We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in SOBE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Augustine

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Augustine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Oro Valley, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location in SOBE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We found the St. Augustine through TA. It's a great location, just two streets from Ocean Drive. The hotel is not luxurious or real fancy. The rooms are done in a Danish modern style with blond wood finishes. There are no elevators so if you have a problem with stairs, reserve a ground floor room. They offer a nice continental breakfast with pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee and juices. I would not recommend the Greek restaurant up the block for breakfast. The staff is very friendly and will help you with directions. The SOBE local shuttlebus stops near the front of the hotel and it only costs a quarter. If you drive, the parking costs go till 3 AM in the morning. One very nice feature is the hotel's parking lot.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    188
    61
    30
    9
See reviews for
38
251
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel St Augustine back in October for business. I had to share a room with a co-worker. This is a difficult place to share with some one you don't know real well as the only thing separating you and your room mate from the bed and glass shower is a curtain.

The beds were ok. Nothing to write home about. I did however LOVE the shower!! they have steam showers and there is quite a bit of room to sit and detox in the steam.

When we checked in, they were having issues with the key of our door-so we had to get someone to let us in each time we returned to the hotel room.

The gentleman who was there when we checked in was very friendly. We had to be at work at 5am and he had no issues preparing us some coffee and pastries for our departure so early in the morning.

Parking was a bit tricky as they have a very small lot and my co-worker had a large vehicle-so It was a bit tricky leaving if the lot was full.

The location is pretty central with a few yummy restaurants close by. It also felt very safe. I would possibly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank-you for your review. Our staff tries to be as accomodating as possible. We are lucky enough to be in a residential neighborhood that is quiet but still close enough to walk to all the hotspots. I am happy to report that all our key issues have been resolved - we have a brand new
system now !
We also are one of the few hotels with their own parking lot- which is one of the most ecomomical on the beach - but it can be a tight squeeze for large vehicles.
Once again thank-you for your encouraging comments .We look forward to welcoming you back
soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at Hotel St Augustine in late October and were pleasantly suprised on our arrival. Due to our early flight we arrived around lunchtime and greeted outside by the gentleman on shift (perhaps the manager) who took our bags inside and welcomed us to the hotel. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious for 4 adults, and felt very clean. The only negative comment would be the smell of a certain type of chemical within the main hallway area into our room. But that did not ruin our stay at all. Our rate included a continental breakfast consisting of pastries, cereal, tea/coffee and juices which was served next the reception. This was a lovely touch as the same gentleman interacted with the guests and was very hospitable. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet location and still very central to restaurants and shops. Had a B&B type feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Highlight of the stay at Hotel st Augustine was the service. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed during hurricane sandy and needed to rearrange travel plans for onward journey. Staff were so helpful offering assistance to us during a stressful time. Close walk to ocean drive and the restaurants and beach. Hotel was fresh an room was very clean. Short walk to laundromat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed a couple nights at this hotel. Overall my stay was great. However, it took me awhile to locate parking as it was off a back alley behind the hotel in a dirt parking lot. Make sure your vehicle isn't too big as the entrance to the Parking lot is very small. The only other con is the loud air conditioning units in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I really loved our room! The bed was comfortable, shower was huge and the steam was a big plus, linens were nice and the bathroom was very large. The location was just a few blocks from all the action but suprisingly very quiet. Our parking was included in the price and it was definately the best value we could find. If you go to South Beach I highly recommend staying at Hotel St. Augustine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We're really pleased we chose the St Augustine when we stayed in Miami Beach. It's very central, but off the main drag, in a peaceful neighbourhood. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly - they really did go out of their way, making great suggestions, sorting out our hire car, helping us with reservations for the next part of our trip, and generally being great! The shower/steam room was fantastic. There was noise from the next room, made worse by a connecting door, so it might be worth asking groups staying in that room to be considerate when coming in late. However, it didn't bother us too much. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.