We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Augustine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Augustine to your Saves list
Hotel St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We're really pleased we chose the St Augustine when we stayed in Miami Beach. It's very central, but off the main drag, in a peaceful neighbourhood. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly - they really did go out of their way, making great suggestions, sorting out our hire car, helping us with reservations for the next part of our trip, and generally being great! The shower/steam room was fantastic. There was noise from the next room, made worse by a connecting door, so it might be worth asking groups staying in that room to be considerate when coming in late. However, it didn't bother us too much. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    229
    73
    36
    13
See reviews for
53
295
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I was at first concerned as this charming hotel was the 'odd ballʻ in the neighborhood. It was small and quietly white - not large and neon or art deco. On the outside it sorta looked old Atlantuc City like. The parking lot was ʻout backʻ but began to give a clue to the charm inside. There was a bright red flowered shrub welcoming our car. As soon as the back door opened- orange and brown , classy art deco! Man at the desk was sweet and welcoming. Room was compact but airy, crisp and well appointed. And the spa shower upscale wonderfull. Privacy well respected. Neighborhood low key and interesting. Front porch very ʻsittableʻ.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my girlfriend where so close choosing a hotel on ocean drive but we where soooooo glad we didnt and instead choosed Augustine 2 blocks back!! The location is great, so close to everything (1,5 min to the beach, 2 min to ocean drive) and it became a peaceful sanctuary for us after a busy day during our 17 day stay. The staff was really nice, always helping us out with directions and stuff, they also gave us advices and recommendations what to do or where to eat whether we wanted to visit a luxury rest or a more average one! The facilities are ok maybe not topnoch, the beds are comfty and the room where cleaned EVERY day!
After spending 16 nights during our miami stay at st Augustine, me and my girlfriend will definitely come back here next time we visit! It's not a high class hotel but it gives you so much other positive things in return, like it's pretty cheap, the service is great and the location can't be much better!
So if youre having a hard time choosing a hotel in south beach, st Augustine won't let you down!

Room Tip: Area points of interests: restaurant ; Juvia or yardbird. South Point Park and South Beach marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay here this year and everything was excellent. And it was very impressive that the front staff remembered us from our previous visit. The location is a little south of most south beach action, but I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

First of all, if you love steam and showers like I do, then you wont be disappointed. It really is a great experience to enjoy this after a long day of walking or sightseeing to come back and have the steam spigot hit the shower floor and rise up and fill the entire stall. Its rejuvenating and completely relaxing. I also liked the area as it is off the beaten path from the craziness on Collins yet still close to many nightlife and restaurants destinations. So you can actually plan on getting some sleep.

BUT, I will say the hallways and common doors have much to be desired. They are all scuffed, worn and lightweight (like cheap interior bedroom doors); and the halls have a musty odor.

Great staff and attractive, if not small, lobby but they need to address these common areas as it just feels like a shabby motel en route to your room. Upgrade those doors, carpet and repaint the hallways St. Augustine! You're better than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Retrorich,
We always appreciate constructive criticism , and you will be happy to know that we have replaced
the carpeting in the hallways and are in the midst of repainting the hallways,doors and rooms.
I'm sure you will be pleasantly surprised on your return. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Besides that its a very nice and modern trendy hotel.
Breakfest was really good, the room and bathroom were excellent.
The sauna didnt work though and everything had a lock on in I dont kknow what for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank-you for your kind review. I am a little baffled by the heading though - as all our rooms have multiple windows , and our parking lot is clearly visible from our breakfast area through the glass doors. We do not have an elevator unfortunately , because we are only a 2 storey old art deco building - so many of our guests request rooms on the ground floor if they have lots of luggage.
Once again many thanks for your kind words- we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel
St Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Recently stayed for 3 nights. Was quite pleased with my room. The view left a bit to be desired ( I was on the 1st floor looking into an alley) but I wasn't in the room much so that wasn't a huge issue. One complaint is that once you leave the lobby and enter the area where the rooms are on the 1st floor there is a foul urine-like odor in the hall. Addiitonally, you can hear everything through the walls. I had to ask the neighbor to "pipe down" the 1st evening at 4am but no problems other than slamming doors and running water after that. Overall, I thought it was a great room, nice lobby and great location. Will stay again and ask for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#22 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#45 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#65 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#13 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
1.6 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#99 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#17 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.