We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, Simple, and Close to Everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Augustine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Augustine to your Saves list
Hotel St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpful, Simple, and Close to Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Hotel St. Augustine proved to very accommodating when I stayed there last August. I checked-in for a 5 night stay and mid-trip decided to take a trip to Key West and they had no issue with my early departure. The breakfast was simple, pastries, cereal, and coffee, but everything was very good and made fresh. The room was not too small and featured a queen bed, with tile floors, adequate air conditioning, a large shower and a mini fridge large enough to fit a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    229
    73
    36
    13
See reviews for
53
295
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

As you can see from previous posts, the staff and management at Hotel St. Augustine is phenomenal. They were super nice and very helpful. This was my first time in Miami and I cannot have picked a better hotel to stay in. Everyone from the housekeepers, desk staff, and management were great in their service provided to me. I wrote a thank you card before I stayed at the hotel hoping that everything I wrote would be accurate and it was beyond that, it was amazing and wonderful. Everyone truly surpassed my expectations and made me feel extremely special and comfortable during my time spent there. If I ever visit Miami again, Hotel St. Augustine definitely has my support. The area is great too. Its not too far from the beach (5 min walk) and the infamous ocean drive strip (10 min walk). If you're looking to stay at a hotel not in the center of craziness but also still want to experience a fanstastic stay in Miami, Hotel St. Augustine is the place for you! Sidenote: Michael, Jasmin, Aaron were some of the very nicest and helpful people I've met during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bari
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Poor service and caring at breakfast, employees are much more courteous than management.
I suggest management to enter a courtesy course on how to handle, manage customers in order to build customers loyalty rather than easily lose them along the way...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank-you for your review but frankly I am a little perplexed by your review now in August 2014 of your stay in December 2013. As you can see below we have nothing but good reviews of the staff and the service. I'm not sure what could have happened way back in December of last year but I can assure you that the present management is nothing but helpful and we generally don't take care of the breakfast ! Please feel to contact me so I can address your issues and hopefully turn around your opinion of Hotel St Augustine as we would love to welcome you back to our little corner of South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I spend several days at Hotel St Agustin with my wife and daughter. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. They were like a family to us as they helped us with everything that we needed during our stay(s).
The room and bed were comfortable and tidy all the time. I will return to Hotel St Agustin in the future and I can recommend it for family & couple trips.

Room Tip: King bed room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The people at the desk were very friendly and helpful about shopping and beach areas, the room was clean, and the shower was very nice, but otherwise I was very disappointed in this hotel. It hardly resembled the pictures that were posted on-line! I wasn't looking for fancy, but I was looking for cheerful and comfortable! The hotel was art deco, but the rooms were more hostel-like than boutique-like. There was a very sweet smelling odor in the hallway that wasn't pleasant at all. The room had a large piece of fabric for the shade covering the window and I understood why when I peeked behind it. It faced the side of another building which was not any more attractive. Furthermore, we did not see any patio area as was shown on-line. The sink area of the bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a drape which provided very little privacy, especially since we were traveling with teens who wanted their privacy. Both of our boys ended up sleeping in their clothes because they didn't feel comfortable changing in the room. Yes, there was parking, but it was a very small lot and very difficult to maneuver. I selected 2 other hotels from TripAdvisor for our vacation in Florida, and the other 2 were as nice as they were pictured. Make no mistake. Hotel St. Augustine is not as pictured!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The place was really good and I will definitely go back. First of all there is parking on site. In South Beach that is hard to find. The clerk at the front desk took my bag from my car to the room for me, which was a treat. The place was very, very clean. All of the staff were super nice. The location was great. In walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and bars. The breakfast was delicious. I had a pastry, yogurt and orange juice. They pastries were delicious. The shower/steam room was perfect. The price was very affordable. The bed was very comfortable. I am very happy with the place and being that I live in Fort Lauderdale I will stay there the next time I go to South Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I drove down this year as I have never been to south beach. I must say, after our experience last year in lauderdale by the sea this was a nice treat. The staff was extremely friendly and gave us some good places to eat. They recommended a Cuban cafe for lunch(delicious). As for the hotel, it was very clean, the complimentary breakfast was fresh pastries, orange juice, cereal, yogurt and coffee. I must say the steam shower was FABULOUS!!!!! I wish I was able to bring it home with me. I would definitely go back again

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#22 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#45 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#65 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#13 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
1.6 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#99 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#17 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.