We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel just a stroll away from the action!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Augustine

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Augustine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Belize
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel just a stroll away from the action!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked with this hotel for a weekend in South Beach. It was the best priced room we could find. Upon our arrival they apologized for not having our room available as an existing guest had extended their saty. They made arrangements for me to stay at Harrison's, a hotel next door. Not only was the substitute hotel nearby, it was less costly. Furthermore, St. Augustine agreed to waive their parking fee and also to match the lower rate of the substitute hotel for our second night with them. I thought that was pretty good customer service. The room was decent and quite adequate for a family of four. The hotel was located at the south end of Washington Ave just far enough away from the noise and action, yet close enough to walk to the action and restaurants. I actually liked the location as you could begin your walk at the beginning of Collins avenue and then walk down Ocean Drive and back home to the hotel. A full circuit of all the South Beach sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    199
    65
    31
    9
See reviews for
38
250
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Lake Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We read up on hotels in the area and did not want to spend a lot of money for a one night stay on our way back from Key West. Hotel was booked and paid for in advance which helped us secure a great price in comparison to what is out there in the popular Collins Drive hotels. We were greeted cheerfully with nice conversation and allowed to check in early since our room was ready which was very nice. Staff very friendly from those we came in contact with; all greeted us and said "Welcome."

The room was spacious enough for two and decorated in a blonde or teak wood and quite modern. My husband felt he was back in a studio apartment in Europe. The bed was GREAT to sleep on along with comfortable pillows...an issue I always have with hotels...these were very good!!! Everything is ready for you as far as grooming supplies and there is a lovely steam shower too...HUGE!!!

We were given many suggestions for restaurants, things to do, how to get to the beach, etc. etc. etc. VERY HELPFUL STAFF! We felt safe and were able to walk from one end of the busy strip to the other all day and night with NO issues of feeling unsafe at all. Had a great time just people watching and enjoying the night life late, late into the evening. Got our excercise in and slept like babies...HATED TO LEAVE! We will be back for a much longer stay!

Room Tip: Quiet hotel from all the traffic and a BARGAIN since they have free parking! RARE for any hotel in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank-you for your kind comments , everyone at the hotel appreciates them. We try to be a
good bargain and offer value for money and I am glad that you received free parking but our parking is actually $20 per night - still one of the best deals on South Beach.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Here there are some cons and pros. PROS: Quiet neighborhood; comfy bed; spacious room; steam shower works properly; nice staff (with some exceptions); H20 toiletries; continental breakfast included in the rates; and a perfect location in Washington Av., 5 minute walk from the SOBE highlights and the beach... CONS: no lift to the first floor; stained doors and walls; lousy acoustic isolation (you can hear your neighbor flushing the toilet right in your ear); no doors between the shower and bedroom, so the picky ones better bring your blindfolds (the steam shower has huge windows); the cleanliness of the sheets and the carpet could be better... And there's no swimming pool. But that's just fine since the beach is 2 minute walk from the hotel. Overall, it's a nice place and if they take care of their guest's reviews I'm sure they'll do much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We found the St. Augustine through TA. It's a great location, just two streets from Ocean Drive. The hotel is not luxurious or real fancy. The rooms are done in a Danish modern style with blond wood finishes. There are no elevators so if you have a problem with stairs, reserve a ground floor room. They offer a nice continental breakfast with pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee and juices. I would not recommend the Greek restaurant up the block for breakfast. The staff is very friendly and will help you with directions. The SOBE local shuttlebus stops near the front of the hotel and it only costs a quarter. If you drive, the parking costs go till 3 AM in the morning. One very nice feature is the hotel's parking lot.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel St Augustine back in October for business. I had to share a room with a co-worker. This is a difficult place to share with some one you don't know real well as the only thing separating you and your room mate from the bed and glass shower is a curtain.

The beds were ok. Nothing to write home about. I did however LOVE the shower!! they have steam showers and there is quite a bit of room to sit and detox in the steam.

When we checked in, they were having issues with the key of our door-so we had to get someone to let us in each time we returned to the hotel room.

The gentleman who was there when we checked in was very friendly. We had to be at work at 5am and he had no issues preparing us some coffee and pastries for our departure so early in the morning.

Parking was a bit tricky as they have a very small lot and my co-worker had a large vehicle-so It was a bit tricky leaving if the lot was full.

The location is pretty central with a few yummy restaurants close by. It also felt very safe. I would possibly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank-you for your review. Our staff tries to be as accomodating as possible. We are lucky enough to be in a residential neighborhood that is quiet but still close enough to walk to all the hotspots. I am happy to report that all our key issues have been resolved - we have a brand new
system now !
We also are one of the few hotels with their own parking lot- which is one of the most ecomomical on the beach - but it can be a tight squeeze for large vehicles.
Once again thank-you for your encouraging comments .We look forward to welcoming you back
soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at Hotel St Augustine in late October and were pleasantly suprised on our arrival. Due to our early flight we arrived around lunchtime and greeted outside by the gentleman on shift (perhaps the manager) who took our bags inside and welcomed us to the hotel. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious for 4 adults, and felt very clean. The only negative comment would be the smell of a certain type of chemical within the main hallway area into our room. But that did not ruin our stay at all. Our rate included a continental breakfast consisting of pastries, cereal, tea/coffee and juices which was served next the reception. This was a lovely touch as the same gentleman interacted with the guests and was very hospitable. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet location and still very central to restaurants and shops. Had a B&B type feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Highlight of the stay at Hotel st Augustine was the service. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed during hurricane sandy and needed to rearrange travel plans for onward journey. Staff were so helpful offering assistance to us during a stressful time. Close walk to ocean drive and the restaurants and beach. Hotel was fresh an room was very clean. Short walk to laundromat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.