We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Augustine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Augustine to your Saves list
Hotel St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Middle Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I drove down this year as I have never been to south beach. I must say, after our experience last year in lauderdale by the sea this was a nice treat. The staff was extremely friendly and gave us some good places to eat. They recommended a Cuban cafe for lunch(delicious). As for the hotel, it was very clean, the complimentary breakfast was fresh pastries, orange juice, cereal, yogurt and coffee. I must say the steam shower was FABULOUS!!!!! I wish I was able to bring it home with me. I would definitely go back again

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    207
    67
    33
    10
See reviews for
41
269
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Thanks so much to Jasmine and James for making our stay in South Beach even more incredible! The hotel is conveniently located a block from great restaurants, two blocks from Ocean Drive / amazing beaches, and a block from the pharmacy for snacks, drinks and anything you may have forgotten.
The studio style room had everything you needed and the bed was very comfortable. The room was nice and quiet. The complimentary breakfast and beach towel sign out were very convenient.
Thanks to both Jasmine and James on great recommendations on where to eat, shop and play. Great Cubano sandwiches, ceviche, restaurants, lounges, and Nikki Beach. You made a wonderful time even more special. Can't wait to come back and stay with you again. Worth the drive from Toronto!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly hotel staff. The room was warm and inviting. Great art deco décor. Hotel was quite and two blocks from main art deco on the beach road. Always greeted by hotel staff with a smile. Very helpful in suggesting places to see and restaurants. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I found this hotel to be great value for money, especially when other options are so much more expensive. The location in South Beach was walking distance to the beach and shopping areas - so it isn't right in the action but close enough not to be a problem. The room was of a very high standard and there was plenty of space to move about.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

South Beach Miami. It's going to be expensive but the St Augustine is a good option just 5 minutes walk from Ocean Drive.
This is an art deco hotel with lots of interesting features. We stayed for 2 nights in incredibly comfortable queen size beds, but the stand out feature is the amazing bathroom. The shower area has 4 shower heads and incorporates a sauna with 4 temperature settings. Could have stayed there all day if there weren't so many things to do in South Beach!
No flat screen tv and no lift, but the receptionist helped with the luggage. Unfortunately no view out the window as it was obscured by a palm tree. The adjacent parking lot cost an additional $20 per day. Breakfast was the usual basic continental style but brightened up by the friendly woman who serviced the breakfast section.
Many varied eating and shopping options a few minutes walk away on Ocean Drive, Collins Ave and Washington Ave. Shame about all the roadworks on Collins while we were there. Also only 5 minutes to the lovely beaches.
The reception staff were efficient and friendly, so all in all I would have no problem in recommending this hotel for your South Beach stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in August for our honeymoon. We loved the hotel room - very clean, comfortable bedding and the steam shower was an excellent feature after an exhausting weekend. The rooms were also well-priced and the only rooms I was able to find in Miami Beach with a steam shower. I am an admitted germaphobe/neat-freak and would normally rather not stay in a hotel however, the rooms here were extremely clean and I felt very comfortable. James, the front desk manager, was very friendly and gave us helpful tips for exploring the city. He even left us surprise complimentary champagne and a personalized note to celebrate our wedding - a sincerely sweet touch! We would not categorize ourselves as city-people but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights just after the new year.

Problems:
1) The rooms are noisy. The walls are thin, and you can hear every conversation your neighbours have. We were a awoken at 1:00 a.m., 4:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. by the neighbours over the course of the two nights. The doors are heavy and make a loud noise when they close, which doesn't help either. We mentioned our concern to the staff, and they suggested that we gently knock on the walls when our neighbours were loud - that didn't work.
2) The breakfast was poor. There were a few pastries, dry cereal, and yogurt. No fruit. By 9:30, the juice was empty. For the price ($275ish a night at the time), the breakfast was stingy.
3) There is no security. While the location is good, there is, as a result, a fair amount of foot traffic passing. There did not appear to be anyone working in the lobby at night, and there was no restriction on entry. Some unsavoury non-guests wandered in to use the toilets in the lobby.
4) Parking was $20. We later found out that there was parking available for $10 a day nearby. As with the breakfast, this made the hotel management seem miserly.

The only advantage of this place is the location to the beach (a few minutes walk). However, the hotel didn't appear to offer and amenities in that regard (i.e. no beach towel, parasols, etc.).

Overall, I do not recommend this hotel. Try elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a long review of Hotel St Augustine. The New Years period
is extremely busy in South Beach , and most people come during that time to party , so it seems
that your opinions of our quiet little boutique hotel were perhaps a little irregular because of the time you came to stay with us.
Rates at all the hotels in South Beach are higher at that time and ours were in fact at the lower end of the spectrum.
The front desk also appears to have dropped the ball by not taking care of your noise complaints
directly with the offending guests ,and failing to inform you that we do have beach towels available for loan at the front desk. Our parking charge of $20 is perhaps the lowest of any hotel on the beach and the parking you mention was probably the hourly rate .
As for the breakfast - we don't have dry cereal -there is plenty of milk and the orange juice would have been refilled as soon as our charming breakfast attendant realized it had been exhausted.
I hope that you will consider returning to stay with us at a less hectic time of year , as we are anxious to turn around your opinion of us and I welcome your call so I can address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.