is the place. If you want fancy schmancy look elsewhere. Originally placed in a very small room we were able to change to a larger one after 2 nights. The room was clean enough, the bed was a flimsy thin mattress, elevator had an expired inspection which is a little disturbing. The shower was bazaar- no barrier between shower floor and the bathroom floor and curtain only went 3/4 way down so water saturated whole bathroom floor. Staff was generally pleasant, location is the best thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your thoughts about your recent stay. We are glad that you were pleased with the cleanliness of your guestroom and that our staff made you feel welcome. It is great to hear you liked the location of our hotel and we certainly hope you took advantage of it while you were here. We apologize for the issues you faced with some of your guestroom and bathroom amenities, and we will be sure to take your helpful comments under consideration for the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was my first time staying at The President Hotel. I have to say from staff to the room everything was on point. Very friendly and clean. normally when I write my reviews I mention names that deserve it and there were several that do but for the life of me cant remember names. Youre close to the beach bars and great food. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for taking the time to let us know about it. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the service from our staff and the cleanliness of the overall hotel. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel and hope you were able to take full advantage of it while you were here. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The President Hotel - Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.